We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accidental Fish n Chips”
Review of The Ship Inn

The Ship Inn
Ranked #7 of 31 Restaurants in Porthleven
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 11 June 2021

Totally worth the walk round the harbour, the fish and chips were really crispy and perfectly cooked, homemade tartar sauce and peas elevated with a garlic butter dressing.
This place is well worth a visit if you’re in the area, clever terracing and friendly staff give a lovely atmosphere to accompany a great view of the harbour

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank F2005VQalexanderf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (982)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 982 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2021 via mobile

The wait between ordering and receiving our food was about 45 minutes. It was very lunch time busy and although we were served quickly with drinks, we were taken aback by the tortuous process they brought food to the various tables. The mussels were very tasty, the peppered squid flavour was almost in the accompanying spicy chili sauce.

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank jin6x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2021 via mobile

Had been here several times around 7 years ago and was looking forward to returning. Disappointed I’m afraid and unlikely to return. Unlike young teams elsewhere in Porthleven eateries these guys didn’t have anywhere near the customer service skills. Saved their smiles for each other. Masks slung under their noses throughout our stay. Food was tepid which was a shame as would probably have been OK. There’s some tough competition in Porthleven so the Ship needs to up its game and not rely on its age old history to draw the punters.

Date of visit: May 2021
1  Thank Adventure63719961373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2021

We ate here most days either for lunch or dinner. Great choice of food and great service - friendly and always with a smile even after climbing several flights of stairs. What ever time we arrived, we were served quickly. We both loved the mackerel pate. Amazing pub.

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank timothytrood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2021 via mobile

On our first night in Porthleven we popped into The Ship Inn initially just for a drink and then decided to eat.

The food was really good, juicy mussels and a generous fish finger sandwich. Although this was the only time we ate there, most evenings we popped in for a drink to try to catch the last rays of sun, without exception all of the staff were fantastic, we really felt for them having to climb up the steep steps with glasses to take and serve orders - will certainly have kept them fit.

A great pub with an enviable position.

Date of visit: March 2021
Thank 455iane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Ship Inn also viewed

 
Porthleven, Helston
Porthleven, Helston
 

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.