We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Alice W

Absolutely wonderful!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 8 Feb 2023
This place is a real find. It's half an hour away from the main port with all the traffic and cruise ships on a lovely quiet beach. The room was great (note: no air conditioning but we didn't need it in January). The food and drinks were amazing. And the owners, Mike and Lynn, were delightful. They led a walk pointing out different types of fruit trees, local history, etc. almost every morning. I was hoping to go snorkeling at some point but didn't get around to it (the hotel beach isn't suited for that and we just didn't feel like making an extra side trip to Grand Anse beach or a boat trip). But we had a blast exploring other sights on Grenada. If you go, don't stay anywhere but La Sagesse.
Date of stay: January 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Caroline Ferguson, Guest Services / Front Office at La Sagesse Hotel, Restaurant & Beach Bar, responded to this review
Responded 9 Feb 2023
We truly apprciate your feedback.
Means a lot to us.
We hope you'll consider revisitng .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    $1,204
  • Booking.com
    $1,204
  • Priceline
0.6 km from La Sagesse Hotel, Restaurant & Beach Bar
Free Wifi
Free parking
$366
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    $366
  • Tripadvisor
    $366
1.1 km from La Sagesse Hotel, Restaurant & Beach Bar
Free Wifi
Free parking
La Sagesse Beach and Bay at sunset.
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
    $289
  • Booking.com
    $289
  • Hotels.com
    $289
0.0 km from La Sagesse Hotel, Restaurant & Beach Bar
Free parking
Beachfront
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $164
  • Hotels.com
    $164
  • Vio.com
    $164
4.9 km from La Sagesse Hotel, Restaurant & Beach Bar
Restaurant
Frühstück & Dinnerterrasse & Bar
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $221
  • Hotels.com
    $255
  • Vio.com
    $221
5.2 km from La Sagesse Hotel, Restaurant & Beach Bar
Free Wifi
Free parking
$1,030
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $1,143
  • Official Site
    $952
  • Hotels.com
    $1,144
4.6 km from La Sagesse Hotel, Restaurant & Beach Bar
Free Wifi
Free parking
View from Woburn Villas
$179
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $179
  • Hotels.com
    $160
  • eDreams
    $179
6.0 km from La Sagesse Hotel, Restaurant & Beach Bar
Free Wifi
Free parking
$165
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    $166
  • StayForLong
  • Vio.com
8.3 km from La Sagesse Hotel, Restaurant & Beach Bar
Free Wifi
Free parking
$334
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $334
  • Agoda.com
    $335
8.9 km from La Sagesse Hotel, Restaurant & Beach Bar
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $203
  • Priceline
    $203
  • Vio.com
    $203
8.8 km from La Sagesse Hotel, Restaurant & Beach Bar
View more hotels in Saint David Parish
Reviews (284)
Filter reviews
284 results
Traveller rating
208
49
13
8
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
208
49
13
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish grand anse the main house tuna nature center laid back gentle waves owners and staff half mile small hotel boutique hotel hidden gem few weeks flora and fauna beautiful setting come home small waves
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 284 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2023

La Sagesse loves up to its reputation as a hidden gem. Simple but effective - what the hotel lacks in frills is made up by the warm welcome and daily friendly interaction from the owners Mike and Lynn. Even first time guests are treated with the same friendliness as long-time returners (some have been coming for 30 years!). We loved the morning walks, hearing about the local area from Mike who is very passionate about Grenada.
Wait times for food were very long (sometimes over an hour) but that said it was the best food we had on the island - fresh and delicious with variety. Cocktails well made also.
Room was basic but clean and had what we needed - make sure you have ear plugs as the waves (whilst lovely) was very loud throughout the night.
Beach was beautiful, even with the unsightly building works which you quickly forget about and we borrowed kayaks free of charge.
A good choice in a handy location if you are looking to explore the South of Grenada.

Date of stay: January 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank mariacQ2895HY
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Caroline Ferguson, Guest Services / Front Office at La Sagesse Hotel, Restaurant & Beach Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2023

We thank you for taking the time out to provide us with feedback. It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us.
We're definitely looking forward to having you back, in the not too distant future, once you decide to travel our way, :-)
Best Wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2023

Stopped at this stunning location for coffee on our way down the east coast of Grenada. Lovely beachfront restaurant and excellent coffee!
The beach is clean and sandy; the only (unwelcome) distraction was the building noise at th nearby significant resort development

Date of stay: January 2023
1  Thank ScotinLondon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 January 2023

Wow...this place is just so beautiful. We were a group of 11 and spent 3 days at the hotel over Christmas. The food, the staff and the surroundings were just so wonderful. Christmas dinner was absolutely delicious. Every single member of staff made our stay so special. I can't recommend this hotel enough! Thank you so much!!

Date of stay: December 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank conrod22
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Caroline Ferguson, Guest Services / Front Office at La Sagesse Hotel, Restaurant & Beach Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2023

Thank you for your feedback.
Truly appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2022

What can I say about La Sagesse and its wonderful people? First, probably I’d give ourselves a pat on the back for NOT having played safe and gone to Grand Anse (lovely as St George’s is) but rather for having gone with our instinct that La Sagesse was something special after making contact with Sammy, owners Mike & Lin’s daughter, with a view to booking our first visit to Grenada, along with 2 friends from Trinidad. One of our friends is a regular visitor to Grenada on business and used to staying on Grande Anse, mainly because that’s where business people stay! He was enchanted by Grande Anse, I need hardly say.
The hotel is a colonial style house with add-ons built in sympathy with the main house. I should especially mention the bar and dining area which are literally a couple of dozen paces from the sea. The menu is local and the food is good, well prepared and well presented, both in the evening and for breakfast. The fish is superb, especially the king fish - nothing from a fish farm at La Sagesse! We ate in the restaurant on 5 of our 7 nights. I should also say that the kitchen will try their best to be flexible. If they can do it, they will!
The rooms were large and spotlessly clean. No television and no air conditioning here - just sea breezes and the sound of the waves breaking. The beds were of good quality (I can say that because we are in the furnished holiday lettings business in the UK) and the bathrooms enormous. The bay is safe and sheltered.
I now come to the most important part of my review - the People. The staff are unbelievably helpful and it is obvious that everyone works together to provide guests with a memorable stay. What a team. Mike and Lin are about all day and are very happy to have you join them in their daily walk, when they will regale you with information about the La Sagesse area and its flora and fauna. My advice - do the walk and come back to breakfast - unbeatable.
I could go on but I hope I’ve given La Sagesse and its people the plaudits and the respect they serve. They made our stay unforgettable. Thank you.

Date of stay: November 2022
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JH1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Caroline Ferguson, Guest Services / Front Office at La Sagesse Hotel, Restaurant & Beach Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2022

We thank you for taking the time out to provide such wonderful feed back. Hope you'll visit us again, in the not too distant future.
Best wishes from everyone at La Sagesse :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2022

What a beautifully situated small boutique hotel, exactly what we are looking for in a peaceful, rustic, authentic Caribbean holiday.
The accommodation was lovely, the food fantastic and the staff could not have been more eager to please. The restaurant staff, particularly Wendy , John and Annesta were all so friendly.
From the morning hikes to arranging days out , Mike and Lyn could not have done more. Thanks so much for everything.

Room tip: All rooms are steps from the beach
Date of stay: November 2022
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R2717QEannh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews