We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A perfect vacation home for our Tuscan holiday”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Barberino Val d'Elsa, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
Dushyant...
New York City, New York
1 review
“A perfect vacation home for our Tuscan holiday”
Reviewed 9 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Our family had been planning this Tuscan holiday for the past several months and Villa Carolina proved to be the perfect family rental. We loved this place so much we are already planning our next holiday!

First, the villa itself. 3 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms with a TV/family room and a massive 65 inch TV (with premium movie channels, for those days you just want to stay in. The kitchen is a focal point of the villa, opening out into the beautiful garden and pool area. There is a covered deck overlooking Poggibonsi – and the view is beautiful especially at night. We spent every morning with our cups of coffee and evenings with our glasses of wine in this area – truly magical and therapeutic! This area was worth the price of the rental alone.

Location: while it may be possible to find villas in more secluded locations, we did a lot of research and for us – Villa Carolina sitting atop the town of Linari – was a perfect launching pad to Florence, Siena, Montepulciano, Cortona, Greve, Raddo and other cute little towns in Chianti. Poggibonsi is a few kilometres away, Siena and Florence – 30 minutes away. Over the two weeks we stayed there, we would make day trips exploring northern and southern Tuscany, with our destinations at the most with an hour to 75 minutes away – and spend the evenings cooking and relaxing at the villa. There is a PAM supermarket less than a 5 minute drive away. Very very convenient for a family such as ours – where multiple trip daily to the supermarket is not uncommon. PAM has everything you could ask for at very reasonable prices. The villa is situated in Linari, which is cute hilltop town. Exiting Villa Carolina, there is a nice walk that takes you through winding roads, old villages, and vineyards – you can walk for a mile or 10 – it’s really quite beautiful.

Last but not the least, Gabrielle and Lucia! This cute couple were the perfect hosts and exuded warmth and hospitality throughout our stay. They’re one of the main reasons why we had such a terrific time at Villa Carolina. From giving us the insider’s guide, to cooking the most sumptuous dinner (they used to own a terrific restaurant not long ago), and checking on us every couple of days without being too intrusive – they were just great. Gabrielle took us to his friend’s vineyard nearby, which had a terrific view of San Gimignano – and where we were given complimentary bottles of their excellent Chianti. Lucia found our car keys the day before we were supposed to leave outside the gate – I had dropped them during our evening walk. She was an absolute lifesaver – imagine the headache of contacting the car rental company in Rome to arrange for the tow truck and a replacement – not to mention that we could have missed our flights.

A beautiful villa, great hosts – in a beautiful part of the country. We’re going to be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location. View. Warmth and hospitality of the hosts.
Liked least: Nothing at all!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rgarick
Lexington, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Lovely small villa in the heart of Tuscany”
Reviewed 5 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We recently returned from two weeks in Italy, spending one week with friends at the Villa Carolina in the heart of Tuscany. This is a charming 3 bedroom, 3 bathroom villa near the town of Poggibonsi. Very close to San Gimignano and easy driving distances to Volterra, Florence, Lucca, Pisa, etc. One hour drives to most towns. The town of Poggibonsi is an industrial city (not much in the way of dining or touring) but the villa sits on a hilltown with beautiful views of the valley below. The owners live upstairs but they are very quiet and nonintrusive. It is gated for privacy and security. We thoroughly enjoyed the wonderful dinner that they prepared for us one night and found the accommodations charming and reasonably priced for the full week. Be sure to include at least one dinner prepared by Lucia....best meal we had on the trip! Free wifi and adaptors provided for electronics such as IPADS and cell phones. I would not hesitate to recommend this to other couples traveling together. There is a pool for use (although it was too cold for us on this visit). We enjoyed sitting outside though under the covered cabana area. The owners went out of their way to make this an enjoyable, relaxing week for us and we would highly recommend it to other travelers in Tuscany. The drive to/from Florence airport is less than one hour and easy to reach.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely surroundings, free wifi, comfortable setting, delicious food prepared
Liked least: Would have liked to have more towels & pillows for each room
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W
Belleville, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A fantastic spot to relax under the Tuscan sun”
Reviewed 24 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We were 2 couples staying at Villa Carol for the first two weeks of October. The Villa itself is spacious, clean, comfortable and wonderfully furnished and decorated. The large, manicured garden, with infinity pool and hot tub, offers a panoramic view of vineyards, olive groves and the small city of Poggibonsi below. The Villa is ideally located for day trips to Firenze, Siena, Pisa and many other historic sites, such as San Gimignano and Volterra. Our hosts, Gabriele and Lucia, were extremely friendly and accommodating. They prepared several meals for us and the food and presentation would rival the best restaurants that we visited in Tuscany. Overall, our experience at Villa Carol was nothing less than perfect.

Cleanliness Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vinojack...
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Two weeks in Villa Carolina”
Reviewed 14 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

6 of us recently stayed two weeks at Villa Carolina. I don't think it is possible to find two nicer people than Lucia and Gabrielle. The Villa is central to Firenze and Siena making it a great location for day trips to many locations. Lucia prepared meals for us on several occasions. The accommodations are extremely clean and the kitchen doors lead to a covered patio overlooking a local farm and vineyard. Adjacent to the patio is the pool. Do not miss the Appiano winery which is quite close to the villa. Enjoy the tasting and have some wine shipped home.

A fellow traveler Tom B. summed it up perfectly. We miss the hospitality and two weeks spent in this villa. I recommend Villa Carolina to those planning a vacation in Tuscany.

I must also mention their new location adjacent to the Campari vineyard in the San Gimignano area. We were graciously invited to spend some time at Villa Iris with Lucia and Gabrielle and their daughter. Spectacular is an understatement. Six BRs & baths and large pool.

Our thanks to our hosts for a memorable two weeks

Location Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XSki007
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
721 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Villa Carolina”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Six of us stayed for two weeks in July and loved every aspect of our experience. The Villa was spacious, the grounds were perfect, and our hosts were truly outstanding.
They cooked wonderful meals for us and brought us to their newest Villa rental nearby and also to one of their favorite restaurants in San Gimignano - Poggio Alloro. You must go here.

We used the pool and grounds every day at day's end and this was a great placed to come home to after a day of sightseeing. The PAM supermarket is 5 minutes by car and is stocked with everything you need including wine. Also close by and two must stops are the winery Sant Appiano (Tele # 335 335073) where you should experience the wine tour and light lunch for 25 Euros and the close by restaurant Secolo Decimo Quinto (Tele # 055 0540260) where the lunch and diner specials are outstanding. Both are 5 minutes away by car.

Not to be missed is asking your gracious hostess Lucia to cook a fabulous meal for you. We did this several times and arranged one in advance so we had dinner our first night in the Villa.

Highly recommend this rental and we would definitely return. We all miss it already.

Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing