We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Save
Review Highlights
Troll Cave a MUST do!

One of the best escape rooms we’ve done … our 10 year old son was enthralled and scared at the same... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
Promhany
via mobile
Bloody awesome experience caving

Absolutely bloody grouse experience. Scott was a great guide, taught us heaps about the caves and... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
danielpE1762NJ
Read all 1,585 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Waitomo Caves
from US$99.15
More Info
from US$105.10
More Info
from US$36.36
More Info
from US$52.22
More Info
Reviews (1,585)
Filter reviews
1,585 results
Traveller rating
1,479
81
12
6
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,479
81
12
6
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lost world haggas honking holes hour epic haggis new zealand hour option glow worms fear of heights free photos caving experience amazing experience gum boots comfort zone felt safe hour trip tight squeezes rock climbing
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
430 - 435 of 1,585 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2018

I took the Lost World Epic tour in Feb 2018. I have traveled all over and done lots of cool things, but this is one of the best things I have ever done. From start to finish it was a great experience. The guides (Scott and Luke) were great and knowledgeable about the cave and made sure everything was done safely. This was a physically demanding tour, but I would highly recommend it to anyone who feels up to the challenge.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Rod Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 February 2018 via mobile

Went on the 7hr epic trip had two awesome guides Chao and Chris, trip was chur chur (wanna know what that means your Gunna have to ask them). Amazing experience would recommend it to anyone. Between scaling a waterfall and squeezing in and out of rock surfaces and to start it off with the abseil (like a slow rappel without the wall). Guides were fun and super informative about the area and what we were seeing and experiencing.

Went with an awesome group of people that were from all over. The BBQ afterwards was super rewarding and we'll about expectations. Photos were amazing. Nothing be chur chur on this trip.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank jj_jiggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 February 2018

Experiencing the Waitamo glow worm caves with the tumu tumu toobing adventure was one of the highlights of a 3 week active trip to NZ. Chao and Charly were wonderful guides who were gracious, informative and trustworthy. The caves and ultimately the glow worms were the real stars though. There is nothing like floating on an inner tube in the pitch black looking up at the twinkly glow worm "stars". Otherworldly and fantastic!

Date of experience: February 2018
1  Thank skiqueenbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 February 2018 via mobile

Waitomo Adventures are an excellent company! Extremely professional! Would highly recommend! They instilled confidence in all of us to leap out of our comfort zones! So knowledgeable and passionate about glow worms, caving, and history! LOVED IT!

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Cynthia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 February 2018 via mobile

Highlight of our two week vacation in New Zealand! Would recommend the 7h tour for people with a reasonable amount of fitness and an appetite for adventure. We were torn between the 4h and 7h tours and were thrilled we chose the longer one. Both tours start the same way, but when the 4h tour takes the ladder out, the 7h tour is just getting started! That’s when you get in the water and really get into the adventure.

Our guides Brad and Flynn were incredible and made sure everyone felt safe and comfortable throughout the day. They carted around lunch and a snack for us, and then cooked up a mean barbecue after we got back to the camp.

My wife was nervous about the cold, but didn’t find it to be too bad because we were moving almost constantly. She’s also terrified of creatures and our guides did a great job helping her keep her cool.

Couldn’t recommend more. Thanks Brad and Flynn!!!

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank R3622SEkellyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews