We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mrs”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Mile House East

Cosy downstairs living area with log burning stove and stunning moorland views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cosy downstairs living area with log burning stove and stunning moorland views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Cosy downstairs living area with log burning stove and stunning moorland views
Kitchen
Master Bedroom with views over Caldburgh Moor
Bedroom 2 overlooking the moorland
Bedroom 3 with vaulted ceiling, exposed brickwork and stunning views
Bathroom
Upstairs living area/ games room with log burning stove
Mile House East front view
Melmerby Moor
Winter sunshine in the Dales
Front garden view
Coverdale from Melmerby
View from front of house
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Leyburn, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Traveler6...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mrs”
Reviewed 10 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Perfect location. We have had a wonderful weeks holiday at the cottage and have really enjoyed the beautiful views from the front of the property . The cottage is located approximately 10 - 15 minutes drive from Leyburn, which has all the amenities you could require. Supermarket, fish and chip shop, Chinese restaurant, bakers and butchers etc. The cottage was wonderfully warm and cozy. Lovely to come back to such a welcoming house after a day out in the cold. We had plenty of space and the children enjoyed the pool table. The beds were all very comfortable with nice new linen and it was handy to have the 2 bathrooms and 2 living rooms. We found the kitchen well equipped with every possible pot, pan and utensil you could possibly require. The cottage is well situated in the Yorkshire Dales National Park and we were in easy driving distance of so many attractions. Fountains Abbey, Aysgath Falls, Middleham Castle, Brimham Rocks, Wensleydale Creamery to name a few. We also enjoyed walks directly from the cottage with a handy pub in easy strolling distance. A great holiday. Thanks.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PJ T
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Idyllic location and spacious accommodation”
Reviewed 7 September 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We travelled to Mile House East with family and thoroughly enjoyed the stay: the house is a great size and had enough room for everyone to seek out their own space if needed. The gardens were lovely and as the weather was fair we spent time enjoying the swings with the younger members of the family or eating on the patio at the rear of the house.
The house is well equipped, furnished with all you could need including well-stocked bookshelves. In short it was a great place to visit and we will most likely return in future

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience, space, furnishing, books, gardens...
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle...
North Shields, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect Family Holiday”
Reviewed 10 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Just returned from our family holiday in the Yorkshire Dales and to be honest, not one of my family members wanted to leave, even one of the dogs wouldn't get out of the car when we arived back home! This cottage has to be the most luxurious, comfortable and spacious accommodation we have ever stayed in. The cottage catered for all the family of all ages from the games room, with pool/snooker table to the library of books, DVD's, magazines etc available. The views are breathtaking from the front of the cottage. The cottage itself had everything you would expect from a 4* accommodation and had everything we needed, but it was the little additional touches from the housekeeper Rebecca and her attention to detail which made it extra special for us all. The cottage was also a great base for visiting the Forbidden Corner, Leybern, Richmond and Arsygarth Falls, totally breathtaking countryside. I do think we need though to add in this survey 'outstanding' as the highest rating is 'great' but this accommodation is more than great!!

Jordan Family July/August 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience of Mile House East
Liked least: Not Applicable
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliescho...
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic break everything we wanted and more”
Reviewed 19 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Holiday was booked as a birthday gift for our 75 years old mum guests ranged in ages from 25 to 75 plus our 4 year old German shepherd. A lovely warm welcome awaited us as soon as we walked through the door with a beautiful homemade cake. The downstairs was warm and welcoming with amazing uninterrupted views. We then went upstairs which seems to go on forever lots of room for everybody. The bedding and towels provided were all of really good quality and spotlessly clean. Tthe extra sitting room upstairs is lovely and cosy. There was nothing extra we could have asked for . The cottage was even more amazing than the pictures on the website show. They really don't do it justice We are already talking of a return trip..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 May 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are delighted that you had such a wonderful birthday celebration at Mile House East - such a perfect setting and plenty of room for you all. We look forward to providing another warm welcome to you next time - cake and all!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_B82...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely place”
Reviewed 13 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Beautiful location with bike rides and walks from the door. Lovely pub half a mile away. Well appointed with five clean bedrooms and two baths plus the fantastic pool room and of course two log fires.

Had a great stay, thanks.

James, London

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 May 2015
Thank you for your great review, we are delighted that you were able to enjoy walks and bike rides from the front door - the local community owned pub is always a perfect finish too! It sounds like you managed to enjoy all the house has to offer with the games room and cosy log burning stoves. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing