We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An Amazing Time”
other travellers have booked this property
Tropical gardens surround you, a unique pool temps you, and spacious living welcomes you
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Tropical gardens surround you, a unique pool temps you, and spacious living welcomes you
Welcome to Bigger Splash! Bigger Splash awaits just up the stairs...
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
9 reviews
Tropical gardens surround you, a unique pool temps you, and spacious living welcomes you
Welcome to Bigger Splash!
Bigger Splash awaits just up the stairs...
Welcome to the Great Room, relax and enjoy.
Dine in the Great Room with family and friends.
Cook and gather in the spacious main kitchen.
Indoor and outdoor spaces connect naturally.
Natural flow throughout the villa brings breezes and easy access.
Dine on the veranda while taking in the views and enjoying the breezes.
Breathtaking vistas from every corner.
Pick your favorite veranda or terrace...relax in your private villa and enjoy your island getaway.
Enjoy overlooking the pool.
Unique, private, Bigger Splash Pool.
Bright and airy bedrooms.
Comfortable sleeping in our bedrooms.
Unique outdoor showers
Enjoy the outdoors from indoors, complete with privacy
Enjoy dining and lounging in the spacious master suite.
Easy access to the pool from the master suite.
Private Cottage offers additional living, dining, and sleeping space
Multi-level design adds expansiveness to views of the property and island
Grilling...another dining option
Private tower overlook, perfect getaway spot
Bigger Splash, the perfect private villa nestled among natural landscape
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
The Baths, Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
LoriW30
Sparrows Point , MD
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“An Amazing Time”
Reviewed 14 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016
2
people found this review helpful

I found a gem! From the time we arrived at VG airport until we left the experience was amazing. Bigger Splash is a wonderful place . The pool is beautiful. The space is so nice. We loved the decks off the living area. The view was beautiful. Now lets talk about the "Crows Nest". We LOVED sitting up there after dinner to just chill and enjoy the island. We found a few things. If you want to explore the island, a car is necessary. We rented a truck with seats in the bed which was perfect. We walked every day to Mad Dogs, which is the best little place for a drink and simple lunch. This is definitely in walking distance to The Baths. There is also other parks and beaches in walking distance. We loved cooking on the grill and having Happy Hour at our pool. The only things to take into consideration. There are lots of steps, so make sure your guest are prepared. We were great, but we had one friend with bad hips and one in a leg bot so it was a little taxing on them.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claudiaan...
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Three words… Don’t. Do. It.”
Reviewed 18 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
6
people found this review helpful

And let me preface this post by clarifying that we LOVE Virgin Gorda. We have visited the island 10+ times and love everything about it. The people, the culture, the beaches, everything. So much that one of our family members even got married on the island. That being said, we have stayed in a variety of for-rent Villas as well as a few of the resorts, all were magical until this stay.

This was our family’s third stay at Bigger Splash over the past ten years and each time we have stayed at the Bigger Splash, it has gotten progressively worse. And don’t let any claims of “Newly Renovated” sway you, this place is funky (not in a good way), old, and literally falling apart.

Here are just a few shining highlights of the stay to note:

+ Arrived and construction was being done on the plumbing- resulting in 6+ hours of no water…. at all. No sinks, no toilets, nada. This is for 9 people that had just gotten off of a ferry from St. Thomas and all they wanted to do was pee and maybe brush their teeth.

+ The house is advertised as easily accommodating 10 people. Um nope. There are four bedrooms, three with one queen bed and one with two singles. Last time I counted, that’s 8 people, unless you are in a some sort of non-traditional set up- and there is nothing wrong with that. So when our 8th and 9th house guest showed up, needless to say we were forced to get a bit creative with sleeping arrangements. Read- sleeping on an outdoor day bed in the tower in open air, which sounds luxurious until you realize that there are quite a few very vocal roosters that start about 3:30am and even more mosquitos looking for a late night snack.

A few other points:

+ Pool was serviced once in 14 days. Was infested with mustard algae and smelled like a pond.

+ Sewer system over flowed and the whole property smelled like a public restroom. That’s on top of the pond smell if you are keeping up.

+ Each bathroom was given 2 rolls of TP and when we called to ask if we would ever receive maid service and that we need more TP, we were not so kindly directed to the market, where we could buy some ourselves. Lovely.

And then some other nits:

+ Half of the lights in the house do not work.
+ Washer and dryer don’t work.
+ Poorly stocked kitchen.
+ Extreme water damage and black mildew throughout the house.
+ Roaches hanging out throughout the house.

So that’s pretty much the large and small of it. And even though the accommodations were less than desirable, we STILL managed to have a great time on this island. Because it is awesome. And while we will NEVER becoming back to stay at Bigger Splash, we will definitely be coming back to Virgin Gorda.

If you are looking for a great place that really has their sh*t together, stay at Little Dix or Guava Berry. Or if you are looking for super lux, Oil Nut Bay. But don’t waste your money (and it will be ALOT) on the Bigger Splash.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jan 2016
I am always sorry to hear when guests do not have an outstanding vacation, especially when accommodations are to blame. As one of the owners, I take full responsibility. All bookings do go through the owner, who is always available to answer any questions and address any concerns by guests, including issues with property management staff. Unfortunately the owners did not receive any communication from the guests during their stay at the property. They have since been contacted privately.
In response to highlighted concerns, sadly there was a plumbing emergency that occurred just before the guests arrived. Staff worked diligently to repair the issue, which obviously had repercussions. There was one working bathroom upon the guest’s arrival, not up to our standards, but nevertheless unavoidable under the circumstances. The bedrooms are as advertised and detailed on the booking site(s), and have not structurally changed since the guests’ previous stays-meaning there are three in the main house and one in the guest suite, with the same bed sizes (2 kings, 2 doubles, 1 queen, 1 queen futon in the guest suite living area). Pool, maintenance, and housekeeping services are normally regular, with guests very satisfied with the concierge who manages the property (please see other reviews on this and other sites). Attention to cleanliness and additional scheduling of exterminations is a priority and will unquestionably be in order, as well as a review of any source of a tripped circuit breaker which was the cause of the partial lighting outage. The concern over water treatment has also certainly been discussed and addressed. Use of the washer and dryer is not an amenity provided to guests, although they can make arrangements for laundry service. Nonetheless, the on-site washer is being replaced, the dryer remained operable throughout the guest stay, and continues to work. Finally, as a standard, no food or other provisions are provided to guests but both kitchens in the Villa feature an array of utensils, cookware, and serving items comparable to any culinary household.
Again I would like to offer sincere apologies for any inconvenience, relay that steps are being taken to ensure all issues are addressed, and of course welcome these guests back should they change their minds in the future.

Bigger Splash Owners
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele S
Middleton, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Villa, Fantastic Location”
Reviewed 8 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The Bigger Splash is a fantastic villa with lots of space. My group included my husband and I, my two older children (21 and 18), and my younger step-children (11 and 7). There was plenty of space for all of us (we also rented the attached cottage) -- we loved all the balconies and the tower/look-out. We enjoyed eating at the large dining table with views on three sides. The pool was a necessary asset for staying cool in the 90 degree heat.

The kitchen had everything we needed to cook, and we used the grill several times during the week for meals.

The sound system was a lovely surprise -- we couldn't get the bluetooth hook-up to work, but the local radio station was fantastic and we really enjoyed that. We worked the wifi pretty hard with several laptops and five smartphones -- but it held it's own with no major complaints.

The only (albeit minor) criticism I have is related to the master suite bathroom, which is not air conditioned and also fairly dark, unlike the other bedroom-connected bathrooms in the villa. If you're a "shower and go" person, you won't have an issue with it, but if you like to "do" hair and makeup, it's difficult in the heat. Although the kitchen and living areas also weren't air conditioned, with all of the doors open to the outdoors and with the fans, there was enough air moving that it wasn't a problem.

The location is perfect for the walk to The Baths, where you can rent snorkeling equipment and also eat fabulous food with beautiful views at Top of the Baths.

I definitely recommend staying here, and would absolutely come back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size and layout of the villa
Liked least: Un-airconditioned master suite bathroom
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maggieros...
Guaynabo, Puerto Rico
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Beautiful place, good location.”
Reviewed 6 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

The villa is very nice, comfortable,has a beautiful view, and beautiful surroundings. Very nice location, walking distance to The Baths. The kitchen is well equipped. One recommendation is to supply extra blankets as the bed covers are rather thin. Debbie, the concierge was very helpful and cooperative. Not recommended for people with disabilties or with young children due to the stairs/multiple levels.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and surroundings
Liked least: No A/C in living area
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jan 2015
As always we welcome feedback from guests about their stay and thanks for the compliment to the concierge--she is always great with guests! Comforters will be made available for guests during the colder months to ensure they are comfortable.

With respect to the stairs, please review the photos and description of the property, as they reflect the stairs and location of the bedrooms and living areas within the property.

Thanks for the review,
Bigger Splash Villa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emayes
Richmond, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing birthday”
Reviewed 5 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

The villa space was beautiful, there are signs of age and water,but nothing to stop me from visiting again. We were only there for a few days so many features that families may need were n/a for us. For example,no washer/dryer,AC only in bedrooms, TV only in master bedroom and main living area.
Our concierge Debbie was UNBELIEVABLE- she made the trip SPECTACULAR along with our driver Shorn!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$385
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing