We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Destinia.com
StayForLong
Expedia.com
Travelocity
View all 7 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (175)
Filter reviews
175 results
Traveller rating
111
50
11
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
111
50
11
1
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 175 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2017 via mobile

Super friendly and helpful family run this working farm lodge. It was abut rainy, so we didn't really see the grounds but there are interesting metal art pieces around the house. Rooms are good with decent wifi. The bed was a bit soft to my liking but that's ok, sometime you win and sometimes you lose in the ole bed roulette when you travel.

But, what is undersold is the fantastic breakfast offered by the family to get your day of hiking and spelunking going. French Press coffee, tea, juice, cereals, pancakes, French toast, NZ breakfast, omelletes, NZ breakfast stack, Omelets! It's hard to choose and it is all great. Kudos to the chef, I'm assuming it's a team effort of the family. Anyway great one night stay in the middle of farm country!

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank ChuckandJessica
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedwoodLodge, Owner at Redwood Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2017

Thanks so much for your lovely review. Yes it is hard to try and get a bed that suits everyone. So glad you enjoyed a hearty breakfast to start your day. Safe travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2017

We booked this place as it was close to the Waitomo Caves but didn't consider how far it would be to restaurants for food. It is a clean place and the rooms are spacious and the breakfast was good. The owner is friendly.

Room tip: nice place but rather dated.
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SandraF1149
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedwoodLodge, Owner at Redwood Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2017

Thank you for your review. We receive many comments on how good our breakfast is as well as the cleanliness of the place and I thank your for your positive comments as well.

I hope you enjoyed the Waitomo Caves and the rest of your travels is going well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2017

What a lovely b&b!
It was the second place we stayed in our 3 week long road trip across the country. We must of stayed in 10 different hotels and i can honestly say this was my favorite!
We arrived a bit early and was greeted by Julies mum and her daughter, who swiftly showed us around the property and got us all settled in!
We thoroughly enjoyed the hot tub and pool, spending a whole evening outside undisturbed! We finished the evening sat outside where Julie came and had a nice long chat with us. She's super friendly and answered so many dumb questions we had about the country. We learnt a lot from her in that one night we stayed!
She even showed us some possums, which i wasn't expecting to see at all!

The beds were super comfy, slept like a dream. It's so quiet there, perfect after staying in Auckland the evening before! Our bathroom was very clean and tidy, nice powerful shower too! There was free wifi too which was fantastic for us!
Breakfast was absolutely delicious, Julie is an incredible cook! Michelin star quality food i'd say!

It's a perfect place to stay if you're visiting the Glowworm caves or Hobbiton Movie set! I'd definitely visit again if i went back to NZ!

Room tip: Fantastic Hotel For Gloworm Caves/Hobbiton, AMAZING BREAKFAST!
Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kerri F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedwoodLodge, Owner at Redwood Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2017

Thanks so much for your wonderful review, so glad you enjoyed our tranquil lil piece of paradise, we love it here and so glad to hear you did too. Safe travels and do come and see us if you are ever back again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

Disappointed to have only stayed 1 night!! Really lovely host, nice comfortable room, breakfast menu was vast and pancakes were delicious. Lounge packed with family activities and we enjoyed the pool and spa pool too. Thank you!

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank EleanorR1618
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedwoodLodge, Owner at Redwood Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2017

Thanks so much for your lovely review. Glad you were able to enjoy the pool and spa :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2017

If you're the type of traveller who appreciates peace and quiet then this is the accommodation for you. Small property with only 4 rooms. Very nice surroundings, flowering plants, birds singing and a very friendly cat who likes to come to visit. Our room was nice, large and full of light. Very nice decor, comfortable bed, crispy linen, luxurious towels, bathrobes, home made biscuits are just some of the highlights of this gorgeous property. Large and modern bathroom with plenty of small luxuries like soaps, shower gel, shower cap, tissues, body moisturiser to name a few. Included in our rate was home cooked, freshly prepared breakfast, including continental variety. Even croissants were freshly baked by the very friendly host Joelene who is also a great cook. It was a shame we could only enjoy this property for one night but we are positive we're going to come back here again for a bit longer. The only little "complaint" would be that walls are very thin and we could hear people talking quite late at night in the room above us. Also I need to mention that this property is quite isolated and about 10-15 minutes (with a car) away from the town so you need to plan for that if you're interested to stay here.

Date of stay: January 2017
Thank Maja1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews