We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy Cottage close to Pub and shopping”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Merlin Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ingleton, Yorkshire Dales National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ellen C
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cosy Cottage close to Pub and shopping”
Reviewed 4 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Lovely cottage in Ingleton, right near the pub and close to Ingleton Falls. Spotlessly clean with all amenities EXCEPT a washing machine which would have been handy, but no big deal. Only other downside was downstairs toilet. Rained a lot while we were there but you cant change the weather! Ingleton is a lovely village with all amenities. Ingleton Falls was spectacular. Would definitely recommend to friends and family.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew R
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Why stay anywhere else?”
Reviewed 20 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
2
people found this review helpful

My wife booked the cottage after we had failed to find decent flights for our planned trip to Rome, so I started from the viewpoint of it being a consolation prize.
How wrong could I have been?
It is clear the cottage has been built and finished to a standard, rather than down to a price. The quality of the building, decor, furniture etc., stands out from the off. The thoughtful little touches are obvious all the way through one's visit. It really did feel like being a house guest with a friend or a favoured family member, rather than being just more paying punters.
As well as being in a quiet spot, the location is perfect, lying within five minutes' walk of two of the village's pubs (the other two are more like ten to fifteen minutes and both worth visiting). The three best places for breakfast (Bernies, Inglesport and my personal winner despite having no WiFi, The Coffee Pot) are at a similar distance.
One of the finest eateries I've ever been to (La Cascada) is only a few tens of yards away and a pretty serviceable Bistro/pizza house (La Tavernetta) is only a minute or two further on.
The Masons Arms does itself no harm with its selection of food plus its range of gins!
If you want a tramp about, there are plenty of options, including the quite pleasant Waterfalls Trail.
All in all, we've had a magnificent week and we've left with our batteries fully recharged and we would recommend this cottage to anybody. My only regret is that I didn't get to try the Old Post Office or M's Spice - but there's only so much one can eat in four nights!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Higog
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in an excellent location”
Reviewed 26 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Set in the centre of Ingleton, with shops, takeaways, restaurants and pubs on the doorstep. As other reviewers have stated; this cottage has everything and is immaculately clean. We particularly liked the underfloor heating, making it feel so cosy and welcoming as soon as we stepped through the door. Pretty much home from home.
There is reserved parking on the street as well as a space at the back of the cottage.
The Waterfall Trail is only a few minutes walk away; the White Scar Caves and the Three Peaks are within easy reach by car.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2016 for a stay in September 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing