We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely homely holiday let”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Wookey House

Kitchen & Living Area in The Wookey House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kitchen & Living Area in The Wookey House
Living Room in The Wookey House Double Bedroom in The Wookey House
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
7 reviews
Kitchen & Living Area in The Wookey House
Living Room in The Wookey House
Double Bedroom in The Wookey House
Second Bedroom can be a twin or kingsize
The Wookey House is part of the converted old school overlooking the old paper mill
Outside at The Wookey House, secure parking opposite
Pet Friendly
Sunny secluded courtyard garden at The Wookey House
Tranquil Village location in Wookey Hole near Wells
View from The Wookey House accross The Old Mill
Upper Floor Plan
Lower Floor Plan
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Wookey Hole, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
cindyjack
Wales
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Noisy”
Reviewed 3 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Stayed here with my daughter and one dog for 3 nights, we were going to bring 2 more dogs, very pleased we decided not to. Nice accommodation with good household facilities. No view at all from the property but there are walks nearby and the walk into Wells was easy. The problem is the internal noise, there are no carpets, not even on the stairs, I realise this makes cleaning easy and it was very clean, but it was a it like an echo chamber, one bedroom door is so noisy it woke the other person, going up and down the stairs sounds like a herd of small animals, we were very anxious about the dog barking due to the sound reverberating around the property. I would hate to be a neighbour if they are subjected to the amount of noise we were in the property. The shower leaks as the panel over the bath does not meet the bath, a wet floor, after the first day we had baths.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: No soft furnishings except sofa and beds. Very noisy floors, stairs.No view. I do not think it is suitable for dogs.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Apr 2016
Thank you for your feedback, after many years you have been the first to express such concerns and our very good neighbours have also not expressed any concerns but we will of course take immediate action to remedy those things that need attention.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gg90
durham
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely homely holiday let”
Reviewed 5 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Excellent contact with owner lively homely holiday let with all facilities stayed over Xmas with two dogs lots to do nearby. Nice homely touches owner has gone to effort to make it comfortable would recommend

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cecilywar...
Torquay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lives up to all expectations”
Reviewed 29 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We are a group of 4 adults and 2 toddlers and have just spent a week at The Wookey House. It completely lives up to the website description and to our expectations - it is comfortable with everything we could possible need and with plenty of room for the children to run around including the enclosed courtyard where they were visible through the large french windows. There is plenty to do in all weathers and the children loved it. We will definately be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was like a home from home.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee_c83
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Excellent accommodation everything you need under one roof.”
Reviewed 4 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Great home from home accommodation everything you'll need under one roof very clean and warm .
Central to wells just a few miles away close to local attractions and amenities .
We had a great stay even though it got cut short would definitely recommend staying at Wookey house and will be staying again in the near future.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 May 2012 for a stay in April 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and interior decoration
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing