We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Place for a Stop”
other travellers have booked this property
Side, entrance
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Side, entrance
Back of house View from road
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
Side, entrance
Back of house
View from road
Deck
Dining room
Sun room
Sunroom
Sitting/TV
African Sunset
Family Suite bath
Garden of Peace
Garden of Peace bath
Chocolate Dream
ensuite
Morning Glory
Driveway flower bed
White picket fence
kitchen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Berwick, Southwest Nova Scotia, Nova Scotia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
GuatadeLa...
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great Place for a Stop”
Reviewed 25 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Greatly enjoyed our stop at the PillowCase. It's a great heritage house. Breakfast was the best we had during a month jaunt through the Maritimes and Iceland. Lorraine and Doug provide excellent conversation and are very accomodating. The night of our stay they sat up until 1:00 AM to await late arriving guests. They also made excellent suggestions concerning local restaurants and sights. You won't be disappointed if you stop here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trprue
Dartmouth, Canada
2 reviews
“Everything we could have hoped for and then some”
Reviewed 20 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Lorraine and Doug were amazing hosts. We booked on short notice to stay on New Years Eve and everything was perfect. The corner jacuzzi tub for which they provided bubble bath was amazing. They went above and beyond what one might normally expect. They offered us snacks for the evening, extended an offer to play board games with them and neighbors during the evening and sent us home with a tin full of baked goods and a carton of eggs from the chickens they keep. I'd recommend it to anyone and am considering doing New Years again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryvonne...
Canon city
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 for a stay in July 2013

My husband and I were driving and looking for a nice place to stay.
We definitively were at the right place when Lorraine and Doug welcomed us in their warm home and opened arms.
We had planned 2 nights and stayed for the week. Everything about their home is close to perfection. Decoration, location, the very good breakfast, beautiful, comfortable and clean rooms, their enthusiasm of greeting strangers and having them leave as friends topped our visit.
We highly recommend for anyone to take the time and stop at Lorraine and Doug's relaxing Pillowcase B&B in Somerset. There is a lot to visit around and great restaurants. Enjoy

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the arm welcome
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul a
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant Bed and Breakfast”
Reviewed 21 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Our stay with Doug and Lorraine was one of our holiday highlights.They are a lovely couple who really made us feel at home.Lorraine is great at baking and we enjoyed her cake and cookies.The Chocolate Dream room we stayed in was welcoming and had an ensuite bathroom with jacuzzi bath.The surrounding area has lovely places to visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was great
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine4...
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Most child-friendly bed and breakfast ever!”
Reviewed 4 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Lorraine & Doug welcomed us into their beautiful home and it was immediately apparent that they love children. The rooms were beautifully decorated, warm and inviting. We appreciated the mini-fridge and the fact that they could accommodate our celiac daughter with gluten-free food.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: activities for children
Liked least: mattress on the floor
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing