We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice terras and good food”

Geniet aan de Amstel
Ranked #15 of 36 Restaurants in Uithoorn
Restaurant details
Reviewed 11 June 2021

we had lunch here, although terrace is along the street, it is nice to sit there as the street is not so busy. the food is good and the service very friendly.

Date of visit: June 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 306riar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2020 via mobile

Fortunately we had sunshine and bad wine. What a disappointment: poor choice of food, poor food (sauces on everything, kind of 80’s carpaccio kitchen, horrible overcooked risotto) poor service ( opened my own bottle of wine & water, asked for a blanket for the little one, never came), bad bad wine at 30 euros. No separate vegetables on the menu and the ones with the mains where minimal. Such a pity of a lovely location. Upping just a bit won’t cost much and will make a huge difference on quality.

Date of visit: June 2020
Thank LaMarani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2019

I visited the place for dinner with family on a Saturday evening. We loved the location, right at the Amstel river with a lot of light coming from the windows.
After entering the place soon we got disappointed.
The staff was very slow and we on the other hand did come here to get dinner and leave after dinner. Not for an evening long dining experience. So we begged for the menu and the slow, and I must say very young, friendly personnel tried to help us. The waiter forgot our bottle of water. It felt like we had to asked twice for everything.

The food was the next disappointment. Since the establishment has a small kitchen, they prefer to serve a limited number of food either as starter or as main course. the dishes are served on wooden boards...
I chose the fish mix but Im afraid I got a starter instead of a main board getting to mini pieces of fish and one shrimp, leaving me hungry. my family members kept feeding me with their leftovers...
Needless to say, Im not eager to return. Maybe for a cup of coffee once if Im allowed to sit outside on their tiny terras.
Next time heading for Sjiek san de Amstel again...

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Temiz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2018

We recently visited on a sunny Friday in October to try lunch at this restaurant. We sat in the sun on the terrace. We did need to remind the waiter to bring our menus, but after that everything went very smoothly. You can have a platter of small dishes (their speciality), or you can have sandwiches or even a burger.
The terrace is lovely and we really enjoyed our lunch.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Susiev952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2018

This is a fairly new restaurant housed in a much older large waterfront building. The interior is spacious and the waterside terrace quite large. One will notice the noise if sitting inside .. the noise seem to bounce around the room so advise to sit away from the bar area. The food was nicely presented on wooden platters. The food was of good quality and ample portion size. The staff were all friendly but one feels that they are quite not up to speed yet. We would try it again on another occasion.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Welshperson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Geniet aan de Amstel also viewed

Uithoorn, North Holland Province
Uithoorn, North Holland Province
 
Breukelen, Utrecht Province
Uithoorn, North Holland Province
 

Been to Geniet aan de Amstel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.