We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (39)
Filter reviews
39 results
Traveller rating
11
5
9
10
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
11
5
9
10
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 39 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2014

a little bit disappointing. People are not careful at all. there were many people for so many guests. the swimming pool was dirty, cabañas had a wonderful view but smell like humidity and there were not so clean. breakfast included but very poor and people who serve are not careful at all. we had dinner there one night and it was not so good. We had to pay new year dinner even if we didn't take.
few light in the night and far from Olon. the view is very nice and the environment is also pretty if they care about it a little bit more.
we were expecting more from pics we saw on internet.

Room Tip: ask for the room next to the entrance are less humid and more comfortable. look like news
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sbrefe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

This resort has a great view of the ocean and has lushly planted grounds. But, it is in severe disrepair. The rooms are musty and dirty; the blinds in the room are broken; the shower has cracked tile; the walls need repainting; there are no bed linens, just a small comforter and a hard pillow. The grounds need a lot of work.
We met with the owner and found that the resort was over 20 years old. There must be a money problem with maintaining what once was probably a very nice facility. The pictures on the Internet must have been taken a long time ago.
When we arrived, it was late afternoon and because the resort was very remote we needed to have dinner there. The Chef had gone for the day and the 2 girls who checked us in said they could prepare us dinner. After many conversations and checking on the food supply, they determined that they really didn't have anything on the menu but could fix us a small bowl of soup, a salad and saute a fish. We paid after the meal service so that we wouldn't be charging anything to our room. Our breakfast was included in the fare that our Tour Agency paid when they booked the resort for 2 nights.
The fact that we paid for the first meal became a problem at check-out. The Argentinean girl, who is the manager and who was not present when we arrived the first night, tried to bill us again for the first night dinner, saying that we had not paid. This turned into a major upset. The Argentinean girl locked the front gate so that we couldn't leave and threatened to call the police. Thank goodness our guide from Latin Frontiers had arrived to take us to another location and was able to handle the issue for us.
We spent 24 days in Ecuador touring from Quito to the Amazon to Banos to Cuenca to Vilcabamba to the beaches and never had such a bad experience as we had in the Atamari Resort.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Judy454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

I really enjoyed the spectacular view of this place. It felt like being in a jungle and the coast at the same time. The only problem was there seemed to a strange feel about his place. Maybe because we were the only ones staying here at the time and the person that checked us in was not expecting us (we reserved three bungalows prior to our arrival). She did take care of us and offered us dinner but we really didn’t feel comfortable there. I am not sure I would stay there again unless they put the effort into really caring about their guests.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mbarsi_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

An absolutely spectacular view from the cliffs atop the property. The rooms, though nice, felt a little worn and run down. Service was friendly but not attentive. Overall, just a very strange stay at the Atamari. There is a lot of potential with this property but it currently is not being managed to its potential. We would recommend visiting the property for a drink around sunset to enjoy the stunning views, but we would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Atamari has the best view of anywhere we stayed on our whirlwind trip up and down the Ecuadorian coast - 5 different cities in 5 nights. It's on the cliffs overlooking the Pacific with a view of Ayampe as well. The rooms were adequate but nothing to brag about. The night we stayed the woman who is the receptionist/cook/bartender/anything else was more than friendly but her boyfriend/staff were not. They helped us with luggage and we never saw them again during our stay - I feel sorry for her since she has no help apparently. It's also got a bit of a creepy feel to it but maybe that's because of the very remote location and the fact our host clued us in on the fact they all know it's haunted in some way. Bring your bug spray too!

Room Tip: All the rooms we saw had great ocean views so I don't know that there is a bad one on the grounds.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarinB352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews