We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“beyond 5* stunning and fabulous”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Bird's Nest

The Birds Nest; entire first floor Awarded 5Star Gold by Quality in Tourism.Tourism 2014 - 15 - 16.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Birds Nest; entire first floor Awarded 5Star Gold by Quality in Tourism.Tourism 2014 - 15 - 16.
The Birds Nest Sitting Room, with Gas Fire and wide screen Tv .
View of the Courtyard. Sitting Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
The Birds Nest; entire first floor Awarded 5Star Gold by Quality in Tourism.Tourism 2014 - 15 - 16.
The Birds Nest Sitting Room, with Gas Fire and wide screen Tv .
View of the Courtyard.
Sitting Room
Bird's Nest Sitting Room/ Dining
Sitting Room
The Birds Nest Fully equipped  Kitchen with breakfast area.
View of the Courtyard.
Kitchen
Birds Nest Master Bedroom with Original Floorboards, Cane Furniture ; breath taking Rockside View.
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom
Guest Bedroom
The Birds Nest bathroom complete with shower over the bath and featuring original wooden floor.
Games Room - Table Tennis, Air Hockey, Pool  Darts for Mole End and The Birds Nest's Guests.
Seating Area for Mole End and The Birds Nest Guest's use.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Matlock Bath, Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ian M
Mazamet, France
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“beyond 5* stunning and fabulous”
Reviewed 12 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We (family of 4) stayed over Christmas at .Mole End apartment the lower floor of this mews block. The apartment was extremely well appointed especially the kitchen. Abid and Susan are brilliant hosts not too intrusive but helpful when needed. Appreciated small touches -Sunday Times delivery and complementary bottle of wine!!

HIGHLY Recommended

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Abib and Susan
Liked least: poor wifi
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Feb 2018
Thank you so much Ian
Sorry, missed to respond earlier.
Sue & Abid.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynne M
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“absolutely fabulous”
Reviewed 3 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Excellent property with everything you could need - Susan and Abid very attentive and nothing too much trouble

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: attention to detail in every room - kitchen equipment and crockery were very good
Liked least: mats in kitchen were slipping
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Feb 2018
Thank you so much Lynne
Sorry, missed to respond earlier.
Sue & Abid.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley325
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
Reviewed 30 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed in the Birds Nest for five days recently and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. the apartment has everything you need. It is a very spacious apartment, but cosy at the same time. We took our 2 year old and they had everything we hoped for, cot, high hair, stair gate, etc. All we had to take was food. Matlock Bath is only a short walk away, or you can travel further. While there we walked the Monsal Trail, cycled the Tissington Trail, visited Matlock Farm and travelled to Matlock and Bakewell. There is plenty to do and the apartment has many leaflets and lots of information on what is available in the area. I would definitely recommend this apartment. We are hoping to visit again soon

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything you needed
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Feb 2018
Thank you so much Hayley
Sorry, missed to respond earlier.
Sue & Abid.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ron n N
Gorleston-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Very comfortable apartment”
Reviewed 21 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed in this very comfortable upstairs apartment last September in order to experience the Matlock Illuminations.
It really was a comfortable place to use as a base for our visit and I would recommend it to everybody except for those who have trouble with steep stairs and those without transport to get them from the main road up to where the Bird's Nest is situated.
I sometimes have trouble sleeping in a strange bed but not this time. I slept like the proverbial baby.
I suffer from angina but managed to walk from the site of the illuminations up the hill to the apartment afterwards without too much pain.
My thanks go to the lovely lady and gentleman who made us feel so welcome.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Feb 2018
Thank you so much Ron
Sorry, missed to respond earlier.
Sue & Abid.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JAJONES20...
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a lovely place.”
Reviewed 9 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The place is spotless. It is decorated beautifully. It is cosy, pretty and they have thought of everything.

The owners were welcoming, friendly and attentive.

We would definately like to stay again and would definately reccomend it .

Thank you for helping our 25th Wedding Anniversary one to be remembered.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Just everything, I could live there.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Feb 2018
Thank you Mr & Mrs Jones
Sorry, missed to respond earlier.
Sue & Abid.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing