We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect and quiet”
other travellers have booked this property
Afternoon sun looking towards Coromandel peninsula.Mount Kakepuku in foreground.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Afternoon sun looking towards Coromandel peninsula.Mount Kakepuku in foreground.
Beautiful night skies. Sunrise over Tongariro National Park.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
Afternoon sun looking towards Coromandel peninsula.Mount Kakepuku in foreground.
Beautiful night skies.
Sunrise over Tongariro National Park.
Go to sleep to the crackling of a nice fire on a cold winter's night.
Queen bed in main area and two singles in open loft above.
Kitchen area with full size gas oven, gas bbq also for use on balcony.
Inside outside flow with french doors opening onto balcony.
Queen bed in main area.
Two single beds in open loft above main area.
Ensuite with bath,shower and washing machine.
Entrance to Rock Retreat.
Sunset arrival
Southern Skies
moody skies
Rustic charm.
Nestled in amongst native bush.
Hot Summer days at Rock Retreat.
Afternoon sun looking towards Mt Kakepuku and Maungatautari.
Sunsetting over the Hauturu hills.
Early morning wake up.Sunrise over Tongariro National Park.
Rocky sunsets.
Misty mountains below Mt Hauturu.
Nikau palm grove with Rock Retreat.
Limestone rock outcrops.Just a few of many that can be explored at Rock Retreat.
Beautiful walking tracks right at your doorstep.
Typical views from Rock Retreat.
Meet our black faced suffolk sheep.
Tongariro national park and Mt Doom!
Stubbs farm QEII covenant right on your doorstep.
Put your walking shoes on and enjoy.
Sunset over Tongariro National park
Sunrise.
Rock Retreat.
Sunrise over the rocks
Rocky limestone outcrops.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Waitomo Caves, Waitomo District, Waikato Region, North Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Reaggan
Dallas, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfect and quiet”
Reviewed 12 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Love this place! It was a nice change and super cute place to stay. Room and area are so quiet and it was a nice relaxing change of pace. I highly recommend staying here (if you don't mind having no internet)! Thanks again

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Mar 2017
Thanks for choosing Rock retreat as part of your Waitomo experience. It was lovely having you stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EricMToro...
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
181 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Eco-friendly retreat”
Reviewed 20 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

It is a nice cottage, 10mn drive from Waitomo. Unfortunately, we did not have hot water but the owner offered us alternative. The breakfast is basic but homemade. There is no wifi but we stayed only one night.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Feb 2017
Hi Eric,The first time in 12yrs the gas califont has decided not to go.So we couldn't apologise more for the lack of hot water and indeed unfortunate timing.However we did offer showers at our own home,a discount for the night or alternate accommodation.We do like to stay away from the idea if WiFi,so people can disconnect with the world for the night.There are plenty of options for WiFi in Waitomo village and we are more than happy to make any bookings for people.Thanks again for choosing to stay at Rock Retreat during your stay in Waitomo.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham A
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“We loved it !”
Reviewed 15 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

A perfect 1 night stay . Wonderful views, a property full of character. Wonderful host. Super breakfast provisions. Would be good to have some comfy seating for the deck. A quirky place to relax and look at the stars

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris S
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great location but don't expect luxury accomodation”
Reviewed 8 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017

This was certainly the quirkiest place we stayed in Australia and New Zealand. The room itself was fine and well up to standard but the kitchen and bathroom were fairly 'basic'. Nice to know it was all so eco-friendly: solar power, its own spring for water etc. We had poor weather, sadly, so didn't really get the best of views. It's a long way to the nearest supermarket (half an hour) so worth stocking up on basics on the way.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doctora G
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 2 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Close to everything yet a feeling of being in a remote area. Lovely to go back in the evening and see the sunset over the family farm. They have 100 years of experience in the area as well as having walks on the farm to enjoy. Love the dog and the cat as well as the two little girls. Great getaway. Suggest min. Of 3 days to do everything. Can also have massages on site!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Feb 2017
Thanks again for choosing Rock retreat to relax and spend time in Waitomo.It was lovely meeting you both.Safe travels.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing