We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Tumu Tumu Tubing

Great day doing the tubing. Few tight squeezes but they are brief so doable! Amazing caverns with... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
1980cmk
,
Manukau, New Zealand
via mobile
Awesome

Wow what an amazing adventure we had yesterday - absolutely loved it. The 100m freefall absail... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
LorraineBrennan
Read all 1,540 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Waitomo Caves
from US$109.26
More Info
from US$115.82
More Info
from US$40.06
More Info
from US$57.55
More Info
Reviews (1,540)
Filter reviews
1,540 results
Traveller rating
1,436
80
12
6
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,436
80
12
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lost world haggas honking holes hour epic ladder climb tumu tumu toobing new zealand glow worms hour tour fear of heights free photos an adventure amazing experience great adventure comfort zone felt safe great pictures thanks guys
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
115 - 120 of 1,540 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2019 via mobile

Me and my husband decided after long thinking to do the Haggas Honking Holes and it was the best decision! We were lucky enough to do it in early spring off season and we were surprised we were the only ones doing this caving in the afternoon. So we got a private tour with two great guides - Shawna and Deni! We had a lot of fun and the tour was exciting! It was a challenging, so exactly what we wanted! We did 4 abseils and 2 rock climbing (one was quite easy and mandatory, the other one you could have gone around on a ladder) and some crawling. The Waitomo Adventures are very professional, the gear is good, organization without any problems and safety first. I can really recomend Haggas Honking Holes and Waitomo Adventure!

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank lucieo662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2019

I read every review before booking the Lost World Tour... so what to wear? Really any pants you are comfortable in that don’t tug anywhere- you will wear a jumpsuit they give you over your clothes- socks should go over your ankles so they don’t slide down in the boots they give you to wear. Everything else stays in a locker they provide. It is not so cold inside the cave plus you are always walking. What to expect? We were so lucky to have TJ- such a professional, safety conscious, and fun guide for the four of us. I was scared at first on the platform (I’m terrified of heights) but he was patient and honestly it was not bad at all! Actually so beautiful! Don’t hesitate in booking this unique adventure and making incredible memories!

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Monicastips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2019

I did the four-hour Lost World tour, and it was amazing! The abseil is just the beginning of an incredible subterranean adventure which includes incredible geological formations, glowworms, and breathtaking views. The guides were fun, funny, knowledgeable and made you feel safe and comfortable. Cannot recommend this enough. Thanks for a great afternoon and for the beautiful photos!

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank fautaaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2019

I’ve been to nearly 40 countries and this is my most favourite experience I’ve done to date!
Thanks so much!

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Dakattack24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2019 via mobile

We had a really great day at the cave and the cave was absolutelty beautiful - a must-see in Waitomo. We did the 7 hours Lost World Tour. In fact, the tour/cave time was „only“ three to four hours, which was enough though. Our highlight was the 100m abseiling, which was definitely something to remember.
It was fairly cold in the cave, especially with your feet being in the water all the time. You do get a wetsuit, but you are only wearing wellington boots, which leave you with cold feet the whole tour.
First we‘ve been quite disappointed by the fact that you are not allowed to bring your own camera equipment. But the pictures the guides took turned out to be quite nice and you still get some lasting memories in the end.
The lunch was okay and the dinner was really good. Generally speaking, the guides were kind and keen on security, but sometimes you had the feeling that they were not that motivated doing the cave tour over again. This is quite diappointing, considering the tour was by far the most expensive one we did on our vacation. All in all, I‘d recommend the tour for everybody who is quite adventurous and does not mind some walking and cold feet! :)

Date of experience: September 2019
3  Thank laurkthz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews