We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Great half day visit.

Excellent museum - great for kids - probably an hour to an hour and a half at most for the museum... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
J343XVadriant
via mobile
Mine, museum and panning for gold!

We booked a mine tour and the museum. The mine tour was very enjoyable and our guide Chris was... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
peterhE6133SR
Read all 220 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Matlock Bath
from US$45.25
More Info
from US$62.38
More Info
Reviews (220)
Filter reviews
220 results
Traveller rating
162
46
9
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
162
46
9
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews panning for gold interactive exhibits fools gold cafe next door long stay mouse hunt fascinating tour guide chris all ages rainy day fantastic visit informed guide local history great value for money adults and children gullivers kingdom year olds
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 220 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2021 via mobile

We had a fabulous tour with Chris who was very knowledgeable and friendly. Our 6 and 9 year old boys asked loads of questions which he was keen to answer. We all enjoyed panning for gold at the end too :-) Would definitely recommend as a family tour - it’s quite low in places though so not if you’ve trouble bending. The museum was great too - both boys enjoyed the hands on exhibits and the large collection of rocks and minerals.

Date of experience: May 2021
Thank Seaside33976562948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PDMM, Manager at Peak District Mining Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2021

I am really pleased that your whole family enjoyed their visit to the mine and museum. I shall pass your praise on to your guide Chris.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2021

Great museum, a lot of interactive exhibitions, kids really enjoyed that. And they have very interesting guided tour in Temple Mine. Chris was telling a lot of different stories and facts. That was visit full of fun☺️

Date of experience: May 2021
Thank 40irenar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PDMM, Manager at Peak District Mining Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2021

I am delighted to hear that you had a fun visit to the Museum and Mine. I hope you will be able to come back once the mock tunnels and climbing shaft are open again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2021 via mobile

I visited the temple mine with my daughter, we were guided by Chris, who was very welcoming, he also delivered a first class talk whilst showing the group around the mine, my daughter loved it, Thankfully I didn’t bump into a cave spider!

Date of experience: June 2021
Thank JulianH1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PDMM, Manager at Peak District Mining Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2021

Thank you for leaving a review of your visit, I shall pass your comments on to Chris!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2021

We booked our mine tour about a week in advance and were able to choose our time slot by doing so. We did the 11am tour with Chris, who is an excellent guide: knowledgable and entertaining and very good with the children in the family who did the tour with us (very easy to stay apart when there are only 4 adults and 2 younger children on the tour - but this was it fully booked so they’re clearly being Covid safe). The tour takes about an hour and is well designed and interesting, with relevant artefacts placed at various points. Hard hats are provided (and definitely needed!) as the roof of the tunnels gets quite low in places, and the floor is also wet at times and potentially slippery (although there are some handrails at the slopes). Seeing the various crystal and rock formations was fascinating and Chris’ explanations were spot on in terms of science without being too much! The panning for gold at the end was a big hit with both the young and still young at heart!
Then we went into the museum, which is, again, very well designed and strikes a good balance between information and interest/entertainment. Current Covid measures mean that some of the more interactive areas are closed, but there were alternative activities for children and other parts with things to touch were enabled by providing everyone with kitchen roll to act as a barrier! There is a good section on the more general history of the Matlock Bath area and the mining exhibits complemented and extended what we had just seen in the mine.
Definitely to be recommended. Good value too!

Date of experience: June 2021
Thank Merrowmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PDMM, Manager at Peak District Mining Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2021

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit and felt that we were Covid safe. I will pass your comments on to your guide.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2021 via mobile

Good museum with plenty of things to keep everyone occupied for about an hour and a half.

Temple mine tour was brilliant and then panning for ‘gold’. Kept us amused for an hour and 3/4.

Date of experience: May 2021
Thank 245naomib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PDMM, Manager at Peak District Mining Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2021

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the Museum and Mine! Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews