We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic flight. Unmatched views! ”

Mountain Air Scenic Flights Day Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Come and fly around the stunning volcanic peaks, Tongariro, Ngauruhoe and Ruapehu! Inspect the colourful Blue, Emerald, Crater and Tama Lakes and all of the spectacular craters on show! Learn about the cultural heritage, history, fascinating geology and biology of this region! Make your stay here even more memorable and come and take a flight with us! Let our team look after you and show you the world through our eyes! It’s a fantastic way to view the breathtaking volcanic scenery of Tongariro National Park, Dual World Heritage Area!
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic flight. Unmatched views! ”
Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

We had an amazing flight over the Tongariro National Park. Paua was a great pilot - professional and knowledgeable. A great way to see the stunning scenery from a different perspective. Highly recommended!

Visited November 2016
Helpful?
Thank Kate J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    5
    0
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
181 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Unforgettable ”
Reviewed 27 December 2016 via mobile

We can only add to all previous reviews our highest ranking for this activity. We booked afternoon flight and unfortunately the clouds arrived so we had no hopes to see anything. However Oliver, the pilot assessed the situation and offered to us at least a 15 minutes flight in the areas not covered by the clouds. Albeit a bit scary with grey clouds just above us, the flight was very smooth and spectacular. Highly recommended especially if the weather is good. Book in advance.

Visited December 2016
Helpful?
Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The only way to see the volcanoes if you don't have many days 'available'”
Reviewed 20 December 2016

We had booked to fly on the following morning, however, arrived at Tongariro NP in the previous afternoon. Fortunately, the reception at the Chateau Tongariro Hotel were able to phone Volcanic Air to check if they were flying up later that afternoon. We were very lucky, as the weather was great during that afternoon, but cloudy the next morning. The sights of the volcanoes and surrounding landscape were awesome. Our pilot was very professional and friendly - thoroughly recommended!!

Visited December 2016
Helpful?
Thank Robyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Why can't I give this a 6 rating?”
Reviewed 25 November 2016 via mobile

Just terrific. Tony, our pilot, gave us a great flight & commentary as he took us over and round three eye-boggling volcanoes and the blasted & brutal landscape that surrounds them. It was great to see the Tama Lakes to which we'd walked the day before our flight. Many thanks for a great experience.

Visited November 2016
Helpful?
Thank anonguest2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cobram, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Day EVER!!!”
Reviewed 26 August 2016

As residents of National Park my friend and I have had the pleasure of doing all of the amazing things this National Park has to offer. As a treat for ourselves we went out with Mountain Air and had teh most amazing time. It was teh absolute pinnacle of my two years in New Zealand. The guides were super friendly and very informative (as a Geologist I can be cristical but they exceeded my expectations). The views were spectacular and totally worth it! I cannot recommend this experience enough.

Visited August 2016
Helpful?
Thank Leanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mountain Air Scenic Flights Day Tour also viewed

Tongariro National Park, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Tongariro National Park, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 
Tongariro National Park, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Tongariro National Park, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 

Been to Mountain Air Scenic Flights Day Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing