We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$115
View Deal
eDreamsUS$115
Agoda.comUS$115
TripadvisorUS$115
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (721)
Filter reviews
722 results
Traveller rating
306
192
100
55
69
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
306
192
100
55
69
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mountain chalet hot water springs hot pools super tube underfloor heating recommend this resort once a year family holiday self catering home away from home cape town jacuzzi facilities timeshare gowns dishwasher unit
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 722 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

toilet smell and carpet cleaning not up to standard.otherwise we always enjoy our stay.very friendly and efficient staff.facilities excellent and clean.will always come again and will recommend this place to others

Date of stay: February 2021
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Seaside41895973670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G hathers, General Manager at Avalon Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review and to share your experiences following your recent stay at Avalon Springs.

Whilst it is always rewarding to hear when guest has enjoyed their stay, we also take our guest feedback extremely seriously and it was with some concern that I read your comments regarding the carpets and the smelly toilet. I have addressed these issues with the Executive Housekeeper for her to implement the appropriate remedial action.

I would like to offer my sincere apologies for any inconvenience which you may have experienced, however, I am very pleased to hear that that despite the above, you enjoyed your stay. Your kind comments, especially regarding the friendliness of the staff, are greatly appreciated!

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Avalon in the near future and trust that your next stay will again be enjoyable.

Once again, thank you for your comments, as it is only through feedback and constructive criticism from our valued guests such as yourselves that we can monitor our performance and improve our service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our visit at the resort is always a pleasant one. This time around we were disgusted. We stayed in the hotel with breakfast included however what looked like a nice breakfast turned out not be when we got a maggot in our food. The resort facilities are good.

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank tarynf383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G hathers, General Manager at Avalon Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and to put into writing your experiences during your recent stay.

I am still deeply concerned about this isolated incident, as the kitchen staff pride themselves in keeping an extremely high standard of cleanliness.

Apart from yet another thorough deep cleaning of the kitchen, we have also requested assistance from our external hygiene auditors and pest control specialists, to investigate the possible causes, as we can find no logical explanation or evidence of any infestation.

I would again like to offer my sincerest apologies for any discomfort which you and your family experienced as a result of this unfortunate and inexplicable incident, and as promised during our face-to-face meeting and in my follow up letter to you, my offer of a complimentary one-night stay still stands.

Once again, thank you for your comments, as it is only through feedback and constructive criticism from our valued guests such as yourselves that we can monitor our performance and improve our service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2021

Spent four nights here in one of the mountain chalets. The chalet is fully kitted out and even has underfloor heating , your own private Jacuzzi and all the kitchen equipment you can think of. The best part was that due to COVID no day visitors were allowed which prevented overcrowding. Staff was brilliant and we had a great time . Would highly recommend

Date of stay: December 2020
Thank bazzer1911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G hathers, General Manager at Avalon Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2021

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such an awesome review and to share your experiences following your recent stay in a chalet at Avalon Springs.

It is always extremely rewarding to hear that a guest has so thoroughly enjoyed their stay with us and I am so glad that we exceeded your expectations and were able to make your stay with us a memorable one. Your kind comments, especially regarding the staff are greatly appreciated. Having no day visitors certainly does make the pool area a lot less crowded!

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Avalon in the near future and trust that your next stay will again be as enjoyable.

Once again, thank you for your kind comments, as it is only through feedback from our valued guests such as yourselves that we can monitor our performance and improve our service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2021

I always enjoy my stay. Very relaxing and the staff are wonderful. The rooms are a bit outdated and not the most luxurious for the price, but definetly a nice place to spend time. Pool facilities were great.

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank laylagamiet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G hathers, General Manager at Avalon Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2021

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review and to put into writing your experiences following your recent stay at Avalon Springs.

It is always extremely rewarding to hear that a guest has so thoroughly enjoyed their stay with us and I am so glad that we were able to make your stay with us a memorable one. Your kind comments, especially regarding the friendliness of the staff are greatly appreciated. We are aware that the rooms are a bit dated and were on the verge of implementing a massive upgrade, when Covid happened and everything has been placed on hold.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Avalon in the near future and trust that your next stay will again be as enjoyable.

Once again, thank you for your kind comments, as it is only through feedback from our valued guests such as yourselves that we can monitor our performance and improve our service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2020

Not good value for money at all. Hotel is out-dated and poorly maintained. Pools are poorly maintained. Staff seem few and far between and don't seem properly trained. Breakfast was really disgusting and only coffee is instant coffee from an old dirty container which you have to make yourself (even in the restaurant). Shocking standards for a hotel and expensive for what you get. I would be embarrassed to work for or own this place.

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank nathanrH6456UT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G hathers, General Manager at Avalon Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2020

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review and to put into writing your experiences following your recent stay at Avalon Springs

For the past two years we have been planning a major upgrade (R28m) for the entire pool area, a new indoor pool, a new Spa and other facilities. Plans for Phase 1 were approved by the local Municipality and construction was due to commence in May 2020 to be completed by December 2021. We were also looking at upgrading all the hotel rooms. Unfortunately, COVID happened and our plans have been placed on hold for the moment.

Unfortunately, even though the lockdown level has permitted us to trade, we have still not been able to resume normal operations, and not all our staff have returned to work.

Our a la carte breakfast menu includes all the items, and more, which we used to have on the buffet. Hot food includes eggs to order, 3 slices bacon/macon, choice of beef or pork sausages, chicken livers, savoury mince, hash browns, sauteed potato, chips, tomato, beans, mushrooms. The cold "buffet" section includes a choice of cereals, fruit, pastries. There is also toast, fruit juice, tea - and of course - coffee.

You probably noticed that the Restaurant and lounge is currently being upgraded, with a new barista coffee station? On Thursday morning the old Jacobs coffee machine in the Restaurant inadvertently stopped working and as we do not usually sell instant coffee, the waiter decided to use her own initiative and use a tin of “staff” coffee. This is certainly not our usual level of service and the waiter has been given refresher training. The coffee mahine has already been repaired and we are just waiting for the barista machine to be installed.

It is indeed a great pity that did not bring these matters to my attention whilst you were still at the resort, not only so that I may have met with you personally to explain the current situation, but so that we could have had the opportunity to resolve your issues while you were still on site.

I would like to offer my sincerest apologies for any inconvenience which you may have experienced, however it is extremely disappointing to note that our resort did not meet your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews