We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kamahi Cottage
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glow Worm Motel(Waitomo Caves)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Caves Motor Inn(Waitomo Caves)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Tapanui Country Home(North Island)
View Hotel
Woodlyn Park(Waitomo Caves)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
Kiwi Paka(Waitomo Caves)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Waitomo Caves Hotel(Waitomo Caves)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rosetown Motel(Te Awamutu)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Lodge Motel(Te Awamutu)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (238)
Filter reviews
238 results
Traveller rating
232
5
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
232
5
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnew zealandour honeymoonone nightrolling hillswaitomo cavesthe main househammock chairsheaven on earthfront porchgracious hostssouth islandlemon treemagical placeloft bedroomcomforts of homeplum schnappswarm hospitality
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 238 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2015

This bed and breakfast is phenomenal. It started our trip in the North Island, and made it that much more amazing. Liz is amazing, her cooking is amazing, the view from the cottage when you wake up in the morning is *breathtaking*. Liz gave us some extremely valuable recommendations for the day, which led us to exploring some fantastic areas just west of the area. Absolutely LOVED this part of our stay in NZ. Just staying in the Kamahi Cottage made my time in Otorohanga and Waitomo part of my top 3 favorite experiences in all of New Zealand.

While expensive, I think it's more than worth it (and I am a cheapskate!). It gives you a wonderful look into the real life (even though it is fairy-tale-esque) of a New Zealander.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leetehlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth C, Owner at Kamahi Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2015

Thank you for your lovely comments. We're really glad you enjoyed our part of New Zealand...there are a lot of special places to visit that are real "hidden gems".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2015

Our stay at Kamahi Cottage was absolutely wonderful. Elizabeth was extremely hospitable and went out of her way to make sure we were taken care of. She is an incredible cook, very friendly, and a joy to talk to. The facilities were clean and well kept.The farm is beautiful and peaceful. This was a perfect night's stay for our honeymoon and we are seriously considering a return trip in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth C, Owner at Kamahi Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2015

Thanks so much, Thomas. Alll the best for your life together and good luck with your amazing business venture!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2015

Kamahi Cottage is not cheap but is worth every pound, yen or dollar you pay. If you are visiting that part of the world take the opportunity to stay, even if just for one night, like myself and my wife.
The cottage and its setting are both very pretty. Everything in and around the cottage is of a very high standard, from luxuriously soft bath robes and high quality toiletries to motion sensor lights on the stairs to light your way in the dark.
A free mini bar was supplied as well as a spectacularly clear night sky with the milky way in full view ( though I don't think our hosts can claim full credit for that ).
The meals supplied by Liz, our host, were simply delicious but the best part was the hosts themselves and I wish we could have spent more time in their friendly , informative and charming company.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrJohnG1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth C, Owner at Kamahi Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2015

Thank you, John. Loved chatting with you both and so glad you had a clear night to view the stars.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2015

Staying here was the highlight of the North Island for us. Liz is such a warm and gracious host, and waking up on that beautiful farm (we arrived late at night, which Liz was very accommodating about, so we didn't know what our surroundings were until we woke up the next day) was like waking up in a Disney movie. The beautiful views are spectacular! The property is beyond lovely, and at one point their cat was chasing butterflies through the garden...it didn't even feel real.

The home-cooked breakfast was mouth-wateringly delicious, and Liz had some wonderful recommendations for activities that day before we went to the Waitomo Glowworm caves, and also made dinner reservations for us that night. The cottage is quaint and very comfortable. They have wifi at the main house, not in the cottage, so you do either have to go outside and take a few steps into the garden, or they are very welcoming about coming into their home to use the wifi if you want to sit in their lovely living room with more spectacular views. :p

Our trip couldn't have been better, thanks to Liz and the wonderful Kamahi cottage. We will be recommending this place to everyone for years to come!

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Squirrel_Patrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth C, Owner at Kamahi Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2015

Thanks so much! I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and our Waitomo & Otorohanga area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2015

After a stressful day of driving on the left hand side of the road for the first time, words cannot express how wonderful it was to drive up to the cottage and realize that we were in the midst of a soothing garden with a most gracious host in Liz. The view was spectacular, the variety and color of the plants was intriguing, and the many birds calls added to the sense that we had arrived in paradise. Our bed was situated allowing us to look at the stars in a clear night sky. Liz’s famous breakfasts exceeded their reputation, as did her advice and knowledge of all things Kiwi. We would be remiss not to recommend Kamahi Cottage to friends and relatives travelling to NZ.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank WG15110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth C, Manager at Kamahi Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2015

Thank you! So glad the left-hand driving didn't deter you from reaching us...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews