We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place!”

The Cultural and Geological Palace of Rhodes
Ranked #28 of 122 things to do in Rhodes Town
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed 17 July 2018

A fascinating museum cultural items a wealth of mosaics, statues and artwork relating to greek mythology.
Fantastic place!

Thank יהודה ש
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spyros_katsouris, Διευθυντής at The Cultural and Geological Palace of Rhodes, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2018

Thank you , my friend. We try every day to improve our museum better and better. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"greek mythology"
in 2 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 3 reviews
"geology"
in 4 reviews
"mineralogy"
in 3 reviews
"minerals"
in 3 reviews
"unesco"
in 2 reviews
"paintings"
in 3 reviews
"coral"
in 2 reviews
"culture"
in 2 reviews
"museum"
in 3 reviews
"palace"
in 3 reviews
"rhodes"
in 5 reviews
Filter

7 - 11 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2018 via mobile

A fascinating museum containing historic artifacts from around the world; geological and fossil collections; cultural items and, standing out above all else, a wealth of mosaics, statues and artwork relating to greek mythology.
Spyros is a warm and welcoming host and this museum is clearly his passion.
I recommend phoning ahead of your visit, to benefit from his most interesting and entertaining guided tour.

Thank Graham J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spyros_katsouris, Διευθυντής at The Cultural and Geological Palace of Rhodes, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2018

Thank you very mutch mr Graham for your nice copliments about our museum. Hope to see you again. Best regards to your g/friend

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018 via mobile

Wished we had visited earlier as we would have probably come back for a second visit! Spyros, the warm and fascinating owner, gave us a personal tour of his incredible private collection, touching on Ancient Greek mythology, history, geology and his own multiple award-winning poetry (written in Ancient Greek, no less). Most impressive was that much of the museum and its contents has been made and collected by Spyros himself - from collecting thousands of pebbles for his self-made entrance mosaic to scrambling around dark caves for rare crystals or painstakingly extracting delicate fossils from stones. And rather than feeling overwhelmed by the wealth of information provided, we had a lot of fun along the way and left feeling that we had made a friend. So much more than a museum, this jewel is the encapsulation of lifelong passion and vision. A must-see for the discerning Rhodes visitor.

Thank Deanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spyros_katsouris, Διευθυντής at The Cultural and Geological Palace of Rhodes, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

The director of Cultural and Geological Palace of Rhodes thank you very mutch for your nice and special critic about this museum. You must be sure that next time that you will visit it again you will see more things and have more hospitality of mr Spyros. Got bless you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2018

A true hidden gem of the Rhodesian heritage. A private museum ran by Spyros Katsouris, who built this magnificent temple of historical, cultural and geological significance himself, is an astounding experience for anybody with a serious interest in Hellenistic legacy. Beautiful handmade mosaics in the courtyard of the building paved by Ionian columns are just the beginning of the magnificent journey through myth and history of Rhodes and Greece. This unique private collection awarded by UNESCO award is a result of many years of passionate labor of its owner and curator. Spyros will personally lead you on a unforgettable journey that will leave you in awe. Did I also mention he is renown poet in his country, who writes is his poetry in ancient Greek? You might even get lucky to have him recite it for you. Absolute must visit if you are you are enthusiast of history and/or geology.

Thank Mars V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spyros_katsouris, Διευθυντής at The Cultural and Geological Palace of Rhodes, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Thank you mr Mars for your nice notices about our museum in Rhodes. Hope to see you again in future. All the best to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2018 via mobile

What a special visit. A tour of the owner Spirous Katsouris. The museum consists of three floors. on the bottom floor you see in display cases minerals, coral, stones, books, fossils and fish in bottles with special water to keep them in good condition. The first floor is a "living floor" beautiful ceiling paintings and interior with a huge history. Mr. Spirous Katsouris talks very enthusiastically about the origin of the pieces present. And knows a lot about the Greek mythology. On the top floor you will find books, rare paintings, clothing, jewelery etc and the owner knows how to tell about this. It is too much to describe. Very rare pieces are in the museum. Also family pieces. The museum has won several prizes, including from Unesco. We were speechless of all the beauty we saw and all the stories. For over one and a half hours he has taken us through the museum. how special is that a private tour of a museum by the inventor and owner of the museum. The owner Mr. Katsouris is a very special and warm person with a lot of knowledge of the history of his pieces in the museum. He has designed the museum himself. The museum definitely deserves far more visitors and attention than it gets now. In short, it is a museum where you can learn a lot about folklore, geology and mineralogy and so much more.

Thank TheadoraHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spyros_katsouris, Διευθυντής at The Cultural and Geological Palace of Rhodes, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2018

Thank you very mutch my dear visitors, for your nice critic about our museum. It's the best critic till now. Got bless you. And we hope to see you again. And we wish to read your opinion many other people in the world , so to be well known our museum.Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Cultural and Geological Palace of Rhodes also viewed

 

Been to The Cultural and Geological Palace of Rhodes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing