We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$136
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
La Fenice Park Hotel(Massa Marittima)
US$136
US$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Duca del Mare(Massa Marittima)(Great Value!)
US$91
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agriturismo Poggio Corbello(Massa Marittima)(Great Value!)
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Massa Vecchia(Massa Marittima)
US$107
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Fattoria di Tatti(Massa Marittima)
US$113
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Agriturismo Il Felciaione(Massa Marittima)
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Hotel Girifalco(Massa Marittima)(Great Value!)
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
AL 32 B&B(Massa Marittima)(Great Value!)
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (471)
Filter reviews
473 results
Traveller rating
203
129
77
29
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
203
129
77
29
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspoolspizzeriaswimmingtenniscyclingfamiliestuscany
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 473 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2017 via mobile

We just spent 10 days in the resort with our two sons and had an amazing time. Very nice apartments with lots of space, beautiful park, two nice swimming pools (also one for little children), nice restaurant, and last but not least: great entertainment for our sons from a wonderful team. Special thanks to Angela (x2), Fabio, Lorenzo and all the others!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Annelienver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2016

We spent 2 weeks in the hotel in August 2016. We've got great apartment (near swiming pool) consist of 2 bedrooms, living room, kitchen and a badroom. We booked it with breakfest only. The whole hotel area was well kept and we loved to walk there and admire the view to the surrounding landscape. The staff were very nice and smiling but unfortunately most of them did not speak English so it was hard to communicate, especially in the hotel restaurant. You need a car to move to Massa Maritima or Siena. It's realy lovely place for lazy holiday.

Room Tip: near swiming pool
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ubijo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2016

Thanks to a booking error, I’m able to provide insights both into Hotel Vittoria, and the Pian dei Mucini resort.

We arrived not knowing the difference between these two entities, but to cut a long story short, spent our first night in three double rooms in Hotel Vittoria. (For the record, we had booked a ‘Family Room’ in the resort, not the hotel, but it transpired that they either had none left, or such a room is a figment of a certain large booking site’s imagination.)

The earthen-hued Hotel Vittoria is a sublime place. It has a tranquil, almost ecclesiastical atmosphere, personified by a frequent congregation of guests seated in its lobby, lost in their device worlds, as rather frustratingly, the WI-FI doesn’t stretch as far as the rooms.

As a family of five, it was nice to have the three rooms. Each was modestly furnished, somehow traversing the line between plush and plain. They’re well maintained with clean little bathrooms, and secure shuttered windows looking out into a pretty, if light-starved cloister, beyond which is the ‘small pool’ (there’s a far bigger one in the resort).

We would happily have stayed at the hotel for the duration, but the management had other ideas, which at the time we found highly frustrating and ended up making it known. However, in return for imposing our move, the management offered us a two-bedroom apartment in the resort, which after a tiring dispute over its bedding arrangements, we accepted.

It’s fair to say that this apartment made our holiday, and the moment we entered it, the initial stress evaporated. This time, the style was rural, rugged and spacious, and the layout perfect for a larger family. Up an exterior wooden staircase, into a large kitchen, through corridors (yes, it was big enough to have those), to two big bedrooms and a family-sized bathroom, with cooling terracotta-tiled floors throughout. No aircon, but with this mountainous area’s chilly mornings and evenings, it wasn’t missed.

On to the eating arrangements, and on half-board, I had made the reasonable assumption we were going to spend much of our Mucuni holiday munching authentic inclusive pizza. That assumption was wrong. There are two restaurants. The main restaurant, which is half-board and doesn’t do pizzas. And the aptly named ‘pizza’ restaurant, which is payable, and does little else. We ended up going there once, on the night before my birthday, and it was very pleasant, but not cheap.

Both restaurants enjoy a panoramic view over Tuscan hills, olive groves, sunrises and sets. However, the main restaurant enjoys a less impressive reputation for gastronomy. The obligatory buffet is not bad. They do barbecues now and again, and there is a carvery, but the whole show lacks finesse. Salads and desserts were the strong point, but man can’t live on those alone. Breakfasts were passable. They almost managed a full-English, but with key ingredients missing, although they were curiously strong on cakes for breakfast, which I have to say I willingly became used to. ‘Juice’ was the push-button variety, which was disappointing.

Aside from breakfast, drinks are pay-as-you-go, though not by cash. Instead, the resort operates a card system. You load your card at reception, and present it at the bar or restaurant. But beware. What became known as ‘the white card’ (“can we have the white card, dad?”) soon became insatiable. Our average dinner order of a bottle of Tuscan house wine, one of mineral water, and three soft drinks, came to €20. And with, ahem, post-prandial top-ups, that card was swallowing a fair bit and frequently needed topping up itself.

As well as eating, there’s plenty more to do here. Tennis is free, but I advise bringing your own balls and rackets. And my sons spent more than their fair share of time playing footie on the astroturf. There’s a large swimming pool, but it doesn’t have slides, and as one of my sons discovered, the lifeguards don’t turn a blind eye if you dive in.

The poolside animation team were constantly in evidence and a fun crowd if you like that kind of thing. I found pretending to read my book let me off the hook as they trawled the sunbeds for victims. Talking of sunbeds, hats off to this resort for the first ever anti-hogging policy I have come across. At lunchtime, unless you were staying at the pool, your belongings risked being removed and bundled into the ‘warehouse’ (probably the poolside shed).

Overall, resort entertainment was nothing to write home about, but many other guests seemed to be lapping it up, loudly.

Tuscany is all about exploring, and I can absolutely recommend the nearby medieval town of Massa Marittima, about ten minutes’ drive from the resort (you can also find pizza there for €4). Close to the town there’s a very good Co-op, which came in really handy. Heavenly Sienna is about an hour and a half away, and it’s well worth enduring the winding mountain roads to get to it. Beachwise, you have Follonica about a half hour away, and the more historic Piombino further down the coast. Pisa, where we spent a wonderful morning, is a couple of hours north.

So, there you have it. Looking back over this review, I’m conscious of being more critical than I mean to be. It’s possibly coloured by the false start we had. Or perhaps because some aspects of the resort could be improved.

But at the end of the day, what is for sure is that we all had a lovely holiday at Pian dei Mucini, and in Italy as a whole - and that’s really all that counts.

Room Tip: Best Wi-Fi at Hotel Vittoria is in its lobby. And at the Pian dei Mucini resort, just outside the back entrance of Reception.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TripOverLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2016

We spent a week in the hotel in May 2016. It was the low season so the hotel was almost empty. We got a spacious apartment consisting of a living room, 2 bedrooms, a kitchen and a bathroom. Two large terraces with a table and chairs were very useful.
We booked it with beakfast only as e preffered make our dinners ourselves. The kitchen had l the necessary equpment and utensils. We didnt much like the bathroom as it lacked enough shelves to put our cosmetics - actually n a i bathroom there was only one unstable glass shelf above the washbasin and a rather uncomfortable wooden one nearby so we had to kep everyhig on the window sill. The hotel towels were worn out and had holes :( so we used our own ones. There were not enough hangers in he bathroom so the towels ad no chance to get dry. The sliding door to the shower cabin were out of order ad we had a difficulty opening it every time.
There are two big swimming pools but in he time we were there they were not yet open. The whole hotel area was well kept and we loved to walk there and admire the view to the surrounding landscape.
The staff were very nice and smiling but unfortunately most of them did not speak English so it was hard to communicate, especially in the hotel restaurant.
The hotel supermarket seemed to be open only in high season so we had to drive to Massa Marittima every time we wanted to do shopping.
I can recommend the place for people who want to spend a very quiet holidays away from the bustling resorts. A car there is a must.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ewaalexa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2016

Welcome - there was none. They could not find our booking. They then threatened to move us rooms after one night. Room was basic. Hospital type corridors. Service - poor. Food was sockingly bad. I forgot it was in Tuscany. No fresh coffee at breakfast, stale cake, orange squash instead of juice. The manager /front desk was appaling. He was rude, aggressive and literally did not care about any aspect of our stay. NEVER GO HERE! you had to wear wristbands for food and put money on cards. SO disappointing.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank sarah o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews