We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Most Beautiful Escape!”
Review of Kamahi Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Otorohanga
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kamahi Cottage
Ranked #1 of 4 Otorohanga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
1 review
“The Most Beautiful Escape!”
Reviewed 29 October 2016

We were in awe with the Kamahi Cottage and once we got there we knew that just one night wouldn’t be enough. We realized we were only leaving back to Rotorua (away from the cottage the next day) for a Polynesian spa and when it came down to either that or staying an extra night at the cottage we couldn’t choose the spa anymore. She arranged the extra night for us without a problem. Elisabeth’s food was incredibly delicious, her cottage felt so warm and welcoming, her small details like her freshly baked treats for us and information booklet were so appreciated, and simply what could have been enough - the property was beautiful. The views were breathtaking! Elisabeth welcomed us into her home and her garden and it was a truly special experience we will never forget! Would've loved to stay there even longer. I would highly highly recommend staying here if you ever have the opportunity.

Room Tip: The cottage is for one family of up to four, or one couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Britt_Marie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth C, Owner at Kamahi Cottage, responded to this review, 31 October 2016
Thanks very much for your generous review. It was so great having you stay a second night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    4
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
39
145
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2016

Everything about this cottage, the main house, the gardens and beyond to the pastures speaks of impeccable attention to detail - right down to the home made plum schnapps! We would go back in a heat beat. Any future adventure to NZ will include a side trip to this cozy home away from home. Whether chatting with Liz about NZ, the world or politics or just curling up on the comfy couch with the cozy wool throw a book and a glass of wine this escape takes the prize.

Room Tip: The cottage provides a perfect escape for a couple
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth C, Owner at Kamahi Cottage, responded to this review, 26 October 2016
It was a real pleasure spending time with you both. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed at Kamahi for two nights and we really enjoyed our stay. The cottage is cozy and gives homey feeling. The view is amazing and the breakfast is delicious. Their hospitality is exceptional. Would definitely recommend this place for those visiting Otorohanga/Waitomo region.

Stayed September 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Yenly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth C, Owner at Kamahi Cottage, responded to this review, 28 September 2016
It was a pleasure to have you all to stay, Yenly. I hope you managed to see some sunshine on the rest of your NZ trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2016

We had a lovely night in the comfort of the secluded Kamahi Cottage. Liz has done a great job of thinking of all the finer details. The location is beautiful overlooking the rolling hills, and the freshly delivered breakfast was delicious, not to mention the chocolate treats awaiting us on arrival! We also really appreciated the complimentary bubbles to celebrate our honeymoon, very kind. ‎It's great to know the efforts the family have gone to to make the cottage as green/eco-friendly as possible too. Highly recommended for a comfortable and romantic getaway.

Green Features: Impressive green credentials and very informative article on plastic bottles.
  • Stayed September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth C, Owner at Kamahi Cottage, responded to this review, 27 September 2016
Thanks so much, Lucy. Have a wonderful life together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 June 2016

We had a wonderful two night stay at Kamahi Cottage a few weeks ago. My only regret is that we couldn't stay longer!
The bedding was clean and comfortable, the cottage is beautifully and comfortably appointed. We had baked treats and homemade lemonade waiting for us on arrival. The breakfasts were delicious and HUGE. I thought the offering of the free mini-bar was very generous and a nice option to have. Elisabeth was a very thoughtful and courteous host and was able to cater to my dietary requirements (gluten free) beautifully. We honestly wanted for nothing. Overall it was a really relaxing weekend getaway, and the only thing I would change for next time would be to extend my stay! If the option presents itself I will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth C, Owner at Kamahi Cottage, responded to this review, 29 June 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write. We really appreciate your feedback and are so pleased you were happy with your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otorohanga
17.6 km away
Woodlyn Park
Woodlyn Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
236 reviews
18.7 km away
Waitomo Caves Hotel
Waitomo Caves Hotel
#4 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
517 reviews
8.6 km away
Redwood Lodge
Redwood Lodge
#2 of 4 in Otorohanga
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 km away
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
#1 of 2 in Waitomo Caves
508 reviews
29.9 km away
Waitomo Boutique Lodge
Waitomo Boutique Lodge
#2 of 5 in Te Kuiti
58 reviews
12.2 km away
Glow Worm Motel
Glow Worm Motel
#2 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kamahi Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kamahi Cottage

Property: Kamahi Cottage
Address: 229 Barber Road, Rewarewa RD 5, Otorohanga 3975, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Otorohanga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Otorohanga
Price range (per night): $405 - $542
Hotel Class:5 star — Kamahi Cottage 5*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kamahi Cottage is a 5-Star country cottage, self-contained B&B and farm stay. It's just 30 minutes from the Waitomo glowworm caves, Black Water Rafting and "Lost World" adventures. The cottage is peaceful, private and romantic - set in a beautiful country garden with panoramic hilltop views. There is an upstairs queen bedroom, spacious downstairs bathroom, fully equipped kitchenette, plus stylish lounge and dining area. A comfortable queen sofa-sleeper is also available downstairs. (Max. 4 guests, children are very welcome). Rates include full gourmet breakfasts. Privately catered 2 & 3-course dinners are available by prior arrangement. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing