We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Most Beautiful Escape!”
Review of Kamahi Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kamahi Cottage
Ranked #1 of 4 Otorohanga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 29 October 2016

We were in awe with the Kamahi Cottage and once we got there we knew that just one night wouldn’t be enough. We realized we were only leaving back to Rotorua (away from the cottage the next day) for a Polynesian spa and when it came down to either that or staying an extra night at the cottage we couldn’t choose the spa anymore. She arranged the extra night for us without a problem. Elisabeth’s food was incredibly delicious, her cottage felt so warm and welcoming, her small details like her freshly baked treats for us and information booklet were so appreciated, and simply what could have been enough - the property was beautiful. The views were breathtaking! Elisabeth welcomed us into her home and her garden and it was a truly special experience we will never forget! Would've loved to stay there even longer. I would highly highly recommend staying here if you ever have the opportunity.

Room Tip: The cottage is for one family of up to four, or one couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Britt_Marie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth C, Owner at Kamahi Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2016

Thanks very much for your generous review. It was so great having you stay a second night.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2016

Everything about this cottage, the main house, the gardens and beyond to the pastures speaks of impeccable attention to detail - right down to the home made plum schnapps! We would go back in a heat beat. Any future adventure to NZ will include a side trip to this cozy home away from home. Whether chatting with Liz about NZ, the world or politics or just curling up on the comfy couch with the cozy wool throw a book and a glass of wine this escape takes the prize.

Room Tip: The cottage provides a perfect escape for a couple
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth C, Owner at Kamahi Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2016

It was a real pleasure spending time with you both. Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed at Kamahi for two nights and we really enjoyed our stay. The cottage is cozy and gives homey feeling. The view is amazing and the breakfast is delicious. Their hospitality is exceptional. Would definitely recommend this place for those visiting Otorohanga/Waitomo region.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Yenly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth C, Owner at Kamahi Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2016

It was a pleasure to have you all to stay, Yenly. I hope you managed to see some sunshine on the rest of your NZ trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2016

We had a lovely night in the comfort of the secluded Kamahi Cottage. Liz has done a great job of thinking of all the finer details. The location is beautiful overlooking the rolling hills, and the freshly delivered breakfast was delicious, not to mention the chocolate treats awaiting us on arrival! We also really appreciated the complimentary bubbles to celebrate our honeymoon, very kind. ‎It's great to know the efforts the family have gone to to make the cottage as green/eco-friendly as possible too. Highly recommended for a comfortable and romantic getaway.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth C, Owner at Kamahi Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2016

Thanks so much, Lucy. Have a wonderful life together.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2016

We had a wonderful two night stay at Kamahi Cottage a few weeks ago. My only regret is that we couldn't stay longer!
The bedding was clean and comfortable, the cottage is beautifully and comfortably appointed. We had baked treats and homemade lemonade waiting for us on arrival. The breakfasts were delicious and HUGE. I thought the offering of the free mini-bar was very generous and a nice option to have. Elisabeth was a very thoughtful and courteous host and was able to cater to my dietary requirements (gluten free) beautifully. We honestly wanted for nothing. Overall it was a really relaxing weekend getaway, and the only thing I would change for next time would be to extend my stay! If the option presents itself I will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth C, Owner at Kamahi Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write. We really appreciate your feedback and are so pleased you were happy with your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otorohanga
17.6 km away
Woodlyn Park
Woodlyn Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
249 reviews
18.7 km away
Waitomo Caves Hotel
Waitomo Caves Hotel
#4 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
537 reviews
8.6 km away
Redwood Lodge
Redwood Lodge
#2 of 4 in Otorohanga
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 km away
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
#1 of 2 in Waitomo Caves
522 reviews
29.9 km away
Waitomo Boutique Lodge
Waitomo Boutique Lodge
#2 of 5 in Te Kuiti
63 reviews
12.2 km away
Glow Worm Motel
Glow Worm Motel
#2 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kamahi Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kamahi Cottage

Address: 229 Barber Road, Rewarewa RD 5, Otorohanga 3975, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Otorohanga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Otorohanga
Price Range: $418 - $560 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kamahi Cottage 5*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kamahi Cottage is a 5-Star country cottage, self-contained B&B and farm stay. It's just 30 minutes from the Waitomo glowworm caves, Black Water Rafting and "Lost World" adventures. The cottage is peaceful, private and romantic - set in a beautiful country garden with panoramic hilltop views. There is an upstairs queen bedroom, spacious downstairs bathroom, fully equipped kitchenette, plus stylish lounge and dining area. A comfortable queen sofa-sleeper is also available downstairs. (Max. 4 guests, children are very welcome). Rates include full gourmet breakfasts. Privately catered 2 & 3-course dinners are available by prior arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Kamahi Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing