We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fascinating, insightful and beautiful - a must do when in Rhodes”

Kahal Kadosh Shalom Synagogue
Ranked #2 of 122 things to do in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: From the 1st of November we are closed for the public. If you wish to visit us please contact us by phone or by email in order to make an appointment.
Reviewed 19 June 2018

This was the first time I’d been to a Synagogue and I’m certainly glad I took the time to. The main synagogue building itself is beautiful and adorned with a number of beautifully crafted religious objects and furniture.

Leading on from this is a thoroughly interesting museum which explains the history of the Synagogue on Rhodes as well as the stories of the familes and most aspects of their daily lives on the island. There was also concise information provided about a number of Jewish religious artefacts which I found to be interesting and informative.

Part of the exhibition detailed the Holocaust which was presented in a sensitive, touching and informative way, all in relation to the Jews of Rhodes and their incomprehensible experiences.

I would thoroughly recommend visiting this beautiful building to both admire it archatectually and to learn more of the Jewish culture both in general and in relation to the island.

Thank Wycombe-Simon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jcrh0des, Διευθυντής at Kahal Kadosh Shalom Synagogue, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Thank you for your very nice comments! It's always nice to hear from not Jewish visitors that appreciate the history of the former Jewish Community of Rhodes. In our Museum we try to show how vivid communities ,not necessary jewish, can be annihilated because of hate and political agendas. People mustn't forget so, history doesn't repeat.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (420)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"jewish community"
in 38 reviews
"second world war"
in 10 reviews
"sad history"
in 6 reviews
"small museum attached"
in 6 reviews
"from spain"
in 5 reviews
"holocaust survivor"
in 5 reviews
"pre war"
in 3 reviews
"death camps"
in 3 reviews
"gift shop"
in 7 reviews
"side street"
in 6 reviews
"informative museum"
in 3 reviews
"haven of peace"
in 3 reviews
"worth the effort"
in 4 reviews
"old town"
in 18 reviews
"beautiful building"
in 5 reviews
"on display"
in 4 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 7 reviews
Filter

14 - 18 of 420 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2018

Listening to Issac Rubin who runs a private tour out of the synagogue, as we walked around the Jewish Quarter of Old Town, Rhodes was so very interesting and meaningful. He took us to some notable spots which highlighted the Jewish life from the Spanish Inquisition to post WWII. He interlaced this history with personal stories. It was one of the best experiences of our time in Greece. It is worthwhile for everyone.

Thank KarenGTK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RhodesCARMEN, General Manager at Kahal Kadosh Shalom Synagogue, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2018

Dear Mrs Karen,

We would like to thank you for your nice comments and I would like to thank you also on behalf of Isaac Habib.
We are pleased that you have enjoyed the visit.
That gives us the strength to keep passing the 2000 years history of Jewish life on the island of Rhodes to our visitors who are all moved by the tragedy that befell upon this community .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2018

A small, well-done museum detailing the history of Rhodes is attached to the synagogue. Very interesting and well done.

Thank Meira111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RhodesCARMEN, General Manager at Kahal Kadosh Shalom Synagogue, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2018

Dear Mrs Meira,

We would lile to thank you for taking your time to put your comments in tripadvisor.

We are very pleased that you have enjoyed your visit.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2018

Behind the beautiful wooden doors adorned with Stars of David is the Kahal Kadosh Shalom or Community of Sacred Peace Synagogue. This relatively small synagogue served one of the oldest Jewish communities outside of Israel for centuries. It contains a small museum and is an important statement about the community. In line with the customs of the area the central island for the reading of the Torah is distinct from the stage where the scrolls are kept. The chandeliers reflect light above during the daytime, lighting the way to heaven. You won't find locals at prayer since the entire community was taken to "death camps" by the Nazi. A short distance away stands the monument in the Jewish Martyrs Square written in several languages to remind us of the destruction of this once vibrant community.

Thank aryehby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RhodesCARMEN, Διευθυντής at Kahal Kadosh Shalom Synagogue, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2018

We would like to thank you for this poetic and sentimental description of our Synagogue and Museum.
We are very happy that your visit was so emotional for you.
It gives us strength to continue trying in this way to keep the memory and the history of our community alive.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2018

We spent about an hour going through all the exhibits at the museum associated with the synagogue. We learned much about the Jewish population and their life and fate in Rhodes.
The Sephardic synagogue was typical but lovely.

Thank WarrenFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jcrh0des, Διευθυντής at Kahal Kadosh Shalom Synagogue, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2018

We are very happy that you have enjoyed your visit to our Museum.
It is not a proffessional exhibition but it is made with a lot of love and from our heart in our effort to keep alive the historical back ground and the memory of our community who perished in the concentration camps.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kahal Kadosh Shalom Synagogue also viewed

 

Been to Kahal Kadosh Shalom Synagogue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing