We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect overnight stay”
Review of Kamahi Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Otorohanga
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kamahi Cottage
Ranked #1 of 4 Otorohanga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect overnight stay”
Reviewed 7 January 2015

Beautifully clean and well equipped cottage in an awe-inspiring setting. Excellent food home cooked and baked by the hostess. Charming friendly couple made us feel at home.
There is a wide choice of dvd's and cd's to keep you entertained in the evenings.

Room Tip: It is a self-contained country cottage in a rural setting with fabulous views . Mezzanine floor with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christiansT1457TF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth C, Owner at Kamahi Cottage, responded to this review, 21 January 2015
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    4
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
39
145
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2014 via mobile

Liz of Kamahi Cottage was the perfect host who thoughtfully furnished the cosy cottage with all that we can possibly require.

We were so delighted with our stay that we really didn't wish to leave. the location was surrounded by mature trees and Liz's garden was a breathtaking kaleidiscope of colours and aromas from the multitude of blooming flowers, fruits and herb patch. Liz is a whiz in the kitchen. Upon checking in on a wet spring evening, we were ushered into a warm room and welcomed by a jar of fresh, home made cookies.

At night, the sky transforms into a shimmering blanket of brilliant stars.

When it comes to food, I'm pretty sure there's nothing lLz can't cook. Even the jams served at breakfast with our starter of toast and fruits were all cooked by her. We had pancakes and waffles ... Delicious. Liz was generous and forthcoming in sharing her knowledge of anything and everything under the sun. We traded recipes and promised to stay in touch.

For city dwellers like me, Kamahi Cottage was absolute paradise.

With amazing Kiwis like Liz here in beautiful New Zealand, I would seriously consider migrating to NZ in the future.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaTanCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth C, Owner at Kamahi Cottage, responded to this review, 30 December 2014
I do hope we see you back in New Zealand. I really want to share those wonderful recipes of yours. Perhaps we'll meet in Singapore next!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 23 December 2014

I don't know where to begin. The beauty of the property and the beauty of the owners really can't be surpassed. Because there is only one cottage, Liz and Evan devote themselves to making you feel welcomed, but not obtrusively. The property consists of a botanical garden and threading pasture lands over 1,000 acres, dotted with sheep and cows, flowing hills and dales, rimmed by mountains. Every detail of the cottage has been carefully considered, both esthetically, intelligently, and functionally. And Liz can really cook and presents the food optimally beautifully.
We spent two weeks in NZ, and no bed and breakfast could hold a candle to this one.
It's quiet and gloriously soul soothing.

Room Tip: There is a loft bedroom, so you need to be able to climb up the stairs. Below is a fold out whiter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nancyoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth C, Owner at Kamahi Cottage, responded to this review, 30 December 2014
It was a real pleasure to have you stay. I'm really looking forward to seeing your new art works - hopefully you found the "sheep portrait" of your dreams in NZ!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2014

Kamahi Cottage is beautifully romantic scenic stay. Your host Liz will prepare meals if requested with all fresh ingredients. This is a single unit cottage located a magnificently landscaped property over looking Otorohanga. Do not miss this experience!

  • Stayed October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth C, Owner at Kamahi Cottage, responded to this review, 23 October 2014
Thank you very much for your generous recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2014

We breezed in on a late spring afternoon to the relaxing reverie of a cottage called Kamahi. Immediately we felt at ease and comfortable in the gardens, the rolling hills and the farm setting. We were warmly greeted by our host Evan and a plate of freshly baked biscuits. We were spoilt for choice at breakfast with Liz only too happy to oblige our culinary wishes. Dinner took us to another level with our hostess delivering a delicious meal to the cottage.

The cottage is very neatly presented and cleverly comfortable. We loved the big warm towels, the hidden kitchenette, the view to die for and the established gardens. It would be safe to say that we felt very much at home in the care of Liz and Evan and when we left, it felt like they were family.

Anita, Mike and Tobias

  • Stayed September 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth C, Owner at Kamahi Cottage, responded to this review, 18 October 2014
It was a pleasure to get to know your family.
Anita, any time you have a recipe to share, I'm your girl!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otorohanga
17.6 km away
Woodlyn Park
Woodlyn Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
18.7 km away
Waitomo Caves Hotel
Waitomo Caves Hotel
#4 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
3.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
8.6 km away
Redwood Lodge
Redwood Lodge
#2 of 4 in Otorohanga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 km away
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
#1 of 2 in Waitomo Caves
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
11.2 km away
Otorohanga and Waitomo Motels
29.9 km away
Waitomo Boutique Lodge
Waitomo Boutique Lodge
#2 of 5 in Te Kuiti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kamahi Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kamahi Cottage

Property: Kamahi Cottage
Address: 229 Barber Road, Rewarewa RD 5, Otorohanga 3975, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Otorohanga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Otorohanga
Price range (per night): $420 - $563
Hotel Class:5 star — Kamahi Cottage 5*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kamahi Cottage is a 5-Star country cottage, self-contained B&B and farm stay. It's just 30 minutes from the Waitomo glowworm caves, Black Water Rafting and "Lost World" adventures. The cottage is peaceful, private and romantic - set in a beautiful country garden with panoramic hilltop views. There is an upstairs queen bedroom, spacious downstairs bathroom, fully equipped kitchenette, plus stylish lounge and dining area. A comfortable queen sofa-sleeper is also available downstairs. (Max. 4 guests, children are very welcome). Rates include full gourmet breakfasts. Privately catered 2 & 3-course dinners are available by prior arrangement. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing