We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Floatation Pods

What an experience, from the check in at the day spa to the great explanation of how the pods work... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
982aimeeg
Just wow

Magical experience. My wife and I did the Lost World tour. Great mix of physical challenge and... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
K3nnyb0y
,
Auckland, New Zealand
Read all 1,545 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Waitomo Caves
from US$111.01
More Info
from US$117.67
More Info
from US$40.70
More Info
from US$58.46
More Info
Reviews (1,545)
Filter reviews
1,545 results
Traveller rating
1,441
80
12
6
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,441
80
12
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lost world haggas honking holes hour epic ladder climb tumu tumu toobing new zealand glow worms hour tour fear of heights free photos an adventure amazing experience great adventure comfort zone felt safe great pictures thanks guys
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
157 - 162 of 1,545 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2019

Our guides ( Soctt and Deni) took us through our 7hour repelling/caving adventures with such ease and confidence. Their meticulous attention to details made us feel extremely safe and their easy going, fun personalities made us feel like we were adventuring with good old friends! Not to forget the delicious food that was waiting for us.
Our entire crew of 6 people loved this experience and consider it as one of our NZ highlights.
If you are reading this to decide if you should go, our unanimous vote is: Just do it! you won't regret it.

Thank you Scott and Deni!

Date of experience: May 2019
1  Thank beastman007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2019 via mobile

Booked onto the Lost World 4 hour trip and had no regrets! It was a great way to explore one of the many caves in Waitamo (dry). Highlights were definitely abseiling 100m and the many fun facts from our guide, Chris who was excellent. Definitely an adventure not to miss out on.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank eelynchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2019 via mobile

My sister and I absolutely loved our caving experience! Our guide, TK, was very knowledgeable, friendly, and encouraging. It was a once in a lifetime experience.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank Nikki J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2019

We travel a lot and have done a lot of things, but none were more adventurous, thrilling or more memorable than the "Lost World" tour by Waitomo Adventures. We spent a month-long trip to both the north and south islands of NZ and we all agreed that hands-down, this was everyone's favorite thing we did not only on this vacation, but on any trip. Brad was the best guide we've ever had on any excursion, the facility where you start/end is brand new and has everything you'd want (food was first-rate and reasonable), safety precautions taken were impeccable, and the tour itself will take your breath away from the 30 story abseiling down into this crack in the earth to the incredible beauty of this "Lost World" itself. They even take photos for you and email/Dropbox them to you--at no additional charge. If you do only one natural excursion on your vacation to NZ, this should be it.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank CarboConnoisseur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaitomoAdventures, General Manager at Waitomo Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2019

This is high praise indeed and much appreciated by all of us here at the Waitomo Adventure Centre - thanks very much !
In addition to being an awesome guide, Brad is a senior operations person here having been with us for almost two decades...so we feel very lucky indeed to have him as an integral team member.
Our guides have always derived much professional satisfaction from helping people to explore these challenging environments so if you keep saying nice things like this it will only encourage them !
Thanks also for your comments about the cafe. It's been a big step for us to set up this beautiful new building and we're keen to let people know that this quality of food is now available at Waitomo.
The food is made daily on the premises using quality ingredients...so if you want great coffee and a delicious "Caveman" breakfast in advance of your days' adventures, we're here to provide it.
Coming very soon we'll be opening a fantastic DaySpa where clients can get a sports massage; facial or even a floatation pod experience...watch this space.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2019

Amazing experience with our guides Joel and TK. They led us knowledgably through an exclusive tour of caverns, tunnels and moats. Can’t say enough about the experience and the guides. Well organized. The guides talked us up when we were nervous. Provided wetsuits and boots. Bring dry clothes and enjoy!!

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank Katherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews