We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Save
Review Highlights
Troll Cave a MUST do!

One of the best escape rooms we’ve done … our 10 year old son was enthralled and scared at the same... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
Promhany
via mobile
Bloody awesome experience caving

Absolutely bloody grouse experience. Scott was a great guide, taught us heaps about the caves and... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
danielpE1762NJ
Read all 1,585 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Waitomo Caves
from US$99.15
More Info
from US$105.10
More Info
from US$36.36
More Info
from US$52.22
More Info
Reviews (1,585)
Filter reviews
1,585 results
Traveller rating
1,479
81
12
6
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,479
81
12
6
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lost world haggas honking holes hour epic haggis new zealand hour option glow worms fear of heights free photos caving experience amazing experience gum boots comfort zone felt safe hour trip tight squeezes rock climbing
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
190 - 195 of 1,585 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2019 via mobile

Did the Troll Cave with the kids. Fantastic, the kids loved it! Peter, the troll keeper made the the experience really awesome. If you have kids and want a good kiwi experience in Waitomo then do this!

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank davefZ1980LL
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 July 2019

We’ve just returned from the 4 hour lost world trip and what an incredible experience it was! We’ve been travelling around the world for the past 4 months and this is easily the best tour we’ve done. We were lucky enough that it was only us and our tour guide Iain, who was also awesome. We both get a bit nervous with heights, but Iain put us totally at ease- a fear of heights should not stop you from going on this trip! We can’t wait to see the photos Iain took!

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank Helenrc94
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 July 2019

Absolutely AMAZING trip on the Lost World 4 hour tour.
Fantastic abseiling, beautiful cave, and lots of fun.
No doubt the abseil is very high, and the ladder is too, but it's worth overcoming the fear.
Many thanks to Iain for being such a great guide - we really appreciated your help.
This is our second trip with Waitomo Adventures, and we can't speak highly enough about them. Very friendly, with excellent safety.
We'd really recommend doing this tour!

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank Jennie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 June 2019

But seriously, the abseiling was so much fun! This tour company is small and had a very warm atmosphere. They also seemed very knowledgeable and made the experience fantastic. Probably one of the best guided tours in New Zealand!

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank Scenic618353
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 June 2019

I had the best experience abseiling with Scott and Shauna. They were very knowledgeable and helped make sure we were relaxed and not scared. It was so much fun abseiling down the waterfalls and crawling through the caves. Definitely recommend doing the Haggas Honking Holes while in Waitomo!!

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank haleymahony1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews