We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful cottage - inside and out!!”
other travellers have booked this property
Jack's Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Jack's Cottage
The Dock at Jack's Cottage Dining Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Jack's Cottage
The Dock at Jack's Cottage
Dining Room
Main double bedroom
Kitchen
Utility Room
Bathroom
High tide  on the Blackwater
Up the Blackwater River, to the Knockmealdowns
Jack\'s Cottage
Living room
Rainstorm over the Knockmealdowns
What to do!
Bedlinen and towels provided
Top of the lane
Lower lane
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Dungarvan, County Waterford

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
All20040
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage - inside and out!!”
Reviewed 8 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed here with our 3 small boys and grandparents and had such a lovely time. While the weather was a bit hit and miss the cottage made staying inside enjoyable (great fire!). The gardens to the property are so peaceful and there is a walkway down to the river. Great for bird spotting. The owners were so helpful - lovely attention to details in the cottage with vases of flowers in every room and tasty brown bread on arrival! We had great fun with the dogs Missy and Bean. Stock up on the way to the cottage though - the lane down to the cottage is a little tight and you will be pleased to not have to go out :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Gardens
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loraine S
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Stunning Location, Magical Cottage!!!!”
Reviewed 24 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed in Jacks Cottage in June with friends. It was a truly magical place to stay.
The river side location was beautiful. Away from all the worries of a hectic life.
Bridie, Ben and their great dogs were the perfect hosts. Kind and very friendly.
To sum Jacks Cottage up, extremely clean, peaceful, beautifully comfortable, so we will be back!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tranquility
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LAC29_13
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little piece of heaven”
Reviewed 9 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

After traveling 13 hours from the North of Scotland we arrived to a roaring log fire in Jack's cottage, what a welcome. It really is blissful. The owners have kept all the charming features and enhanced with lovely modern conveniences ( underfloor heating in bathroom)
You are surrounded by unspoiled natural beauty, pure fresh air, natural water that all contribute to a relaxing, rejuvenating experience, we have loved it.
It is a great base to explore the contrasts of Ireland and we have thoroughly enjoyed trips to Cork, Waterford, Galway and the wild Atlantic Coast sampling some of the culinary delights en route.
Thanks so much Bridie and Ben.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Situation and style of the cottage
Liked least: Going home!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunotts
Mansfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We found heaven!!!”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Before setting out to Jack's Cottage, get your brakes tested as the approach is a little steep, we drove a Frontera Sport and had 4inches clearance either side, but sometimes it was less. However once you get to the cottage the descent is forgotten, it is beautiful inside and out, with well kept gardens, peace and tranquillity, perfect haven away from the rat race. Inside the cottage has all amenities, it was lovely and cool even though you could fry an egg outside. The river, which is tidal, is just a short walk away.
Bridie, Ben and everyone in the village are extremely helpful and there is lots of literature on local places of interest
We loved it so much we have rebooked for next year xx

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LovelyVie...
Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A gem!”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

This is an experience you will frame in your memories forever. The picture-perfect thatched cottage is surrounded by the most beautiful colorful flowering gardens which photos can't seem to capture -- each view is a lovely painting. There is a private grassed walk from the cottage to the river which we enjoyed viewing at different times in the day -- to take in the wildlife and changing skies and water colors. This is a place to slowly explore and enjoy the hidden treasures you'll find. All the rooms have been restored and updated beautifully. It's obvious that Bridie and Ben continually loving care for this cottage. Take note of Ben's wonderful paintings framed around the cottage (and his wildlife mobiles!).

When we arrived we were welcomed by a colorful vase of fresh flowers in the dining room and kitchen and on our towels in our rooms. There was also baked brown bread, butter, jam, and milk. It was important to take time to read the instructions about heat and hot water and how and when to turn them on and off -- the bath is a separate switch from the shower, etc. Bridie was great about explaining these, but it was all quite different than our automatic systems in the U.S.

The only things that you may need to consider -- the internet didn't work very well, but worked well enough to do a few emails. The long, narrow lane to the cottage has stone walls on each side. We had an estate car for four adults and wished we had a compact for this road. However, we drove very slowly and did not damage the car -- but had inches on each side at times. It becomes easier over time, but we recommend a narrower car and good drivers. Evidently it is extremely rare to ever have to back up for another car. We never saw another car on the lane and were glad about that!

We would love to come back to this special retreat to relax and enjoy the quiet beauty. We enjoyed walking the cliffs of Ardmore, and the Vee/Knockmealdowns during rhodie blooming season in early June, and the lovely Lismore Castle gardens. Highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing