We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
ZenHotels.com
$253
No prepayment needed
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Arnd Z

Wonderfully unique and off the beaten path

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 10 Feb 2024
How can one have anything but good things to say about a room within yards of the softly breaking waves on the white sandy beach? A comfortable room with no distractions of TV, phone or A/C but with ceiling and floor fans (only the ceiling fan was needed) and a view to die for. The front desk staff, kitchen & bar staff, and the attentive owners made it a great experience. For those looking for an authentic island experience instead of a bland hotel this is your kind of place
Date of stay: February 2024
Room Tip: The hotel is truly off the beaten path and a boutique hotel. No phones, no TV, no A/C - a rare...
Trip type: Travelled solo
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $1,565
  • Booking.com
0.6 km from La Sagesse Hotel, Restaurant & Beach Bar
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$357
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $357
1.1 km from La Sagesse Hotel, Restaurant & Beach Bar
Free Wifi
Free parking
eDreams
    3.1 km from La Sagesse Hotel, Restaurant & Beach Bar
    La Sagesse Beach and Bay at sunset.
    Expedia.com
    • Hotels.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      $253
    • Booking.com
    0.0 km from La Sagesse Hotel, Restaurant & Beach Bar
    Free parking
    Beachfront
    Tripadvisor
    $144
    Fully refundable
    No prepayment needed
    • Hotels.com
    • Priceline
    • Booking.com
    4.9 km from La Sagesse Hotel, Restaurant & Beach Bar
    Restaurant
    Expedia.com
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • Official Site
      $773
    • eDreams
    4.6 km from La Sagesse Hotel, Restaurant & Beach Bar
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View from Woburn Villas
    Tripadvisor
    $157
    • Hotels.com
    • Booking.com
    • Priceline
    6.0 km from La Sagesse Hotel, Restaurant & Beach Bar
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Hotels.com
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Expedia.com
      $204
    • Vio.com
    8.3 km from La Sagesse Hotel, Restaurant & Beach Bar
    Hotels.com
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Expedia.com
      $143
    • Agoda.com
    • Vio.com
    8.3 km from La Sagesse Hotel, Restaurant & Beach Bar
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Saint David Parish
    Reviews (282)
    Filter reviews
    282 results
    Traveller rating
    206
    49
    13
    8
    6
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    206
    49
    13
    8
    6
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews fish grand anse the main house tuna nature center laid back gentle waves owners and staff half mile small hotel boutique hotel hidden gem few weeks flora and fauna beautiful setting come home small waves
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    3 - 8 of 282 reviews
    Reviewed 27 August 2023

    My wife and I had been to Grenada 5 times before but wanted a change of pace. I couldn't have been more right; it changed MY pace. The setting, per my wife, is "other-worldly". The beach is Caribbean and you can go out 75 feet and not be shoulder deep. The room was spotless. The bed was very comfortable. We never did figure out how to get the hot water right, but eh. The kitchen was incomparable. As an example, they made my fish 'n chips with TUNA. Ever heard of that? Neither had I and it was unbelievable. It isn't near the airport. It isn't near anything except the very best place to completely unwind I have ever experienced. We went there and did basically nothing for a week and I'm still unwound from it. One thing: PLEASE do not bring big-city attitudes or expectations here. Let the staff do their magic at their pace. Note: I have never given any hotel 5 stars before.

    Room tip: Chill out. Relax. Don't push the pace. It isn't a McDonald's. Don't try to make it one. This is Grenada, not Chicago.
    Date of stay: August 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank spiritof67
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 31 July 2023

    I stayed at La Sagesse for a couple of nights in July 2023 on my way back to Europe. It was perfect - no TV, no A/C, no radio. Just the sound of the waves breaking on the beach just a couple of yards from the beach and the chirping of tree frogs at night. Fly screens in the windows and 3 ceiling fans plus a floor fan ensured a comfortable temperature in the large and clean rooms.

    I was there during the off-season when the hotel was nearly empty, but the staff was attentive the kitchen/bar was fully operational.

    This is a great destination for those looking for something relaxing and quiet and out-of-the-way with a great beach.

    Room tip: There are few other hotels/bar/restaurants within walking distance the hotel is a good 30 minutes by taxi from the airport.
    Date of stay: July 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled solo
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Zanshin-Sailing
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Caroline Ferguson, Guest Services / Front Office at La Sagesse Hotel, Restaurant & Beach Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2023

    Arnd, thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are delighted that you had a great stay with us . Please let us know if there is anything we can do to make your next stay even better. Welcome to the La Sagesse Family! We hope to see you again soon.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 5 April 2023 via mobile

    So just from the get go - we didn't stay at the hotel or eat at the restaurant.

    However we came across the rude "security" from the hotel on the beach. Saying hello after we greeted you, guys, won't break your backs. This island is full of smiley, cheerful, and welcoming people, so such a huge difference in interaction always flabbergasts you.

    And now the beach itself: are you kidding me one of the top 10 beaches of the Caribbean?! Really? Only if you've never been anywhere else! The top 10 best beaches of the Caribbean are all in the Bahamas (probably 7 of them on Eleuthera). It's NOT white sand! Grey at its best. It has some yellow and black sand. It's extremely dirty. I'd recommend the owners of the hotel to tell the rude security to collect the trash on the beach instead of grumpily strolling on it. There are even pieces of sharp glass lying here and there. Grand Anse beach is so much better!

    The rude security guys are the reason we didn't even check out the menu at the restaurant. Train your staff properly.

    Room tip: Don't waste your time on this beach
    Date of stay: April 2023
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    1  Thank 856annab
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 8 March 2023

    For the fifth time in six years (painfully interrupted only by COVID in 2021), we had the good fortune of spending a few weeks at La Sagesse Nature Center in February 2023. Despite some unfortunate construction projects now encroaching on the tranquil and serene bay and its precious animal habitats, this remains my favorite spot on earth; I like to refer to it simply as Paradise.

    Through trial and error over the years, we have found our favorite room, the Ocean Front Suite, where we are staying again this year (and we have made a reservation for February 2024 already).

    Meanwhile, the delightful staff has become family; they care for us and pamper us to a degree that is is almost embarrassing: Mike, Lynn, Sammy, Eldridge, Caroline, Anesta, Rachel, John, Subrina, Curly Anne, and many more.

    I have commented on this marvelous and precious place before; I hope that our snapshots will speak for themselves.

    Room tip: For our needs and preferences, the three ocean front rooms are best suited; the porches a few meters from the beach are a lovely
    Date of stay: February 2023
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank SwissCharm1917
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 7 March 2023 via mobile

    This family owned small hotel excels at treating guests as friends. You can have total peace and quiet or you can join with meeting other like minded couples from around the world. The hotel is special because it is small with only 12 special comfortable bedrooms which have their own bathrooms and in many cases their own beach view shaded deck.
    The family and staff always have a smile on their faces and the service is quiet, thoughtful and always top quality.
    Mike, Lin, Sammy and Eldridge run a hotel that gives you those ‘special moments and memories’ that you will not receive at any of the larger hotels.
    The beach, which is only less than 10 metres from the buildings is heavenly white soft fine sand and there is plenty of shade to sit or lie down to soak up the sounds of the gentle waves lapping the gently sloping beach. A balmy 26C when we were there last week!!
    There a few kayaks & paddle boards if you want to explore. Snorkelling is best closer to the side shore of the bays where there are rocks and coral.
    Taxis to airport are easily arranged by staff and you will want for nothing except some good books to read.
    The catering first class with a wide choice of fish, meat and salad and vegetarian options. A good range of drinks and cocktails are also on offer all day.
    This was a truly memorable holiday that we will try to repeat in years to come.

    Room tip: Talk to Sammy or Caroline by phone or email if you have any special needs or wants before and during your stay. Both ladies take guest care
    Date of stay: February 2023
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    1  Thank skatkatemouse
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews