We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hideaway with excellent food and baking!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kamahi Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Otorohanga
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kamahi Cottage
Ranked #1 of 4 Otorohanga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful hideaway with excellent food and baking!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2015

We came to Kamahi Cottage with 2 young children.

We were greeted on arrival with fresh baking and a warm welcome. Not that we'd travelled far to get there (only from Hamilton) but it was still a warm welcome and one that made us feel completely at ease.

The cottage looks out over rolling farm scape which in the evening is drenched in the most glorious sunset. In the morning, it's misty and romantic.

The cottage was warm and will alll the amenities you'd hope for and more. Fresh ground coffee, a free mini bar, a well stocked wine fridge, and daily baking by the lovely Liz which is worth travelling for (lucky you if you get the lemon cake!).

We opted to have dinner prepard for us by Liz on the Friday night as with the two little ones we figured unpacking and then driving 15km to the local tavern or restaurant would be a pain in the you know what. It was certainly the right choice.

Liz prepared us a delicious 3 course dinner which was just as enjoyable for us grown ups as it was for the little ones who had their own mini-servings (a very much appreciated touch, thank you Liz).

In terms of location, Kamahi is a short drive to the Kiwi House and Waitomo Caves and all the activities that the region is famous for.

The cottage is just delightful, Liz's food and baking is divine, the location is so quiet that nothing (unless you have kids) is going to wake you up early.

Oh and the breakfasts were incredible! For me, the breakfasts were the stand out of the weekend: you HAVE to try the bacon and egg breakfast as well as the home made granola.

Room Tip: Cottage is perfect for romantic retreat or family of 4.
See more room tips
Green Features: Eco-friendly practices with home made everything and locally sourced everything.
  • Stayed July 2015, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CommsGirl16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth C, Owner at Kamahi Cottage, responded to this review, 9 September 2015
We loved having you all to stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    4
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
38
143
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2015

This bed and breakfast is phenomenal. It started our trip in the North Island, and made it that much more amazing. Liz is amazing, her cooking is amazing, the view from the cottage when you wake up in the morning is *breathtaking*. Liz gave us some extremely valuable recommendations for the day, which led us to exploring some fantastic areas just west of the area. Absolutely LOVED this part of our stay in NZ. Just staying in the Kamahi Cottage made my time in Otorohanga and Waitomo part of my top 3 favorite experiences in all of New Zealand.

While expensive, I think it's more than worth it (and I am a cheapskate!). It gives you a wonderful look into the real life (even though it is fairy-tale-esque) of a New Zealander.

  • Stayed April 2015, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leetehlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth C, Owner at Kamahi Cottage, responded to this review, 18 June 2015
Thank you for your lovely comments. We're really glad you enjoyed our part of New Zealand...there are a lot of special places to visit that are real "hidden gems".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northport, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2015

Our stay at Kamahi Cottage was absolutely wonderful. Elizabeth was extremely hospitable and went out of her way to make sure we were taken care of. She is an incredible cook, very friendly, and a joy to talk to. The facilities were clean and well kept.The farm is beautiful and peaceful. This was a perfect night's stay for our honeymoon and we are seriously considering a return trip in the future.

  • Stayed May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth C, Owner at Kamahi Cottage, responded to this review, 19 May 2015
Thanks so much, Thomas. Alll the best for your life together and good luck with your amazing business venture!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broxburn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2015

Kamahi Cottage is not cheap but is worth every pound, yen or dollar you pay. If you are visiting that part of the world take the opportunity to stay, even if just for one night, like myself and my wife.
The cottage and its setting are both very pretty. Everything in and around the cottage is of a very high standard, from luxuriously soft bath robes and high quality toiletries to motion sensor lights on the stairs to light your way in the dark.
A free mini bar was supplied as well as a spectacularly clear night sky with the milky way in full view ( though I don't think our hosts can claim full credit for that ).
The meals supplied by Liz, our host, were simply delicious but the best part was the hosts themselves and I wish we could have spent more time in their friendly , informative and charming company.

  • Stayed April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrJohnG1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth C, Owner at Kamahi Cottage, responded to this review, 1 May 2015
Thank you, John. Loved chatting with you both and so glad you had a clear night to view the stars.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2015

Staying here was the highlight of the North Island for us. Liz is such a warm and gracious host, and waking up on that beautiful farm (we arrived late at night, which Liz was very accommodating about, so we didn't know what our surroundings were until we woke up the next day) was like waking up in a Disney movie. The beautiful views are spectacular! The property is beyond lovely, and at one point their cat was chasing butterflies through the garden...it didn't even feel real.

The home-cooked breakfast was mouth-wateringly delicious, and Liz had some wonderful recommendations for activities that day before we went to the Waitomo Glowworm caves, and also made dinner reservations for us that night. The cottage is quaint and very comfortable. They have wifi at the main house, not in the cottage, so you do either have to go outside and take a few steps into the garden, or they are very welcoming about coming into their home to use the wifi if you want to sit in their lovely living room with more spectacular views. :p

Our trip couldn't have been better, thanks to Liz and the wonderful Kamahi cottage. We will be recommending this place to everyone for years to come!

  • Stayed April 2015, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Squirrel_Patrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth C, Owner at Kamahi Cottage, responded to this review, 29 April 2015
Thanks so much! I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and our Waitomo & Otorohanga area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otorohanga
19.4 km away
Waitomo Caves Hotel
Waitomo Caves Hotel
#4 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
3.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
8.7 km away
Redwood Lodge
Redwood Lodge
#2 of 4 in Otorohanga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
11.3 km away
Otorohanga and Waitomo Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 km away
Waitomo Lodge
Waitomo Lodge
#1 of 3 in Te Kuiti
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
18.4 km away
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
29.9 km away
Waitomo Boutique Lodge
Waitomo Boutique Lodge
#2 of 5 in Te Kuiti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kamahi Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kamahi Cottage

Property: Kamahi Cottage
Address: 229 Barber Road, Rewarewa RD 5, Otorohanga 3975, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Otorohanga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Otorohanga
Price range (per night): $420 - $563
Hotel Class:5 star — Kamahi Cottage 5*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kamahi Cottage is a 5-Star country cottage, self-contained B&B and farm stay. It's just 30 minutes from the Waitomo glowworm caves, Black Water Rafting and "Lost World" adventures. The cottage is peaceful, private and romantic - set in a beautiful country garden with panoramic hilltop views. There is an upstairs queen bedroom, spacious downstairs bathroom, fully equipped kitchenette, plus stylish lounge and dining area. A comfortable queen sofa-sleeper is also available downstairs. (Max. 4 guests, children are very welcome). Rates include full gourmet breakfasts. Privately catered 2 & 3-course dinners are available by prior arrangement. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing