We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place to stay...”
other travellers have booked this property
Parsonage Barn Annexe, one bed roomed cottage.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Parsonage Barn Annexe, one bed roomed cottage.
Barn Annexe Patio - directly on the 1066 footpath Outside
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
Parsonage Barn Annexe, one bed roomed cottage.
Barn Annexe Patio - directly on the 1066 footpath
Outside
Outside
Outside & the 1066 footpath
Patio
View from bedroom window
Lounge - Free WI-FI
Fireplace
Lounge
Lounge
Kitchen/Diner
Bedroom
Bedroom
En Suite Shower Room
Bathroom
Rye Town
Rye Windmill
Hastings Castle
Camber Sands
Winchelsea Beach
Kitchen
Kitchen
Sunset from annexe bedroom window
Sunset
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Icklesham, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jo P
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Stunning location. Very basic accom”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

First things first - Heather (owner) appears really lovely and is very welcoming. The location is stunningly beautiful. Even though it is right on the 1066 Way (which you should endeavour to do at least part of if you choose to stay) and you do get lots of folk wandering past, it is still very peaceful. Ample parking for a large estate car. Bed has to be the comfiest in the world. The Queens Head pub a couple minutes walk down the lane is beautiful and does decent pub grub! Views from there towards Romney Marsh are astounding.

Not so good parts. Bathroom is (politely) 'dated'. The electric shower casing is cracked and though some attempt to repair has been made, water can still get in. The shower tray has been repaired (?) with sealant but barely supported my weight (I'm tiny) and feels as though it's going to collapse. The supplied cutlery was filthy (with food from ,I presume, previous visitors) and dishes badly chipped. The drawers dirty and are filled with crumbs etc. Everything just felt grubby and I wanted to leave the next day but had already paid so we just used it to sleep
in. I spent the first night scrubbing and cleaning. I really hope this was a one off lapse in attention on the owners part and the very grumpy reception at 10am one morning my husband got when he went round to report the hob wasn't working (which kind of put us off raising anything else!) isn't normal behaviour. I've withheld the photos I took of the not so good parts in that hope.

Disappointed :(

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jul 2014
Such a shame you didn't enjoy some of your stay, I did say to you when you booked that the annexe was too small for your family & two dogs (ideal for couples) but you were insistent that you wanted to book, I can imagine that you were very cramped with all of you in there, but I did warn you before you paid!
We asked you several times during your stay if everything was ok the answer was always "fine, lovely, thank you"
I would like to stress that the annexe is not dirty in anyway, it is totally cleaned by professional cleaners from top to bottom after every stay.
It is spotless.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minnie301
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay...”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

I booked a 3 nights stay at Parsonage Farm Annexe. It was really delighful, in a very peaceful rural setting surrounded by sheep in the fields and the dogs & chickens in the garden. The annexe is small but provides everything one needs for a self-catering holiday stay.The owners were friendly & very helpful, also readily supplied a leash to walk my dog - as her lead was left at home! A short walk along the lane is the 17th century pub - 'The Queens Head Inn' - well worth a visit. Icklesham is ideally situated for a tour along the coast and the town of Rye. The sand-dunes & beaches at Winchelsea are really fantastic!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location and surrounding areas
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ali12013
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nicely positioned annexe, close to Rye”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

The annexe is situated down a quiet country lane within walking distance of 2 great pubs & a 10 minute drive from Rye. The Queens Head pub is a 3 minute walk away, the food is lovely & it has live music on a Sunday evening. The Robin Hood is a bit of a longer walk & doesn't look anything special from the outside, but do go in as the food is all homemade & delicious. Both pubs are dog friendly. The annexe is just big enough for 2. The bedroom & living room are nice & comfortable. The kitchen is tiny but fine for making a cup of tea. The bathroom needs updating as it looks a bit tired & the shower gives barely more than a trickle of water. The outside area has a bistro table with 4 chairs. All in all a nice place to stay in a fantastic location.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 May 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Parsonage Barn Annexe, we have checked the shower as we have never had a problem with it before and it all seems to be working ok, no problems at all with the pressure, I am sorry that you had this problem. Please let the owners know of any problems with the property you are staying at while you are there, it is very important for us to fix anything that is not working immediately.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosieB56
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pretty accommodation in lovely setting.”
Reviewed 7 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

For a relaxing break in lovely countryside, Parsonage Barn annexe fits the bill. Two good pubs nearby and easy access to walks in 1066 country. Comfortable accommodation, but 'snug' - perfectly adequate for two people. Tiny kitchen which is fine for microwaving, and making tea and toast. Bathroom needs updating. Outside gardens for sitting and enjoying the lovely Sussex countryside.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The rental is right on the 1066 walk, easy access to good walking country.
Liked least: Some of the kitchen equipment could be up-dated.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KentMario...
kent
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely Cottage”
Reviewed 19 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Pretty cottage in a lovely setting. Very comfortable, peaceful, relaxing break.Exactly what we needed after my husband ran the London Marathon last Sunday.
Chickens were very friendly!
Queens Head pub only a few minutes walk away for excellent food.

We'll be returning in the future

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: kitchen very small, no problem though as it was exactly as described
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing