We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Dee
St. George's, Grenada

Gorgeous Property!

Review of Petit Bacaye
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 10 Apr 2014
What a gorgeous place! If you're looking for peace, serenity, beautiful scenery and great rooms, then come to Petit Bacaye. We're staying in the Honeymoon Suite and it's lovely and spacious. The kitchen is stocked with all of the basics you would need for cooking for yourself. Or, if you're feeling lazy, the on sight restaurant makes fantastic seafood meals! The fishermen come right up to the shore as well if you want to purchase your own fresh fish. Make sure to eat a meal at the treetop seating area as well for fine views of the nearby little island and beautiful waters. Petit Bacaye is located on a secluded bay which is great for swimming (bring water shoes though for grassy/rocky bits), or, you can go for a short hike through the trees to another secluded bay. Take your pick! This is the place to come to unwind and enjoy the tropics. Highly recommended.
Date of stay: April 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
$282
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
2.7 km from Petit Bacaye
Free parking
Beachfront
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $1,566
  • Priceline
2.4 km from Petit Bacaye
Free Wifi
Free parking
The pool
Lol.travel
    2.1 km from Petit Bacaye
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Tripadvisor
    $357
    Fully refundable
    • Hotels.com
    • Expedia.com
      $357
    3.6 km from Petit Bacaye
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    eDreams
      0.5 km from Petit Bacaye
      Tripadvisor
      $160
      Fully refundable
      No prepayment needed
      • Priceline
      • Hotels.com
      • Booking.com
      7.4 km from Petit Bacaye
      Restaurant
      Tripadvisor
      $249
      • Priceline
      • Hotels.com
      • Booking.com
      7.8 km from Petit Bacaye
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Hotels.com
      Get rewarded with One Key
      • Priceline
      • Official Site
        $773
      • Booking.com
      2.0 km from Petit Bacaye
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      View from Woburn Villas
      Tripadvisor
      $174
      • Hotels.com
      • Booking.com
      • Priceline
      3.4 km from Petit Bacaye
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Hotels.com
      Get rewarded with One Key
      • Expedia.com
        $204
      • Vio.com
      6.4 km from Petit Bacaye
      View more hotels in Saint David Parish
      Reviews (37)
      Filter reviews
      37 results
      Traveller rating
      25
      7
      1
      0
      4
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      Traveller rating
      25
      7
      1
      0
      4
      See what travellers are saying:
      Selected filters
      Filter
      Updating list...
      3 - 8 of 37 reviews
      Reviewed 25 July 2013

      While we didn't stay at Petit Bacaye, we did eat at the restaurant. We didn't know much about the restaurant, but we are so glad we gave it a chance. The location could not have been more beautiful. The secluded property is right on the water with gorgeous views of tall palm trees and a little island in the bay. You can choose to eat in the traditional restaurant or on an elevated platform in the trees. Definitely eat in the "tree house". Our food was fresh and we had plenty of it. Some restaurants' meals come with boring sides (or none at all), but Petit Bacaye filled our plates with three local vegetable sides and slices of fresh mangoes right off the property. The lemongrass lemonade was wonderful and we had fresh red snapper and sweet potato tuna cakes. It was delicious. I only wish we'd found this restaurant sooner. Our two meals and drinks, including tip, cost ECD$130.

      Date of stay: July 2013
      • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Service
      2  Thank TravelBugArkansas
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 21 April 2013

      This is not a hotel for the package trade. Instead you get your own property in what is almost a private bay. After breakfast on your deck watching the humming birds, walk along the shore for few minutes to what is probably going to be a deserted sandy palm fringed beach which is good for swimming. If that gets too strenuous relax in your hammock amongst the lush vegetation in the grounds. Lunch can be in the restaurant -perhaps among the treetops overlooking the bay. Venture out in the afternoon-the local busses are frequent(and quick!) -if that does not appeal car hire is easily arranged. Nowhere is far on this lovely island. Peter and Julia are a mine of information. Celebrate your return with the hotel's excellent rum punch.

      Date of stay: February 2013
      • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      3  Thank Peter M
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 17 April 2013

      My husband and I stayed at Petit Bacaye in the Honeymoon Suite and loved it. We had wifi access and spent our time taking hikes to an amazing point with great views and laying around on a secluded beach just 10 minutes from Petit Bacaye. The best part of this place is the location! It is tucked away surrounded by true Grenadian locals. We really got to "Lime" and take in the leisurely pace of the island. We even bought seafood from some local fisherman right on the property. The grounds were so gorgeous and the restaurant had local-cooked food, which we wanted to try (order the Curry Chicken!) Hope to return to this beautiful, quite place someday!

      Room tip: I accidentally clicked "Swimming Pool" and "Fitness Center" but the far beach has some awesome tide pools to swim in, which you have to go to! So I guess its a pool and you get your exercise in while walking there!
      Date of stay: October 2012
      • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      1  Thank Angie C
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 13 April 2013

      We stayed here for a family holiday week in January 2013. If you are looking for super-modern and super-luxury, this place is not for you. But if you are looking for a peaceful, beautiful spot to get away from the crowd, then we would recommend this place. The food is excellent. The owners and staff are unfailingly helpful and charming (right down to Spare, the hotel dog!). Make sure you hire a car, so that you can get around and explore the island, and then take advantage of the local knowledge on tap at the hotel to get the best out of Grenada, knowing that you have the perfect place to come back to every day and to wake up in every morning.

      Date of stay: January 2013
      • Trip type: Travelled with family
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank fpap2
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 2 April 2013

      We stayed at Petit Bacaye for two weeks in January 2013 for my 50th birthday. It was exactly what we were looking for - an un-commercialised, peaceful, beautiful, escape. Our aim was to find a place where we could be close to the natural environment of Grenada, yet have some luxuries close at hand. Petit Bacaye is simple, yet comfortable and the real benefit is that you are surrounded by nature. If you are looking for a place where everything is laid on, lots of services, air con, luxurious surroundings, bars etc. then this is not the place for you. Here there is no TV no phones, no bars, no people... but you can hear the waves and look at the stars at night instead. Thus it's perfect for a couple wanting to get away from it all. Petit Bacaye is a small collection of detached beach houses set amongst luscious tropical surroundings on the shoreline of a small bay. We stayed in the Honeymoon House which was a surprisingly spacious wooden house with bedroom, bathroom, huge shower room, small lounge and very well equipped kitchen. The decor is simple but well done and the bed in particular was great - a large four poster with quality linen. I slept so well in this bed even though I have a back injury. The decorations in the room were lovely - lots of wood and craft items, very sympathetic to the local materials. Outside, the gardens are beautiful - flowers everywhere, swaying palm trees and lots of birds. Walking a few metres through the grass takes you to the beach. Petit Bacaye's tree top restaurant looks out over the bay which is unspoilt and has a small island nearby which you can walk over to at low tide. It's true that the beach is not hugely sandy but it has enough sand to lie on and the big plus of this beach was that for most of the time we were there we were the only folk in the whole bay. Because Petit Bacaye has mangroves which go into the sea it's great for wildlife - I saw many egrets and herons as well as flying fish whilst I was swimming. I can't understand why some folk didn't rate the swimming here. You do have to paddle through some soft sand to get to the deeper water but it's really not far and the water is warm, crystal clear and very shallow. Once you get to the deeper water it's fantastic swimming as there is a reef which protects against big waves. I swam right across the bay a number of times which is the farthest I've ever swam but I felt so safe that it was quite easy. The food in Petit Bacaye is excellent. It's not cheap but thoroughly worth it as everything is freshly cooked - lobster and fish from the days catch plus fruit picked from the gardens. The restaurant is only open from midday to early evening so you have to take care of your own breakfast and if you want to eat out in the evening either fix it yourself or go out somewhere else (a jeep is very handy to get out to other restaurants, to see the sights etc as Petit Bacaye is fairly secluded). For us this was perfect as we like to do our own thing and it was possible to barbecue our own food or order food from the restaurant for dinner/next day's breakfast which was put into our fridge during the day. The home-made bread and salads were superb, as was the rum punch. All the staff were very friendly and attentive. Peter the owner, was one of the best things about Petit Bacaye. He is extremely helpful, engaging and a mine of information regarding Grenada. During our stay I also indulged in the massages which were amazing - totally relaxing with the sound of the birds and the waves on the beach in the background. It's true there are bugs everywhere, but this is Grenada, and for us it was a small price to pay for such an idyllic relaxing experience.

      Room tip: Honeymoon house is very quietly positioned and has great views of the gardens and birdlife.
      Date of stay: January 2013
      • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      2  Thank 108JanetB
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      View more reviews