We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Priceline
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
View all 11 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (269)
Filter reviews
269 results
Traveller rating
261
3
3
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
261
3
3
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private plunge pool impecable service very nice boutique hotel exceptional property costa rican sunset tuna tartare small resort ocean front rain shower rooms are beautiful coconut water room was spacious incredible stay plantains piece of heaven restaurant reservations world class
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 269 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Everything is perfect beautiful amazing from the welcome to the beauty of the bedroom breakfast on the beach wonderful people kind never experienced such an amazing service with an hotel!!!
I want to come back asap as this is one of my favorite place in the world you feel happy, confortable relax.
The bed are amazing you sleep like a baby the balcony the coffee too much stuff to say about this amazing place

Room tip: every. room s are beautiful
Date of stay: August 2021
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah z
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry Hartman, Owner at Hotel Nantipa - A Tico Beach Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Come back soooon!!!

It is great to hear that you had such a wonderful experience at Nantipa.

We will be waiting for you on your next trip to Santa Teresa.

The Nantipa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2021

My wife and I elected to visit Nantipa and Costa Rica in late July 2021 to celebrate one of those big wedding anniversaries.

We are in our mid-30s, usually relaxed travelers, who prefer privacy and a more intimate feel to our destinations. We don't cram in a lot of tours, or turn our getaways into social affairs (either by making friends on site or having others along). We have a busy home life and vacay is about a change of pace.

The Nantipa resort and the Ninta oceanfront Bungalows were perfect for us.

Literal steps from a quiet, beautiful Pacific ocean beach, which was often sparsely populated with locals, semi locals, and tourists, we had our own dedicated space where we rarely saw anyone within 100' in all directions. The room was spacious in every regards, not overly furnished and not trying to put too much emphasis on any one thing. It had two entrances, one through a separate glass door that passed under an outdoor shower into the walk in shower (very useful for sand and saltwater rinses) and the other through large sliding / collapsing glass doors that open to your private patio. The king sized bed was comfortable, and the bathroom was open with a walk in shower, double vanity and separate water closet. The room, patio, and small pool were regularly and well maintained by an efficient staff.

The winding, lush, jungle like property landscaping ensured that you were rarely in a setting that felt public- the most open and communal spaces on the property were the pool and the front desk / reception.

We were able to walk along the beach to multiple restaurants when tide wasn't at it's peak, and we could also travel north and south along the main drag to the sections of town with more shops and restaurants.

Any downsides at all to the property?
Probably the only suggestions would be finish the on site spa (was just beginning while we visited so may be available in 2022), refinish some of the outdoor metal work on the bungalows and to consider alternative seating in room. The two Papasan chairs were fine since we were rarely in the room but in a more rainy stretch, a small settee, chaise or loveseat could offer more meaningful in room seating.

Other general recommendations/comments-
We went in a lull in the rainy season that is somewhat common in late July. The weather reports projected 90% chance of rain and thunder every day, all day for our entire trip. We never saw more than a late evening, or overnight rain that carried into the next morning. Temps were consistently in the mid to high 80s, with occasional cloud cover. One of our tour guides said this was the best time of year to visit due to smaller crowds, and much greener landscape. We believed him- Santa Teresa was occasionally busy with traffic but you really felt like you were in an undiscovered gem.

On getting to Santa Teresa-
We chose to fly to Liberia and rent a car from Avis (1 out of 5 stars) and make a 4 hour drive to the town. We had seen a lot of worrisome reports about road conditions and didn't want to gamble on taxis or buses given our travel schedule so we opted for a 4x4. That was unnecessary. I wouldn't recommend a car but a compact SUV or truck would be good. There are some stretches of dirt roads with lots of potholes but they only make up a 1/5th of the overall journey. Anything with decent clearance should handle it. We talked to another couple who flew into Tambor via a smaller local outfit from Liberia and rented a car locally. In hindsight, I might have opted to do that. It was fun seeing the Costa Rican countryside but four hour drives are rarely a blast.

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank JMB23007
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry Hartman, Owner at Hotel Nantipa - A Tico Beach Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2021

Thank you for such detailed review

It was great hosting you at Nantipa! We are very happy to hear that you liked the rooms and the location, but mostly that we did a good job on the service side. We strive for excellence with every guest, and it's good to hear when we do a good job.

We will take your recommendations very seriously, and we are happy to report that our Spa is already open!!!!

We hope to see you soon!

The Nantipa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2021

We found this hotel through Hyatt’s SLH line that they partner with. The hotel is modern, clean, small, intimate, private, and luxurious. The pool is beautiful, the restaurant is wonderful, the drinks are craft made and spectacular. The beach is gorgeous (there can be strong currants out in front). We had the breakfast included which is delicious at the restaurant. We have been enjoying our stay so much here that we were able to extend our stay by one extra night, we are grateful they could accommodate us. This is my new favorite hotel, I’m seriously obsessed with Nantipa and Santa Teresa. This is truly paradise! I don't want to leave its a hidden gem.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jcbtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry Hartman, Owner at Hotel Nantipa - A Tico Beach Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2021

Thank you for your review!

We are very happy that you enjoyed Nantipa so much. Please come back soon, so you can keep enjoying it!!2

See you on your next trip to Santa Teresa.

The Nantipa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2021 via mobile

Boutique hotel , beach front villas with private pool, direct access to the beach. Rooms are modern , comfortable and beautifully decorated .
Beach club area is ideal with hammaks, low tables and tanning chairs , bomb fire for sunsets and beach clean up booth for those who want to make a difference . Go for a walk on and check out this magical place. Favorite place to stay in st. Teresa. Excelente staff and truly pet friendly!

Room tip: Book in advance and Villas are the best !!!! Don’t leave without trying the Manzú ceviche served at dinner .
Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Wanderer00187951089
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry Hartman, Owner at Hotel Nantipa - A Tico Beach Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2021

We are very happy that you had a good time while in Nantipa and enjoyed our rooms and the food in Manzu our restaurant.

We will be waiting for you on your next visit to Santa Teresa.

The Nantipa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2021

We got married July 2020 and did a local honeymoon. For our 1 year we decided to do a big 9 day trip to Costa Rica. We did 5 days and 4 nights here at Nantipa in the Ninta rooms with private plunge pool. This is the place to be. Above all the customer service is personalized, kind, courteous, and responsive. They catered to all of our needs in such a respectful personal way. We enjoyed the breakfast each day at the hotel. We either did an excursion, surfing, or beach lounging by day. The beach, and sunset is not to be missed. Get a caipirinha especial de Allan- you won’t regret it. It’s the only cocktail we drank all week. We love this place. Can’t wait to come back!!!

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank brittanyjE7387HY
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry Hartman, Owner at Hotel Nantipa - A Tico Beach Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2021

We are very happy that you chose Nantipa to celebrate your 1 year anniversary and that we were able to make such a wonderful experience for you!!!

I will tell Allan to have the caipirinhas ready for the 2nd or 3rd anniversary if you decide to come back!

We wish you all the best in your married life, and especially lots of health.

The Nantipa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews