We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of 1908 Lodge Wing 1

Front of property with plenty of parking space
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of property with plenty of parking space
Entrance Main hallway
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
Front of property with plenty of parking space
Entrance
Main hallway
Hallway
Kitchen
Dining room
Lounge
Bedroom 1 - Triple ensuite room - can be double and single or 3 single beds
Bedroom 1 ensuite shower room
Bedroom 2 - Ground floor triple room with wheelchair accessible wetroom
Bedroom 2 Wetroom
Bedroom 3 - Double or twin ensuite room
Bedroom 3 ensuite
Bedroom 4 - Double (or twin) ensuite room
Bedroom 4 ensuite shower room
Bedroom 5 - Quad room with ensuite - can be double and 2 singles or 4 singles
Bedroom 5 ensuite shower room
6 seater hot tub
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
7 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 20
Gosport, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
kazabella...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect”
Reviewed 7 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We stayed in the 1908 lodge wing 1 for a few days from NYE and had a great time there!
It's perfect for large families of all ages!
The kids loved the garden and the hot tub which kept them entertained for hours!
The house is well equipped and the bedrooms are really spacious with most of them having ensuite shower rooms!
It's close to local shops, pubs etc and a short walk to get the ferry to Portsmouth!
All in all the 1908 lodge was perfect for us and catered for all our needs.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jan 2016
Thank you for your lovely comments, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope you will come back for a return visit some time in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan D
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very comfortable, spacious and welcoming”
Reviewed 6 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We had a great week in Gosport staying at the 1908 Lodge. The youngest member of our party was 6 weeks old and the oldest 69 - the house accommodated us all in comfort. Very convenient location - shops close by and only a short walk to the ferry across to Portsmouth Harbour. The kitchen was well equipped and there was lots of fridge and freezer space, plenty of crockery and glasses - great for large groups. Our thanks to the owner and caretaker for making our stay so pleasant..

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt D
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Amazing House - Great Weekend.”
Reviewed 16 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

I booked Wings 1 & 2 of the 1908 Lodge for my 30th birthday weekend in early October. In short - an incredible venue.

The house itself was lovely and perfect for large groups. There were 29 of us in total, but everyone had a comfy bed (although some had to make do with bunks). Prior to arrival, I was in contact with Evelyn (the owner), to arrange bed configurations, and upon arrival all rooms were clean, tidy and with towels provided for each guest.

The house is very large and spacious, however, for a group as large as 30 it was not possible for us to all sit around the one table at the same time. However, for smaller groups renting either Wing 1 or Wing 2, this would certainly be possible. We found the kitchen in Wing 2 to be more accessible and larger than that in Wing 1, and the living room for Wing 2 is on the ground floor, whilst Wing 1 is located on the first floor near a number of bedrooms. However, both living rooms are spacious and can comfortably seat 10-15 people (with room for extra chairs if necessary).

Outside, the hot tubs were plenty of fun and very easy to operate.

The house is located about 100m away from a Waitrose, and we took a 20min stroll to the Harbour. There didn't seem to be a great selection of pubs on the Gosport side of the Harbour, but there are plenty of nautical museums and the area itself appeared quite nice.

One final point to mention is that I arranged to use the catering company recommended by Evelyn on the Friday night. This did not disappoint. The food provided by Angela, Jane (and team) was amazing and very reasonable price-wise. They also cleared plates and washed up, and there was plenty of food leftover, even after feeding 29 hungry mouths!

All in all, a weekend to remember and a house that has all my friends talking!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Hot tubs, location, comfy beds, high ceilings
Liked least: Small kitchen for Wing 1
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry T
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A very enjoyable holiday”
Reviewed 19 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Our group spanning three generations all enjoyed our time in this large property with plenty of options to suit us. All the rooms were of generous size with the exception of the upper floor bunk bedroom which was small but adequate and the kitchen also small but adequate for our needs. Plenty of equipment provided but a good tin opener was lacking or at least we could not find one. The gardens provided a lovely area in which to relax and play games provided. Plenty of seating for a large group. The hot tub was a much enjoyed plus point. We did have a few minor problems which were quickly sorted out by a very friendly and helpful handyman. All in all a very comfortable and enjoyable stay which we would be more than happy to repeat at some future point. Gosport is quite a good base from which to explore the many places of interest close and not so close by

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b3kca
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Perfect for large group”
Reviewed 31 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We stayed here for my sisters hen party over the bank holiday weekend. There were 17 of us in total.
The house is very large and there was plenty of room for all of us. Even in the main living room we all managed to sit comfortably. The bedrooms are huge too and it's nice that all the beds are single but can change to double if required. It's very well equipped with ample cutlery, crockery and cooking equipment. The kitchen is a bit small, but there's not much they can do about that and it's fine if there's only a couple of you cooking.
The hot tub was great and used by us all at some point and the garden is so big! There is an outside seating area too with more than adequate seating. Also a BBQ and a few garden games which was a nice extra.
Evelyn, the manager, made the booking process easy and helped us out with some local info that we needed.
There were a few down points. The showers weren't great. The pressure was awful in most of them and it was hit and miss whether you got a hot shower. Obviously with 17 girls, it will be hard but we all staggered the showers and still had problems.
The ignition switch on the gas oven is broken and there were instructions on how to light it manually which seemed a bit dangerous.
Overall I would say it's a great house for a large group as has everything you really need.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing