We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
ScotinLondon1
London, United Kingdom

Coffee on the beach

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 30 Jan 2023
Stopped at this stunning location for coffee on our way down the east coast of Grenada. Lovely beachfront restaurant and excellent coffee!
The beach is clean and sandy; the only (unwelcome) distraction was the building noise at th nearby significant resort development
Date of stay: January 2023
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $1,204
  • Priceline
    $1,204
0.6 km from La Sagesse Hotel, Restaurant & Beach Bar
Free Wifi
Free parking
$365
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $365
1.1 km from La Sagesse Hotel, Restaurant & Beach Bar
Free Wifi
Free parking
La Sagesse Beach and Bay at sunset.
$289
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.0 km from La Sagesse Hotel, Restaurant & Beach Bar
Free parking
Beachfront
$164
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Expedia.com
    $164
4.9 km from La Sagesse Hotel, Restaurant & Beach Bar
Restaurant
Frühstück & Dinnerterrasse & Bar
$255
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $255
5.2 km from La Sagesse Hotel, Restaurant & Beach Bar
Free Wifi
Free parking
$1,030
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $1,143
  • Official Site
    $952
  • Hotels.com
    $1,144
4.6 km from La Sagesse Hotel, Restaurant & Beach Bar
Free Wifi
Free parking
View from Woburn Villas
$179
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $179
  • Hotels.com
    $160
  • eDreams
    $179
6.0 km from La Sagesse Hotel, Restaurant & Beach Bar
Free Wifi
Free parking
$165
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    $166
  • Vio.com
  • StayForLong
8.3 km from La Sagesse Hotel, Restaurant & Beach Bar
Free Wifi
Free parking
$334
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $335
8.9 km from La Sagesse Hotel, Restaurant & Beach Bar
View more hotels in Saint David Parish
Reviews (284)
Filter reviews
284 results
Traveller rating
208
49
13
8
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
208
49
13
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish grand anse the main house tuna nature center laid back gentle waves owners and staff half mile small hotel boutique hotel hidden gem few weeks flora and fauna beautiful setting come home small waves
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 284 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2023

Wow...this place is just so beautiful. We were a group of 11 and spent 3 days at the hotel over Christmas. The food, the staff and the surroundings were just so wonderful. Christmas dinner was absolutely delicious. Every single member of staff made our stay so special. I can't recommend this hotel enough! Thank you so much!!

Date of stay: December 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank conrod22
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Caroline Ferguson, Guest Services / Front Office at La Sagesse Hotel, Restaurant & Beach Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2023

Thank you for your feedback.
Truly appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2022

What can I say about La Sagesse and its wonderful people? First, probably I’d give ourselves a pat on the back for NOT having played safe and gone to Grand Anse (lovely as St George’s is) but rather for having gone with our instinct that La Sagesse was something special after making contact with Sammy, owners Mike & Lin’s daughter, with a view to booking our first visit to Grenada, along with 2 friends from Trinidad. One of our friends is a regular visitor to Grenada on business and used to staying on Grande Anse, mainly because that’s where business people stay! He was enchanted by Grande Anse, I need hardly say.
The hotel is a colonial style house with add-ons built in sympathy with the main house. I should especially mention the bar and dining area which are literally a couple of dozen paces from the sea. The menu is local and the food is good, well prepared and well presented, both in the evening and for breakfast. The fish is superb, especially the king fish - nothing from a fish farm at La Sagesse! We ate in the restaurant on 5 of our 7 nights. I should also say that the kitchen will try their best to be flexible. If they can do it, they will!
The rooms were large and spotlessly clean. No television and no air conditioning here - just sea breezes and the sound of the waves breaking. The beds were of good quality (I can say that because we are in the furnished holiday lettings business in the UK) and the bathrooms enormous. The bay is safe and sheltered.
I now come to the most important part of my review - the People. The staff are unbelievably helpful and it is obvious that everyone works together to provide guests with a memorable stay. What a team. Mike and Lin are about all day and are very happy to have you join them in their daily walk, when they will regale you with information about the La Sagesse area and its flora and fauna. My advice - do the walk and come back to breakfast - unbeatable.
I could go on but I hope I’ve given La Sagesse and its people the plaudits and the respect they serve. They made our stay unforgettable. Thank you.

Date of stay: November 2022
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JH1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Caroline Ferguson, Guest Services / Front Office at La Sagesse Hotel, Restaurant & Beach Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2022

We thank you for taking the time out to provide such wonderful feed back. Hope you'll visit us again, in the not too distant future.
Best wishes from everyone at La Sagesse :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2022

What a beautifully situated small boutique hotel, exactly what we are looking for in a peaceful, rustic, authentic Caribbean holiday.
The accommodation was lovely, the food fantastic and the staff could not have been more eager to please. The restaurant staff, particularly Wendy , John and Annesta were all so friendly.
From the morning hikes to arranging days out , Mike and Lyn could not have done more. Thanks so much for everything.

Room tip: All rooms are steps from the beach
Date of stay: November 2022
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R2717QEannh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 October 2022

We’ve just returned from a wonderful 10 day stay at La Sagesse. The duplex accommodation in the Ocean building is perfect for families - our daughters slept in twin beds on the ground floor and we were on the mezzanine. The room was huge and the beds really comfortable. Ceiling and plug in fans keep the room cool.

Close proximity to a coco palm tree lined beach is one of the key selling points of La Sagesse. You can be in the water 20 seconds after leaving your room. We explored most of the other beaches on Grenada and this was one of our favourites. Gentle waves and perfect for swimming or kayaking. The water was very warm - with some patches almost like bath water. Our children borrowed body boards and had lots of fun in the small waves by the shore. I took out a kayak and paddleboard and paddled around the bay. The great thing about being a 12 room boutique hotel is that you don’t need to book any of the equipment in advance.

The food was of a consistently high standard. Delicious eggs, omelettes, bacon, fruit, bagels, toast with nutmeg jams etc for breakfast. For dinner, we often had fresh fish - tuna, snapper, shrimps, lobster - caught that day. On Independence Day the oildown (National dish) was delicious. There was pasta and burgers on the menu for my fussier daughter. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff if we had a special request. Thank you so much Rachael, Anesta, Amanda, Wendy, John and others (sorry if I have forgotten to mention you by name - you were all wonderful!).

The staff are what makes La Sagesse a truly exceptional place to stay. The owners, Mike and Lynn, were staying at the time and were extremely welcoming. Thank you Sammy, Eldridge and Caroline for everything. The hotel is clean and efficiently run, and all staff are so friendly and helpful. Special mention to Troy for catching a lizard for my daughters to hold!

We hired our own car so that we could explore the island. A highlight for our children was a visit to Grand Étang lake, where you can meet mona monkeys (living wild, but tamed because they are used to coming down from the trees for bananas). The island is very hilly and some of the roads leading to the beaches are steep, but we found the driving experience to be fine (note - we are used to driving on narrow country roads in UK!).

La Sagesse is a real gem and we’re so glad we found it. Thank you again to everyone who made our stay so perfect.

Date of stay: October 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank danielledJ2440FC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 October 2022 via mobile

Perfect in every way. A beautiful palm fringed sandy bay. Delicious food. Spotless room. Friendly helpful staff led by Sammy. The moment you arrive and fall into the sea you relax completely.
It’s not pretentious but it is authentic and totally fabulous.

Date of stay: October 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank CornwallNikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews