We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (441)
Filter reviews
441 results
Traveller rating
201
169
49
17
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
201
169
49
17
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews castle walls good size nice room small town sitting room rice fields pool area surrounding countryside staff were helpful and friendly buffet style goat these issues wander around our honeymoon pestana hotel hill top superb views
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 441 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2018

Had a lovely rest after our flight from Canada to Lisbon. Room was very comfortable and clean. Staff were friendly. Restaurants and bar service was very disappointing. Breakfast was terrific but dinner had to be returned as the salmon was under cooked.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank F8138RSMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
afonsoalcacer, Gerente geral at Pousada Castelo Alcacer do Sal, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for submitting your review about your stay where you share your experience at the Pousada de Alcácer do Sal.

Our biggest aim is to ensure memorable stays to all our dear guests, and your rewarding words are the best incentive for all the team.

Thank you very much for your contribution and recommendation.
We look forward to welcome you again.

With kind regards,


Pedro Lopes Pinto
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2017 via mobile

We were very impressed during our two night stay here. The staff are very welcoming, the rooms spacious and comfortable and the grounds make you feel like royalty.
We dined one evening and ate breakfast there both mornings. The dinner was one of our best meals in Portugal. The ambience and menu was fantastic!
It was our first stay at a Pousada but won't be our last.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jennifer1463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
afonsoalcacer, Gerente geral at Pousada Castelo Alcacer do Sal, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for submitting your review about your stay where you share your experience at the Pousada de Alcácer.

Our biggest aim is to ensure memorable stays to all our dear guests, and your rewarding words are the best incentive for all the team.

Thank you very much for your contribution and recommendation.
We look forward to welcome you again.

With kind regards,


Pedro Lopes Pinto
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017 via mobile

We were on an 11 day tour of 4 Posadas from north of Porto to south of Lisbon.
Each one was special in a different way: ex monastery, ex hospital, ex palace and Alcacér ex castle.
The location has far reaching views.
The hotel has great facilities: swimming pool, grounds, courtyards, and large en suite rooms.( our 308 had a little enclosed balcony that had a table and 2 chairs).
The Portuguese reception man was friendly and helpful.
There was a real feel for history ( crypt under the hotel, a few euros to visit) but modern and very clean.
There was fresh fruit in the room and chocolate on your pillow daily as with all the Pousadas.
Food is buffet style and had less choice than Guimaraes which was exceptional..
There is a small bar and a welcome open fire in one of the small sitting rooms.
Our last end of tour meal was served to us by the staff and was ore special: hot soup, cheese and aubergine in filo pastry, chicken and pineapple and cake.
A lovely place to relax and explore the area ( especially Lisbon an hour away and Evora too)

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank V4048SKsusanb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
afonsoalcacer, Gerente geral at Pousada Castelo Alcacer do Sal, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for submitting your review about your stay where you share your experience at the Pousada de Alcácer.

Our biggest aim is to ensure memorable stays to all our dear guests, and your rewarding words are the best incentive for all the team.

Thank you very much for your contribution and recommendation.
We look forward to welcome you again.

With kind regards,


Pedro Lopes Pinto
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017

This is a remarkable hotel and one of the finest we've stayed in. It's very well appointed, with first class, very spacious rooms and very polite, helpful staff. I'd really like to give it five stars but our stay was marred by a lack of hot water (a problem which was soon put right after 12 hours) and the unavailability of some dishes on the dinner menu (this happened on both nights of our stay). That said, the manager did his best to put these issues right and his staff compensated with a diligent and professional approach. The centre of the town of Alcacer do Sal is roughly a 15 minute walk away and it's best to be aware that the walk back to the Pousada is pretty steep. Though it's a very quaint town it's pretty dead at night and if there were any restaurants open at night we didn't see them.

Stayed: November 2017
Thank MikeKinross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
afonsoalcacer, Gerente geral at Pousada Castelo Alcacer do Sal, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for submitting your review about your stay where you share your experience at the Pousada de Alcácer.

Our biggest aim is to ensure memorable stays to all our dear guests, and your rewarding words are the best incentive for all the team.

Thank you very much for your contribution and recommendation.
We look forward to welcome you again.

With kind regards,


Pedro Lopes Pinto
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

Stayed here for couple of days on way up to Lisbon.
Impressive location and setting, very nice room, very nice grounds, very nice pool. Breakfast just so-so. Service in restaurant struggled.
Have to give mention to exception assistance provided by Manuel Mira, at the reception desk, when our rental car, parked in Pousada lot, was damaged by tour bus - a wonderful example of service above and beyond the call of duty !!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank GranBub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Afonso A, Diretor-Geral at Pousada Castelo Alcacer do Sal, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for submitting your review about your stay where you share your experience at the Pousada de Alcacer.

Our biggest aim is to ensure memorable stays to all our dear guests, and your rewarding words are the best incentive for all the team.

Thank you very much for your contribution and recommendation.
We look forward to welcome you again.

With kind regards,


Pedro Lopes Pinto
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews