We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
ThingsToEatandDo
Toronto, Canada

Title: Mixed Experience with Lunch, beach and rude taxi driver in old van

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 14 Apr 2024via mobile
My husband and I visited La Sagesse restaurant for lunch and drinks on March 15th. We had made a reservation a few weeks in advance. The restaurant service was lovely, and we particularly enjoyed the roti and beet dressing, which were excellent. The mocktails were also excellent, while the rum punch, though pre-batched, was decent. However, we were seated alone in the upper mezzanine level, away from all other customers below who had a better view of the beachfront.

After lunch, I went to the beach and was surprised by the condition of the seawater, which was full of floating green seaweed. This made it unpleasant to swim or enjoy the waterfront. I walked around the bay to the new Six Senses resort to compare, and unfortunately, their beach was no better.

Additionally, our transportation experience was concerning. The administrative assistant, Caroline, unexpectedly jumped into our private taxi ride without asking for our consent. This coincided with a very protracted delay in our journey to Cabier Ocean Lodge. Eventually, we were taken by a driver named Boney in his old van. Boney was very rude and demanded that we split up, with my husband sitting up front and me in the second row of the van, which felt unnecessary and uncomfortable. He wouldn't even speak to us.

Overall, while La Sagesse restaurant offered delicious food and a nice ambiance, the issues with transportation and the beach condition left us with a less-than-ideal experience.

I would strongly recommend hiring a different taxi service with a brand new modern air-conditioned vehicle instead of the one provided by this property.
Date of stay: March 2024
Room Tip: Use a different taxi service-- avoid their vehicle and driver.
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$1,172
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    $1,174
  • ZenHotels.com
    $1,173
  • Booking.com
0.9 km from La Sagesse Hotel, Restaurant & Beach Bar
Free Wifi
Free parking
$356
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    $357
  • Tripadvisor
    $357
1.1 km from La Sagesse Hotel, Restaurant & Beach Bar
Free Wifi
Free parking
La Sagesse Beach and Bay at sunset.
$282
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    $282
  • Expedia.com
    $282
  • Hotels.com
    $281
0.0 km from La Sagesse Hotel, Restaurant & Beach Bar
Free parking
Beachfront
$160
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    $160
  • Hotels.com
    $160
  • Expedia.com
    $160
4.9 km from La Sagesse Hotel, Restaurant & Beach Bar
Restaurant
$245
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $245
  • Agoda.com
    $245
5.2 km from La Sagesse Hotel, Restaurant & Beach Bar
$171
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $215
  • Expedia.com
    $249
  • Hotels.com
    $248
5.2 km from La Sagesse Hotel, Restaurant & Beach Bar
Free Wifi
Free parking
$906
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    $926
  • ZenHotels.com
    $756
  • Expedia.com
    $927
4.6 km from La Sagesse Hotel, Restaurant & Beach Bar
Free Wifi
Free parking
View from Woburn Villas
$174
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $174
  • Hotels.com
    $143
  • Expedia.com
    $167
6.0 km from La Sagesse Hotel, Restaurant & Beach Bar
Free Wifi
Free parking
$203
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    $203
  • Vio.com
8.3 km from La Sagesse Hotel, Restaurant & Beach Bar
$143
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    $143
  • ZenHotels.com
    $126
  • Vio.com
8.3 km from La Sagesse Hotel, Restaurant & Beach Bar
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Saint David Parish
Reviews (283)
Filter reviews
283 results
Traveller rating
207
49
13
8
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
207
49
13
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish grand anse the main house tuna nature center laid back gentle waves owners and staff half mile small hotel boutique hotel hidden gem few weeks flora and fauna beautiful setting come home small waves
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 283 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2024

Let me set your expectations...this place is an older facility but wonderfully maintained and run. It is clean and has really all the basics and more than you need - access to the calm bay water, a restaurant on site, grocery store at the end of the road, cleaning and laundry services available too, plus most importantly - the bedrooms have a/c.
The staff are friendly and helpful too. They have many repeat customers that come back for years. This was our first trip and highly recommend this lil gem.
The only thing missing was shampoo and conditioner - which they're supposedly going to install larger dispensers in the showers.
We stayed in 2 different cottages and both were equally fine - one had a king bed and the other a queen.
The restaurant offered a variety and the food was good and consistent.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank kewpie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 February 2024

How can one have anything but good things to say about a room within yards of the softly breaking waves on the white sandy beach? A comfortable room with no distractions of TV, phone or A/C but with ceiling and floor fans (only the ceiling fan was needed) and a view to die for. The front desk staff, kitchen & bar staff, and the attentive owners made it a great experience. For those looking for an authentic island experience instead of a bland hotel this is your kind of place

Room tip: The hotel is truly off the beaten path and a boutique hotel. No phones, no TV, no A/C - a rare diamond among the plain vanilla hotels.
Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Zanshin-Sailing
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 August 2023

My wife and I had been to Grenada 5 times before but wanted a change of pace. I couldn't have been more right; it changed MY pace. The setting, per my wife, is "other-worldly". The beach is Caribbean and you can go out 75 feet and not be shoulder deep. The room was spotless. The bed was very comfortable. We never did figure out how to get the hot water right, but eh. The kitchen was incomparable. As an example, they made my fish 'n chips with TUNA. Ever heard of that? Neither had I and it was unbelievable. It isn't near the airport. It isn't near anything except the very best place to completely unwind I have ever experienced. We went there and did basically nothing for a week and I'm still unwound from it. One thing: PLEASE do not bring big-city attitudes or expectations here. Let the staff do their magic at their pace. Note: I have never given any hotel 5 stars before.

Room tip: Chill out. Relax. Don't push the pace. It isn't a McDonald's. Don't try to make it one. This is Grenada, not Chicago.
Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank spiritof67
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 July 2023

I stayed at La Sagesse for a couple of nights in July 2023 on my way back to Europe. It was perfect - no TV, no A/C, no radio. Just the sound of the waves breaking on the beach just a couple of yards from the beach and the chirping of tree frogs at night. Fly screens in the windows and 3 ceiling fans plus a floor fan ensured a comfortable temperature in the large and clean rooms.

I was there during the off-season when the hotel was nearly empty, but the staff was attentive the kitchen/bar was fully operational.

This is a great destination for those looking for something relaxing and quiet and out-of-the-way with a great beach.

Room tip: There are few other hotels/bar/restaurants within walking distance the hotel is a good 30 minutes by taxi from the airport.
Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Zanshin-Sailing
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Caroline Ferguson, Guest Services / Front Office at La Sagesse Hotel, Restaurant & Beach Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2023

Arnd, thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are delighted that you had a great stay with us . Please let us know if there is anything we can do to make your next stay even better. Welcome to the La Sagesse Family! We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2023 via mobile

So just from the get go - we didn't stay at the hotel or eat at the restaurant.

However we came across the rude "security" from the hotel on the beach. Saying hello after we greeted you, guys, won't break your backs. This island is full of smiley, cheerful, and welcoming people, so such a huge difference in interaction always flabbergasts you.

And now the beach itself: are you kidding me one of the top 10 beaches of the Caribbean?! Really? Only if you've never been anywhere else! The top 10 best beaches of the Caribbean are all in the Bahamas (probably 7 of them on Eleuthera). It's NOT white sand! Grey at its best. It has some yellow and black sand. It's extremely dirty. I'd recommend the owners of the hotel to tell the rude security to collect the trash on the beach instead of grumpily strolling on it. There are even pieces of sharp glass lying here and there. Grand Anse beach is so much better!

The rude security guys are the reason we didn't even check out the menu at the restaurant. Train your staff properly.

Room tip: Don't waste your time on this beach
Date of stay: April 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 856annab
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews