We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (12)
Filter reviews
12 results
Traveller rating
2
6
2
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
2
6
2
2
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 12 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2016 via mobile

We got a full refund as the chalet loft room did not meet our expectation, many thanks. The motels are unmanned, rather tired, well located on the main road handy to restaurants, however the spas appear disused so don't expect to be able to have a long soak after a long day on the crossing.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
Thank jude r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2015

We found this place to be comfortable and handy for the ski field, the place is a bit dated and found a couple of electrical items not working and as the office is unmanned letting someone know was difficult, the place had all appliances to be able to cook meals, great views of mountain on a clear day.Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing road with best views
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank nwi7756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2015

Stayed here for the weekend that we did the Tongariro Crossing. Staff were great and really helpful. Found the room and bathroom facilities to be nice and clean/well looked after. Walls are pretty thin in the lodge so it can be noisy but good basic and cheap accom for a short stay!

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank edenk2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2015

We stayed here before doing the Tongariro Crossing. There's an excellent spa and barbecue area, we had a lot of fun. It's probably aimed more at small families than groups of 20-somethings but really there's something for everyone here. The location is great for the crossing. And the views are gorgeous.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rae655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2014

Worthwhile staying if only for the breath taking view of the mountains. Travelled to NZ recently with our teenage boys. This was our first snow experience and while the snow and snowfalls did not disappoint neither did Alpine Chalets.
Unit was clean and tidy, plenty of fresh towels with adequate cooking facilities and TV’s looked like they had been recently upgraded – teenagers happy. Also a must have bbq, (for Queenslanders), available to use, although the Staff were only too happy to arrange meals for us. We enjoyed a nice dinner, great fire, at the local pub just across the road. The hot spa was welcoming after trekking the Tongariro Crossing.
Great location, value for money and friendly staff.

Room Tip: Take groceries and/or snacks with you.
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews