We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$165
US$157
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$59
US$49
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$59/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Crossing Backpackers(Tongariro National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Pipers Ski Lodge(Tongariro National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Tongariro Adventures(Tongariro National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tongariro Holiday Park(Tongariro National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Alpine Chalets(Tongariro National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (587)
Filter reviews
587 results
Traveller rating
354
179
34
13
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
354
179
34
13
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfreedom packagepacked lunchtongariro alpine crossingcooked breakfastcrossing packagehot tubguest kitchent shirtstama lakesstation restaurantbad weatherspa bathsteak dinnernew zealanda great experiencegreat hostslocal knowledge
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 587 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2018

This was a return visit. Great place to stay, is comfortable and John and Gill go out of there way to make us feel welcome. The beds are lovely to fall into after a busy day out and the rooms a clean and spacious. We will definitely be back!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank candystevenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
v8ford10, Owner at Adventure Lodge & Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Thankyou so much for your great review of us- we welcome you back anytime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018

Stayed at Adventure Lodge a few weeks ago for the second time, and this time was no different to the last. Rooms are immaculate, and the bed was super comfy. But the highlight was the service that we got from John and Gill. They both really go out of their way to make your stay pleasurable - nothing is problem! We took the ride up to the crossing in the newly painted bus (which is amazing and gave us a great laugh with its fabulously funny kiwi art painted on the side), and thoroughly enjoyed John's talk about the history of the area. I cannot recommend staying at this great motel enough, and if you are planning on walking the crossing you must take shuttle up with John for the full experience. Thanks so much John and Gill - we will definitely be back again!

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Danielle V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
v8ford10, Owner at Adventure Lodge & Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

thankyou so much for this wonderful review - and pleased you appreciated every aspect we do for our guests especially the ride to the Tongariro Crossing with our every entertaining bus driver John - please come back again - we would welcome you with a discount next time..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2018 via mobile

Stayed in a private unit with ensuite bathroom

The goods points
- Friendly staff welcome
- Good location close to Tongariro

The bad points
- Paper thin walls: snoring neighbours, tv from unit next to us, could hear every word from next door neighbours
- Dusty: cobwebs at the shower ceiling, dirty/hairy chairs and we noticed that the cups/plates from the previous occupant were rinsed but not clean
- Bathroom: shower with shower curtain (old style), very small sink and very cold so uncomfortable after a long day hike
- Dated interior

Overall would not recommend, overpriced for quality you get.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Liesbeth09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
v8ford10, Staff at Adventure Lodge & Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2018

So sorry you had an unpleasant experience here, unfortunately there's not too much we can do about snoring neighbours but we absolutely would have addressed any cleanliness issues in the room had we been notified. I have checked the unit you were staying in and could not see any cobwebs...coffee cups were a bit stained from coffee though clean, would have replaced these immediately had you brought to our attention. We have wonderful diesel heating that you are able to control and heat the entire unit very quickly so I'm not sure what you are referring to as cold? Please let us know during your stay if you find anything unsatisfactory, as we would love to make your stay more enjoyable but there is nothing we can do to fix the problem if you tell us the day after you checked out.
As for the interior, we are a small family run lodge in the mountains and most people see to love our quaint country style. It sounds as if you may be more comfortable in something more flash and commercial, perhaps you may consider looking into the details of the property in the future as we have pictures on all of our booking sites so you can see what we are about.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2018 via mobile

Gillian and Dutch are, without any doubt, the hosts from the good old days. The totally understand good service, quality and having a good time.

We will be back this year to try out the new bar and see what else they’ve been up to to make this place even better.

Totally recommend a stay here. It ain’t the Ritz but the service is.

So sad Dutch had his brain removed all those years ago but despite that he’s a hell of a host kept in line but the ever quality focused Gillian.

Totally recommend. You won’t regret it.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Teherenga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
v8ford10, Owner at Adventure Lodge & Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2018

Thanks so much Teherenga - I can advise Dutchy's brain wasnt removed abeit that he hasnt used for sometime now or as often as I would have liked!
Best wishes for great review and hope to see you in the Ski Season here for a mulled wine by the fire
Gillian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018

My partner and myself decided to do the magical Tongariro crossing and stumbled upon Adventure Lodge to stay for the couple of nights.

We took full advantage of they services they offer i.e the hike drop off and pick up, the packed lunch and the 'full kiwi breakfast'. All of which was fantastic and made the experience of hiking the crossing stress free so we could simply enjoy the hike.

Dutchie and his crew are making the crossing EASY!

Thanks guys.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mat T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
v8ford10, Owner at Adventure Lodge & Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

thanks so much we loved you had a great time - the package is the way to go and makes for a smooth trip without you having to organise anything.
best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews