We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kamahi Cottage
Nearby Hotels
Otorohanga and Waitomo Motels(Otorohanga)(Great Value!)
US$89
US$80
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glow Worm Motel(Waitomo Caves)(Great Value!)
US$81
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Caves Motor Inn(Waitomo Caves)
US$93
US$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Woodlyn Park(Waitomo Caves)
US$129
US$124
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Kiwi Paka(Waitomo Caves)
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Waitomo Caves Hotel(Waitomo Caves)
US$82
US$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rosetown Motel(Te Awamutu)(Great Value!)
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Lodge Motel(Te Awamutu)
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$250
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (238)
Filter reviews
238 results
Traveller rating
232
5
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
232
5
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnew zealandour honeymoonone nightrolling hillswaitomo cavesthe main househammock chairsheaven on earthfront porchgracious hostssouth islandlemon treemagical placeloft bedroomcomforts of homeplum schnappswarm hospitality
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 238 reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2017

The pictures don't do justice to this great farmhouse/cottage. Liz is a great host and fantastic cook. We stayed here after a long hike and before popping in to see the glow worm caves. On a six night, six town journey of the North Island, this was the best place we stayed in. Fresh air, very peaceful and high end.

Room Tip: There is one cottage..... book early!
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kenneth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth C, Owner at Kamahi Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2017

We really appreciate your feedback. Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2017

This cottage along with the most gracious hostess (and host) was by far and away one of the highlights of our trip through the North and South Island. Liz was way too kind when she offered to make us a light dinner as we arrived hungry... late in the day!
The gardens, food, warm hospitality, lovely setting, star gazing were some of the "perks" of this wonderful place. Thank you again XO

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kathleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth C, Owner at Kamahi Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2017

It was a pleasure, Kathleen. Thanks so much for your generous comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2017

If you are looking for a beautiful location, total peace and serenity, and great food, this is the place for you! It's a little off the beaten path, but the cottage is completely separate from from the owner's home so while you have the feel of a B&B, you have the privacy of a 5 star hotel. The owner, Liz, is your chef and she is inventive, accommodating, and top notch! You can eat in the cottage or in their beautiful home and I only wish that my husband and I had another day to walk all the trails on the 1000 acres of their property. However, sitting on the porch in the hammock chairs, admiring the beautiful view, and appreciating the peace was more than enough for us. If you are in the area, don't miss this fabulous place.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmunrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth C, Owner at Kamahi Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2017

We loved having you to stay. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2016

My husband and I spent a couple of nights here during our Honeymoon traveling through New Zealand. Both of us would have been content to stay at Kamahi Cottage forever. Everything about that place is perfect, adorable and comfortable. The front porch was our favorite. We loved sitting in the hammock swings, drinking gin and tonics (made with a lemon picked fresh off of Liz's lemon tree, of course), listening to the birds sing and Evan playing the bagpipes, and admiring the incredible views.

Liz is a wonderful cook (try the lemon pancakes--seriously!). She will either bring the meal to the cottage if you want a more intimate or private meal, or you are free to join her and Evan in their house. They are very welcoming and accommodating. Out of all 5 places we stayed across New Zealand, this was our favorite.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Olivia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth C, Owner at Kamahi Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2016

Olivia, we loved having you to stay. All the very best for your lives together.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2016

We were in awe with the Kamahi Cottage and once we got there we knew that just one night wouldn’t be enough. We realized we were only leaving back to Rotorua (away from the cottage the next day) for a Polynesian spa and when it came down to either that or staying an extra night at the cottage we couldn’t choose the spa anymore. She arranged the extra night for us without a problem. Elisabeth’s food was incredibly delicious, her cottage felt so warm and welcoming, her small details like her freshly baked treats for us and information booklet were so appreciated, and simply what could have been enough - the property was beautiful. The views were breathtaking! Elisabeth welcomed us into her home and her garden and it was a truly special experience we will never forget! Would've loved to stay there even longer. I would highly highly recommend staying here if you ever have the opportunity.

Room Tip: The cottage is for one family of up to four, or one couple.
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Britt_Marie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth C, Owner at Kamahi Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2016

Thanks very much for your generous review. It was so great having you stay a second night.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews