We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ella Gap Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$259
US$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$55
US$47
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$167
US$141
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$40
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (165)
Filter reviews
165 results
Traveller rating
23
29
27
25
61
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
23
29
27
25
61
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 165 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Ella Gap Hotel is centrally positioned and very close to Little Adam's Peak and numerous restaurants. The pool was lovely to swim in after the hike. The room was spacious and clean with a lovely bathroom. Breakfast had a lovely selection to choose from and the fruit was my best - juicy and sweet. Unfortunately, I had a freak accident and broke my ankle in 3 places. The care and treatment I was given made me feel so much better. The staff checked up on my travel partner and I and assisted in making phone calls to get us home asap. As I was new to using crutches, Mr Rusira Perera(Resident Manager) and his staff were more than willing to assist me AND carry my at times - always with huge smiles on their faces.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the main street as it can be a noisy street at night.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_OakRayHotels, Manager at Ella Gap Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Anne
Great to see your encouraging comment on TripAdvisor.
Believe that you are much better now and ready for the next trip.

We at Oak Ray Ella Gap... are always at our guests' services.

Please take good care with your of yourself and look foward to seeing you soon at Ella again with your friends.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel has a very good location, close to lots of good restaurants an bars. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We had a very nice room, all renovated, nothing to complain about.

While staying at the hotel we went to a cooking class in the hotel restaurant and it was amazing. We had so much fun and the food was absolutely great. The cook, Madura, taught us a lot and the atmosphere was always very relaxed. Make sure that Prem makes you a few of his great cocktails:)

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Marina-ch-85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_OakRayHotels, Manager at Ella Gap Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Marina
Thank you for your encouraging comment and this was passed to our staff.

Enjoy rest of your holidays in Sri Lanka!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2018 via mobile

Doors are paper thin, so you can hear every sound. Shower is terrible. Only good thing is location. View outside window from balcony is simply a wall. Road to hotel is down from main street and it is not paved at all.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Edgars G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_OakRayHotels, Manager at Ella Gap Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Dear Mr. Edgars
regret for the inconvenience and we value your comment to improve our standards.
the comment on the shower is not claer but will check the same for any issues and will definietly fix it.
as you know we are in the city and the road is benig renovated by the government.

Thank you for staying with us and look forward to serve you better on your next tour.

.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2018

We were a large group of 46 people that we booked half a year before, when we got there, 6 people had to go to another hotel because the hotel was full and the next day about 14 more people had to go to the other hotel. The hotel we were allocated part of was very inferior in terms of category and had no service and was in a potentially dangerous area.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bartomeu A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_OakRayHotels, Manager at Ella Gap Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Dear Bartomeu A

It was unfortunate that we had to transfer some of your team members to our other hotel.
but the arrangement was done after discussions and agreement with your tour orgenizers.

We look forward to seeing you with your family at Ella, during your next visit to Sri Lanka.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

In the middle of Ella, a little bit noisy. The hotel is under renovation. The room and bathroom are just OK but clean. Restaurant is below expectation for dinner with very few customers; however eggs are cooked "a la carte" for breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Evelyne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_OakRayHotels, Manager at Ella Gap Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear Evalyne,
Appreciate and value your comments.

The construction / renovation is at the Supermarket which is next door but regret for the inconvenience caused during your stay.
We have informed them to controll the work since it disturbs our guests. No more hardware work now.

We look forward to seeing you with better services on your next trip to Ella.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews