We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (39)
Filter reviews
39 results
Traveller rating
11
5
9
10
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
11
5
9
10
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 39 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2013

I really enjoyed the spectacular view of this place. It felt like being in a jungle and the coast at the same time. The only problem was there seemed to a strange feel about his place. Maybe because we were the only ones staying here at the time and the person that checked us in was not expecting us (we reserved three bungalows prior to our arrival). She did take care of us and offered us dinner but we really didn’t feel comfortable there. I am not sure I would stay there again unless they put the effort into really caring about their guests.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mbarsi_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

An absolutely spectacular view from the cliffs atop the property. The rooms, though nice, felt a little worn and run down. Service was friendly but not attentive. Overall, just a very strange stay at the Atamari. There is a lot of potential with this property but it currently is not being managed to its potential. We would recommend visiting the property for a drink around sunset to enjoy the stunning views, but we would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Atamari has the best view of anywhere we stayed on our whirlwind trip up and down the Ecuadorian coast - 5 different cities in 5 nights. It's on the cliffs overlooking the Pacific with a view of Ayampe as well. The rooms were adequate but nothing to brag about. The night we stayed the woman who is the receptionist/cook/bartender/anything else was more than friendly but her boyfriend/staff were not. They helped us with luggage and we never saw them again during our stay - I feel sorry for her since she has no help apparently. It's also got a bit of a creepy feel to it but maybe that's because of the very remote location and the fact our host clued us in on the fact they all know it's haunted in some way. Bring your bug spray too!

Room Tip: All the rooms we saw had great ocean views so I don't know that there is a bad one on the grounds.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarinB352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

This place is actually on the cliffs overlooking Ayampe' just 20 minutes south of Puerto Lopez and much quieter and nicer than downtown. We highly recommend it. Staggering views, impeccable service, beautifully maintained grounds, awesome swimming pool and fantastic meals and drinks. You'll need a car (about 2KM off main road). The locaton means you won't hear any traffic (unlike most places in Puerto Lopez and Montanita). They keep the gate closed and locked so be sure to book in advance and let them know when you are arriving, or look hard for the bell to the right of the gate to call them to open it, unless you have a cellular to call them. The place looks exactly like the web site (for a change!). We loved our room #2 because of the views and size/comfort of the room. Note it's at the end of the water line, so if pressure and hot water are important, choose a different room. We were so happy with everything else, we didn't care about that! A young Argentine couple are managing/running this place for the Argentine owner. The couple cannot do enough to make your stay fantastic. They are what makes Atamari great!

Room Tip: there isn't a bad one, period. Pick whether you want to look north up the coast or south down the coast. Either way you will have a staggering view.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tahoeskierTahoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews