We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine Lunch with Set Menu”
Review of Hostellerie Berard

Hostellerie Berard
Reserve with
Hostellerie Berard is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$45 - US$68
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Situated in the heart of a Proven��al village, Mr and Mrs Berard will share with you all their passion for ?Provence? by allowing you to sample the local produce and the vegetables from their garden. You will enjoy cuisine based on constantly changing flavours from the sea and the land. You will benefit fully from a relaxing time spent admiring the magnificent view of the Bandol vineyards.
Reviewed 1 October 2018 via mobile

We had made reservation well ahead of time for a group of seven and we're looking forward to the fish soup as the main course. Unfortunately, it was changed at the last minute into a smoked tuna. The three courses consisted of eggplant with a flowing egg on top, the very flavorful smoked tuna pieces, and a very fine dessert. Service was very good and the ambiance with the view was just very relaxing. For 36 euros, a treatment to a Michelin one star restaurant in a beautiful medieval village setting is a great deal.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank StephenL155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBE83, Directeur général at Hostellerie Berard, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Dear Stephen,

Thanks again for your comment.

Yes, our Menu at 36 euros is very popular during the week (not served during the week-end) ; A great opportunity to taste a local menu in our 1* Michelin Restaurant.

All best,

Danièle BERARD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (421)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 421 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2018

The food was average at best...more for presentation than taste. The staff tried to be helpful, but they also were not very well informed and the fancy service they performed by adding sauce at the table was nice...but the sauces had little flavor. Michelin likes the extra show, but I prefer extra flavors...too bad.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mariosuzio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBE83, Directeur général at Hostellerie Berard, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2018

Dear Guest,

We thank you for this feedback.

We regret that your satisfaction was not complete.

The taste of good products is the top priority of our chef.

We have our own vegetable garden and work with local producers.

All best,

Danièle BERARD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2017

The hostellerie promised much but delivered little.

It is situated in several old buildings on a hillside in a quaint walled medieval village overlooking the surrounding vineyards. As a consequence, the layout is very disjointed and it would not be suitable for anyone who has difficulty climbing stairs or slopes. The buildings are nicely (rustically) decorated and our room (Peche) had a lovely view out over the surrounding valley and across to Le Castellet on the hill beyond. (This room would not be well located in the high season as it overlooks the small swimming pool and hotel sunbathing area).

The room had an enormous comfortable bed with crisp linen and at first glance seemed to have everything you would want for an enjoyable stay. We later discovered that it was impossible to lower the heating level except by switching it off completely; the sink did not have a plug that closed so my husband had to shave using running water; the shaving mirror was at chest height not above the sink; the sink surround was at hip level; the efficient shower over the bath leaked so the floor flooded; and there were no tea/coffee making facilities or a means to procure a hot drink when the restaurants were closed. We were woken by reversing horns of delivery lorries and drivers voices outside our room at 0430.

On arrival we were informed that parking was available in the hotel underground car park (16 Euros per night). On enquiring it became apparent that there is a free option to park in the hotel's secured open-air parking nearby. The receptionist gave us directions to the hotel's underground carpark where she said she would meet us. When we got to the narrow/short road as directed, we did not see the garage entry and so parked outside the hotel's spa two doors up. After waiting a few minutes and not finding anyone from the hotel to help us we drove around the village one-way circuit again to be told at reception that the receptionist was waiting for us in the garage. This time around she had the nouse to wait for us in the street rather than inside the garage. But of course it was our fault that we had not found the garage entry the first time around! We were then given complicated directions to the free hotel parking which after seeking help from the Tourist Office, we discovered was 100yds down from reception. We would have saved ourselves a huge amount of grief if the hotel had provided us with a simple street map with the parking marked or even better they could have walked us to it.

Breakfast is a rip-off at 23 euros each so we walked the short distance to the boulangerie and bought freshly-baked pastries accompanied by a couple of delicious lattes each in the tabac alongside - all for 14 euros (they are both open every day from 0700). We could have used the hotel spa for an eye-watering 20 euros each per hour, oh and of course you need to book in advance.

We ate in the hotel's bistro rather than 1* Michelin restaurant on the first night - a bad mistake; the food was basic bistro quality but nothing special and cost the two of us an eye-watering 122 euros for a kir, 2 courses and a bottle of local Bandol AOC wine. We felt like we had been had. [Anyone looking to stay in this area is recommended to book ahead to eat in the 1* Goguette restaurant in Le Castellet (1.5 miles away) which would have provided a 3-course tasting menu with drinks for the same price.]

On the second evening we asked for a second small bottle of water to be told that only one was provided complimentary on arrival and that we would have to buy bottled water room the mini-bar.

The hotel had free Wi-Fi but you have to log in each time you wanted to use it which is really irritating (use any name / made up email because- anything works!).

In all this hotel does not offer anything of distinction and is effectively a con based on its location and using the draw of its 1* restaurant to induce people to spend vast amounts of money for very little in return. The customer service, even in comparison to the standards we have come to expect by living half the year in France, was haughty, ignorant and unbelievably patronising.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 378Judith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBE83, Directeur général at Hostellerie Berard, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2017

Dear 378Judith,

We have read carefully your long comment.

We regret that your Provencal stay with us did not live up to your expectations.

For 49 years we have been welcoming an international clientele who, on the contrary, appreciates the cocoon of our hotel, our gastronomy etc.

We are a hotel located in the heart of medieval village.

The number one priority is to welcome you warmly.

You have been disappointed. What to say... We regret. But, why not talk to us during your stay and explain what's wrong rather than write on the web.

A hotelier is there to listen to his customers!

Best regards,

Danièle BERARD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017 via mobile

Our dinner was an amazing gastronomic experience. We had trouble reading the French menu but that was not a problem as they sent someone over to look after us for the rest of the evening. The food was amazing, the wine was beautiful and the staff were friendly. As a Michelin star, this restaurant is quite pricey but I would highly recommend especially for a special occasion.

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank 128cathb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

We were a large party of 18 people visiting the restaurant for lunch. Definetely worth a visit! We had a 3 course lunch with rose wine. Specially the main course with fish was superb.
The restaurant is situated in a mountain village and has a astonishing view.
The restaurant is on the pricy side but worth it

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank BullCocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hostellerie Berard also viewed

La Cadiere d'Azur, Var
Le Castellet, Var
 
Le Castellet, Var
La Cadiere d'Azur, Var
 
La Cadiere d'Azur, Var
La Cadiere d'Azur, Var
 

Been to Hostellerie Berard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing