We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Tuscan hideaway surrounded by beautiful...”
other travellers have booked this property
The view from your bedroom at sunrise
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The view from your bedroom at sunrise
The bedroom Around the house
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
The view from your bedroom at sunrise
The bedroom
Around the house
Natural pool
The property in the evening
The bedroom
The bedroom
The living room
Kitchen
Bedroom
Park around the house
Pool at sunset
Hammock for your siesta
A glass of Brunello (with a sommelier advice from the owner if you want)
Around the house
Brunello di Montalcino
Around the house
Around the house
The twin bedroom
The ensuite bathroom
The ensuite bathroom
Around the house
Around the house
Around the house
Around the house
Around the house
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Montalcino, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
NJ26
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Perfect Tuscan hideaway surrounded by beautiful countryside”
Reviewed 26 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We loved our stay at Fonte Aulente. The location couldn't be better - less than a 5 minute drive from the centre of Montalcino. The suite is surrounded by beautiful views - we loved waking up in the morning and opening up the bedroom window on to the wonderful view of the Val D'Orcia. It's perfect for two people, fully equipped kitchen and bathroom - and everything is done in a rustic style, but has all the mod-cons.
Alexandra is the perfect host - she always went out of her way to answer our questions and provided fantastic recommendations for how best to enjoy this beautiful region.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christie...
Waltham, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing property, amazing views, amazing host!”
Reviewed 27 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a fantastic time staying at Alexandra's property. The suite was beautiful, with lovely antiques and decor, and attached to a beautiful 12th century villa. We had access to the pool and a lovely outdoor dining area, which I imagine would have been amazing if we weren't there in winter. Still, we brought a couple of glasses of Brunello out to the garden area to look at the stars. The views are absolutely perfect even in winter. It was less than 5 minutes to downtown Montalcino, which is a classic Tuscan hill town. Most importantly, I can't say enough about Alexandra. She gave some great restaurant and winery recommendations, and showed us a great hike into town. In January, many wineries are closed for the month, which we learned the hard way. We also didn't reach out to vineyards far enough in advance for private tastings (ALWAYS call for an appointment, it's not like Napa/Sonoma!) We told Alexandra about this and she made a call to a great local winery (Poggio Antico) and got us an appointment. She is a wonderful host! I cannot say enough about our experience.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amina A
1 review
“Wonderful Tuscan Home”
Reviewed 18 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Lovely tuscan home; amazing views! Alexandra is the perfect host, she had great recommendations on wineries and restaurants to visit in Montalcino and Montepulciano.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Service
Liked best: Views from the bedroom
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans-Jaco...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tranquil”
Reviewed 1 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My girlfriend and I stayed 4 nights at Fonte Aulente in october and just loved the place. It's secluded, in beautiful surroundings and very close to the city of Montalcino. The hostess Alexandra was very helpful both before we arrived and during our stay. She gave us some great advise on places to see and things to do. The rental itself is very cozy with typical architecture for the region. I can highly recommend this place, especially for couples. We will be back :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 20 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils
Liked best: Everything about the property
Liked least: We only stayed 2 nights
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing