We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Floatation Pods

What an experience, from the check in at the day spa to the great explanation of how the pods work... read more

Reviewed today
982aimeeg
Just wow

Magical experience. My wife and I did the Lost World tour. Great mix of physical challenge and... read more

Reviewed yesterday
K3nnyb0y
,
Auckland, New Zealand
Read all 1,545 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Waitomo Caves
from US$111.98
More Info
from US$118.69
More Info
from US$41.06
More Info
from US$58.97
More Info
Reviews (1,545)
Filter reviews
1,545 results
Traveller rating
1,441
80
12
6
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,441
80
12
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lost world haggas honking holes hour epic ladder climb tumu tumu toobing new zealand glow worms hour tour fear of heights free photos an adventure amazing experience great adventure comfort zone felt safe great pictures thanks guys
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
138 - 143 of 1,545 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2019 via mobile

We did the black water rafting and it was incredible. I was a little apprehensive at first and definitely had my scared face on at times but it was an incredible experience and so much fun! Our guide Joel was great, he had so many interesting facts and you felt safe knowing he knew what he was doing! The water was definitely freezing but the wet suits they give you are great and even though I hate the cold I was completely fine with the temperature because I was having too much fun to care! There were a couple of smallish squeezes but they weren’t too scary, and a couple of optional tunnels which I was too scared to do but my boyfriend loved!

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Gera_312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2019

We signed up to the Tumu tumu tubing, what an adventure we had! Shawna and Joel were great and told us a lot about cave formation and gloworms and made us feel completely safe- such a fun adventure!

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank NGM238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2019 via mobile

We did the black water rafting tubing adventure, we wanted something a bit adventurous and this was incredible.
Initially I was a tad anxious, but I felt really safe with our friendly and fun guide, Joel.

The exploring you’ll do is amazing. My favourite thing was walking in a conga line with headtorches off, admiring all the glow worms.

There are some squeezes and clambering over rocks so I’d say it’s better for people who are agile or have some level of fitness.

I’m so so glad we did this, it’s unbelievable.
To top it off, the food in the cafe is AMAZING. I deserved that lemon cheesecake at the end!

Another cool feature is there are free postcards. If you pay for a stamp at reception they’ll even post it for you. The staff are all wonderful too and help make the experience even greater.

Amazing value, especially with photos included too!

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank FondantFancie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2019 via mobile

Before my boyfriend booked the 4 hour Lost World tour, I had some reservations on whether we should.

- I wasn't sure if the experience would live up to what's pictured in photos -- turns out it absolutely was all that and then some!

- I wasn't sure if packing this into one day with the glowworm caves would be too strenuous -- turns out it wasn't nearly as strenuous as I thought and completely manageable to do both.

- I wasn't sure if we'd get super wet and dirty -- turns out you don't get wet at all and they give you coveralls and boots so your own clothes don't get dirty!

- I wasn't sure it was worth the investment since this was one of the higher cost activities we did -- turns out it absolutely was worth it and great value for what you get.

In summary, I'm so so glad we did this as our adventurous activity in NZ and left feeling this was one of the best things we did in our 6 week trip. Craig was a phenomenal guide who was extremely clear, safety-oriented, patient and knowledgeable. He made us feel safe, comfortable, and well looked after throughout. Craig - we love your work!

Wish more people knew about this as it'd be a shame to go all the way to Waitomo without doing this!

Date of experience: July 2019
1  Thank dichou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2019

We did the 4-hour Lost World tour; wished we had time for the 7-hour one. Repelled down a 100 M cave and walked parts of it and climbed a 50M ladder out. Repelling down the cave and climbing through the cave was probably the most adventurous thing we've done in North NZ.

We got to go on an odd day. There was a Japanese TV crew there filming a comedian catching marshmallows being dropped from the top. Highly entertaining... Apparently, we had booked months ahead and the TV crew bought out all the other tickets because we were the only no-crew in the cave in the 4 days they were filming. Our guide Craig was excellent. Explained the how-to's carefully. We actually learned more about NZ from our tour guides than anywhere else. He took photos for us because we were required to leave all our belongings in the locker.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank geolio2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews