We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Floatation Pods

What an experience, from the check in at the day spa to the great explanation of how the pods work... read more

Reviewed today
982aimeeg
Just wow

Magical experience. My wife and I did the Lost World tour. Great mix of physical challenge and... read more

Reviewed yesterday
K3nnyb0y
,
Auckland, New Zealand
Read all 1,545 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Waitomo Caves
from US$111.98
More Info
from US$118.69
More Info
from US$41.06
More Info
from US$58.97
More Info
Reviews (1,545)
Filter reviews
1,545 results
Traveller rating
1,441
80
12
6
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,441
80
12
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lost world haggas honking holes hour epic ladder climb tumu tumu toobing new zealand glow worms hour tour fear of heights free photos an adventure amazing experience great adventure comfort zone felt safe great pictures thanks guys
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
387 - 392 of 1,545 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2018

I took the Lost World Epic tour in Feb 2018. I have traveled all over and done lots of cool things, but this is one of the best things I have ever done. From start to finish it was a great experience. The guides (Scott and Luke) were great and knowledgeable about the cave and made sure everything was done safely. This was a physically demanding tour, but I would highly recommend it to anyone who feels up to the challenge.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Rod Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2018 via mobile

Went on the 7hr epic trip had two awesome guides Chao and Chris, trip was chur chur (wanna know what that means your Gunna have to ask them). Amazing experience would recommend it to anyone. Between scaling a waterfall and squeezing in and out of rock surfaces and to start it off with the abseil (like a slow rappel without the wall). Guides were fun and super informative about the area and what we were seeing and experiencing.

Went with an awesome group of people that were from all over. The BBQ afterwards was super rewarding and we'll about expectations. Photos were amazing. Nothing be chur chur on this trip.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank jj_jiggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2018

Experiencing the Waitamo glow worm caves with the tumu tumu toobing adventure was one of the highlights of a 3 week active trip to NZ. Chao and Charly were wonderful guides who were gracious, informative and trustworthy. The caves and ultimately the glow worms were the real stars though. There is nothing like floating on an inner tube in the pitch black looking up at the twinkly glow worm "stars". Otherworldly and fantastic!

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank skiqueenbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2018 via mobile

Waitomo Adventures are an excellent company! Extremely professional! Would highly recommend! They instilled confidence in all of us to leap out of our comfort zones! So knowledgeable and passionate about glow worms, caving, and history! LOVED IT!

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Cindi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2018 via mobile

Highlight of our two week vacation in New Zealand! Would recommend the 7h tour for people with a reasonable amount of fitness and an appetite for adventure. We were torn between the 4h and 7h tours and were thrilled we chose the longer one. Both tours start the same way, but when the 4h tour takes the ladder out, the 7h tour is just getting started! That’s when you get in the water and really get into the adventure.

Our guides Brad and Flynn were incredible and made sure everyone felt safe and comfortable throughout the day. They carted around lunch and a snack for us, and then cooked up a mean barbecue after we got back to the camp.

My wife was nervous about the cold, but didn’t find it to be too bad because we were moving almost constantly. She’s also terrified of creatures and our guides did a great job helping her keep her cool.

Couldn’t recommend more. Thanks Brad and Flynn!!!

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank R3622SEkellyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews