We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best”
Review of Kamahi Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Otorohanga
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kamahi Cottage
Ranked #1 of 4 Otorohanga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
1 review
“The best”
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed in Kamahi Cottage last night. It was the highlight of our Northern Island experience. When you read these reviews you think it can't be that good...but it is. Beautiful setting, excellent breakfast, all the comforts of home, and a fantastic host!

Stayed March 2017, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth C, Owner at Kamahi Cottage, responded to this review, 15 March 2017
Jennifer, thanks so much. It was a real pleasure spending time with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    4
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
39
145
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2017 via mobile

We knew from the cottage that Kamahi Cottage would be charming. We had no idea it would be in such a gorgeous setting. Perched on a hillside, the view from the bedroom is amazing. The gardens are award worthy in and of themselves, and Elisabeth and Evan have thought of everything to make the visit very special. Elisabeth is an incredible chef, too - some of the best meals of our entire six weeks in NZ! It just doesn't get any better than this. If there were six stars possible, Kamahi Cottage would get my vote for six stars!!!

Stayed March 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoEllie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth C, Owner at Kamahi Cottage, responded to this review, 9 March 2017
Thank you! Really appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2017

The pictures don't do justice to this great farmhouse/cottage. Liz is a great host and fantastic cook. We stayed here after a long hike and before popping in to see the glow worm caves. On a six night, six town journey of the North Island, this was the best place we stayed in. Fresh air, very peaceful and high end.

Room Tip: There is one cottage..... book early!
See more room tips
Green Features: Great farm experience... farm to table in less than 100 yards.
  • Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth C, Owner at Kamahi Cottage, responded to this review, 8 February 2017
We really appreciate your feedback. Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 27 January 2017

This cottage along with the most gracious hostess (and host) was by far and away one of the highlights of our trip through the North and South Island. Liz was way too kind when she offered to make us a light dinner as we arrived hungry... late in the day!
The gardens, food, warm hospitality, lovely setting, star gazing were some of the "perks" of this wonderful place. Thank you again XO

  • Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth C, Owner at Kamahi Cottage, responded to this review, 5 February 2017
It was a pleasure, Kathleen. Thanks so much for your generous comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2017

If you are looking for a beautiful location, total peace and serenity, and great food, this is the place for you! It's a little off the beaten path, but the cottage is completely separate from from the owner's home so while you have the feel of a B&B, you have the privacy of a 5 star hotel. The owner, Liz, is your chef and she is inventive, accommodating, and top notch! You can eat in the cottage or in their beautiful home and I only wish that my husband and I had another day to walk all the trails on the 1000 acres of their property. However, sitting on the porch in the hammock chairs, admiring the beautiful view, and appreciating the peace was more than enough for us. If you are in the area, don't miss this fabulous place.

  • Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmunrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth C, Owner at Kamahi Cottage, responded to this review, 25 January 2017
We loved having you to stay. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otorohanga
17.6 km away
Woodlyn Park
Woodlyn Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
241 reviews
18.7 km away
Waitomo Caves Hotel
Waitomo Caves Hotel
#4 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
523 reviews
8.6 km away
Redwood Lodge
Redwood Lodge
#2 of 4 in Otorohanga
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.9 km away
Waitomo Boutique Lodge
Waitomo Boutique Lodge
#2 of 5 in Te Kuiti
58 reviews
18.3 km away
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
#1 of 2 in Waitomo Caves
513 reviews
11.2 km away
Otorohanga and Waitomo Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kamahi Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kamahi Cottage

Property: Kamahi Cottage
Address: 229 Barber Road, Rewarewa RD 5, Otorohanga 3975, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Otorohanga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Otorohanga
Price range (per night): $400 - $536
Hotel Class:5 star — Kamahi Cottage 5*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kamahi Cottage is a 5-Star country cottage, self-contained B&B and farm stay. It's just 30 minutes from the Waitomo glowworm caves, Black Water Rafting and "Lost World" adventures. The cottage is peaceful, private and romantic - set in a beautiful country garden with panoramic hilltop views. There is an upstairs queen bedroom, spacious downstairs bathroom, fully equipped kitchenette, plus stylish lounge and dining area. A comfortable queen sofa-sleeper is also available downstairs. (Max. 4 guests, children are very welcome). Rates include full gourmet breakfasts. Privately catered 2 & 3-course dinners are available by prior arrangement. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing