We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cute holiday house - perfect for a couple even on...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Flower House

Enter a caption for your photo
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enter a caption for your photo
Open plan Dining/Living area. Open plan Living room.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
Enter a caption for your photo
Open plan Dining/Living area.
Open plan Living room.
Kitchen
Bathroom
Lounge
Bedroom
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Lanyon Quoit
View towards Cape Cornwall spring low tide
Spring garden
Gwenver beach April 2011
Jubilee Outdoor Pool Penzance
St Michael's Mount
Gwenver Beach Summer 2012
Bridesmaids at The Flower House.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Madron, Penzance, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
PthePBrus...
Brussels
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Cute holiday house - perfect for a couple even on rainy days”
Reviewed 17 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We had a fantastic time at the flower house! It is situated in the backyard of a nice family's home close to Penzance. As a young couple of two German expats taking some time off from busy London we very much enjoyed the calmness (one doesn't notice the proprietors at all, because their house is looking to the other side). Claudine gave us really helpful tips, e.g. where to find the best beach to enjoy sunset. On a rainy evening we enjoyed the cosy couch in front of the fire place - a huge basket of logs was provided for free. Look at the pictures - they don't lie.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sitting on the couch in front of the fire place during a rainy evening. And the style of the interior design.
Liked least: It takes some time to get warm water from the shower.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoClarke9...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect little cottage - a home from home!”
Reviewed 2 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013

The Flower house is a beautifully decorated well equipped cottage. The décor is tasteful & the furnishings make for a comfortable stay. We stayed for 6 nights mid April & had a mixture of sunshine & showers. The cottage was a great base to travel to places nearby - St Michael's Mount, Lands End, Sennen, St Ives - all a short car journey. On the rainy days it was lovely to come back, light the log burner & have a cosy evening.
The kitchen is very well equipped & we cooked on a few evenings with no problems. The bedroom is a good size with the most amazing bed (see previous reviews) Its VERY comfortable with stylish, clean smelling, crisp linen. Perfect to fall into after a long days walking. We would stay at The Flower Cottage again on visiting Cornwall.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfortable bed
Liked least: No Wifi
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
farfromea...
Yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Comfortable and stylish little cottage”
Reviewed 16 May 2012 for a stay in May 2012

A very well equipped holiday cottage located at the back of the owners home. The location was very good for getting around the south of Cornwall. St. Ives, Land's End, St Michael's Mount were all within a short drive. Inside the cottage is comfortable, stylish, very well maintained and clean. We ate in a few times and the kitchen was well equipped so we had no problem preparing meals from scratch. The wood burner made for cosy evenings in and we enjoyed making the fire, something novel for us, even though it was not really that cold as the cottage also had two good radiators! A mention must be made to the really, really comfortable bed; I took note of the make as it was so comfy I intend to source same for home. Claudia was very helpful and welcoming without being intrusive in any way. The booking was handled very efficiently. Overall a very nice place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfortable bed!
Liked least: No view
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucille19...
Wells, Somerset
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A beautifully decorated cottage with friendly owners. A must to visit.”
Reviewed 28 January 2012 for a stay in December 2011

We visisted for a week of R & R just after Christmas and stayed until the new year. The cottage was as beautiful as it looks and in a good spot for seeing southern Cornwall. St Ives was a particular favourite.

The lovely touches such as wine, flowers, coffee and a lit fire made us feel right at home straight away. The king sized bed was like sleeping on a cloud, and the wood store near the main house meant we didnt have to go far to re stoke the fire.

The cottage has absolutley everything you could want. We cooked delicious meals without any difficulty.

Do not be put off by the proximity of the cottage to the main building. Claudine and Trevor were welcoming and friendly and keen to answer questions, but also left us alone to enjoy our holiday. That was very much appreciated.

Having read the guestbook in the cottage, many more people have visited than have written reviews here, and all of us say the same thing.

The area, people, and most importantly, cottage are fabulous.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bed and wood fire.
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarbaraMa...
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic introduction to Cornwall.......”
Reviewed 8 November 2011 for a stay in October 2011

There were only 2 reviews of the Flower House but they were so great we had to see for ourselves. They didn't exaggerate. We spent a week there. We loved the cottage and the owner, Claudine, was super helpful (husband Trevor was not there during our stay), but not at all intrusive. And how nice to arrive and find a bottle of wine, fresh flowers, fresh coffee and even milk waiting for us. A great welcome. The cottage had absolutely everything you could ask for and was beautifully decorated and so very comfortable. The location just outside Penzance makes it a great base for exploring Cornwall. So many things to do and see right nearby. Although while we were there, the weather wasn't cold enough to have a fire and we had no time to enjoy sitting out in the courtyard, those are both added bonuses. A great place -- highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Absolutely everything was great.
Liked least: No negatives.Would be nice to have wi-fi/internet access.
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing