We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kamahi Cottage
Nearby Hotels
Otorohanga and Waitomo Motels(Otorohanga)(Great Value!)
US$89
US$80
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glow Worm Motel(Waitomo Caves)(Great Value!)
US$79
US$76
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Caves Motor Inn(Waitomo Caves)
US$93
US$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Woodlyn Park(Waitomo Caves)
US$129
US$125
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Kiwi Paka(Waitomo Caves)
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Waitomo Caves Hotel(Waitomo Caves)
US$81
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rosetown Motel(Te Awamutu)(Great Value!)
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Lodge Motel(Te Awamutu)
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$250
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (238)
Filter reviews
238 results
Traveller rating
232
5
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
232
5
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnew zealandour honeymoonone nightrolling hillswaitomo cavesthe main househammock chairsheaven on earthfront porchgracious hostssouth islandlemon treemagical placeloft bedroomcomforts of homeplum schnappswarm hospitality
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 238 reviews
Reviewed 24 December 2014 via mobile

Liz of Kamahi Cottage was the perfect host who thoughtfully furnished the cosy cottage with all that we can possibly require.

We were so delighted with our stay that we really didn't wish to leave. the location was surrounded by mature trees and Liz's garden was a breathtaking kaleidiscope of colours and aromas from the multitude of blooming flowers, fruits and herb patch. Liz is a whiz in the kitchen. Upon checking in on a wet spring evening, we were ushered into a warm room and welcomed by a jar of fresh, home made cookies.

At night, the sky transforms into a shimmering blanket of brilliant stars.

When it comes to food, I'm pretty sure there's nothing lLz can't cook. Even the jams served at breakfast with our starter of toast and fruits were all cooked by her. We had pancakes and waffles ... Delicious. Liz was generous and forthcoming in sharing her knowledge of anything and everything under the sun. We traded recipes and promised to stay in touch.

For city dwellers like me, Kamahi Cottage was absolute paradise.

With amazing Kiwis like Liz here in beautiful New Zealand, I would seriously consider migrating to NZ in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnaTanCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth C, Owner at Kamahi Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2014

I do hope we see you back in New Zealand. I really want to share those wonderful recipes of yours. Perhaps we'll meet in Singapore next!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2014

I don't know where to begin. The beauty of the property and the beauty of the owners really can't be surpassed. Because there is only one cottage, Liz and Evan devote themselves to making you feel welcomed, but not obtrusively. The property consists of a botanical garden and threading pasture lands over 1,000 acres, dotted with sheep and cows, flowing hills and dales, rimmed by mountains. Every detail of the cottage has been carefully considered, both esthetically, intelligently, and functionally. And Liz can really cook and presents the food optimally beautifully.
We spent two weeks in NZ, and no bed and breakfast could hold a candle to this one.
It's quiet and gloriously soul soothing.

Room Tip: There is a loft bedroom, so you need to be able to climb up the stairs. Below is a fold out whiter leather couch, and I noted some people brought their youngish children and were pleased with the accommodations. Personally, I think it's most perfect for a couple. Truly, we could not have been more pleased with every aspect of our stay here. And NZ is the most beautiful place on earth.
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank nancyoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth C, Owner at Kamahi Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2014

It was a real pleasure to have you stay. I'm really looking forward to seeing your new art works - hopefully you found the "sheep portrait" of your dreams in NZ!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2014

Kamahi Cottage is beautifully romantic scenic stay. Your host Liz will prepare meals if requested with all fresh ingredients. This is a single unit cottage located a magnificently landscaped property over looking Otorohanga. Do not miss this experience!

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth C, Owner at Kamahi Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2014

Thank you very much for your generous recommendation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2014

We breezed in on a late spring afternoon to the relaxing reverie of a cottage called Kamahi. Immediately we felt at ease and comfortable in the gardens, the rolling hills and the farm setting. We were warmly greeted by our host Evan and a plate of freshly baked biscuits. We were spoilt for choice at breakfast with Liz only too happy to oblige our culinary wishes. Dinner took us to another level with our hostess delivering a delicious meal to the cottage.

The cottage is very neatly presented and cleverly comfortable. We loved the big warm towels, the hidden kitchenette, the view to die for and the established gardens. It would be safe to say that we felt very much at home in the care of Liz and Evan and when we left, it felt like they were family.

Anita, Mike and Tobias

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth C, Owner at Kamahi Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2014

It was a pleasure to get to know your family.
Anita, any time you have a recipe to share, I'm your girl!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2014

The charming and unassuming Kamahi Cottage is situated in a farm about 3-hour drive from Auckland. It is approximately 25 - 30 minutes away from from the world famous Waitomo Glow worm Cave, Ruakuri Caves and Otorohanga Kiwi House.

We arrive late afternoon and was warmly welcomed by the owner, Liz who showed us the cottage we will call home for the next 2 days. Our romantic late lunch/early dinner for the first night which was delivered to the cottage was absolutely great.

The luxurious cottage is situated amid the beautiful gardens. It is well appointed and nicely decorated, peaceful and very clean, The lounge and dining area is very nice and spacious equipped with TV, Sound system, reading materials and of course for those who can not live without the use of latest technology, free WIFI is available. It also has a fully equipped kitchenette with complimentary tea, coffee, and my favorite, the home baked goodies. There is also a hammock on the verandah where you can just sit & relax and enjoy a restful afternoon after a long day of sightseeng. Also included in the stay is the delicious gourmet breakfast.

The bedroom is in the loft , has panoramic view of lovely rolling hills. It is cozy and very comfortable.

The bathroom is nice and spacious with nice large and soft towels. And has all the complimentary toiletries you will need.

Liz's gourmet home cooked meals are absolutely great. You have a choice of dining in the cottage or join Liz and Evan in their home which we did on our last night for dinner and had a totally wonderful dining experience.

We cannot say enough how wonderful this place is and given the chance we would love to come back and have the lovely experience all over again.

Stuart & Nanette
Fountain Hills, AZ, USA

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank racoonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth C, Owner at Kamahi Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2014

How lovely to hear from you, Nanette & Stuart. I hope your travels after leaving us were wonderful.
Thank you so much for your kind feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews