We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A little gem of a place!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
5 reviews
Welcome home
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Guest house -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ella, Uva Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
RuthiBee...
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A little gem of a place!”
Reviewed 5 December 2016 for a stay in February 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Ella River Cave in Feb 2016 but at the time of our visit there was no Trip Advisor listing but we'd like other travellers to know about our stay there!

We originally booked to stay for 3 nights but stayed for a further 2 as we did not want to leave! This place is run by Lasiter from Ella, and Flore from France, along with Lasiter's lovely family.

The room we stayed in was decorated in 'calm' colours with a good en suite wet-room, and really comfy chairs outside to sit and watch the world go by. The bus down to the south coast stops just across the road which is useful for onward journeys.

Within a short time of arriving we had rock-hopped our way up the river with Lasiter to swim at an incredibly beautiful secret waterfall. We also had a part of a day with Lasiter's brother guiding us around local sights and walks & it was great to have someone explaining about the history of places.

We ate at Ella River Cave most nights and the food was delicious. There is also the option of an excellent Sri Lankan breakfast if you're bored of "European" breakfasts. Over the days we spent there we had several cooking lessons with Lasiter's mum in their authentic kitchen, learning how Sri Lankan food has been made for generations; cooked on a wood stove with coconuts shaved by hand, and with an amazing variety of fresh vegetables.

The thing that really made this stay special for us was the warmth, fun, kindness and enthusiasm of the whole family at Ella River Cave. Stay here if you appreciate these things too and you'll have a really memorable time in Ella.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lasitha N
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“Fantastic place”
Reviewed 26 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

It was really beautiful place with fantastic river.staf also very kindly.room is very clean.bed also comfortable.beautiful bathroom.Nice,clean,tasty food.I never had before.just10 minutes walking to waterfall along the river.best place to swim.I enjoy very well.Hope to come again.it's like a paradise.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fannymisu
Canton of Geneva, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: La plate-forme en bois construite dans un arbre...
Liked least: L'impression de nous faire avoir
Travelling group: Avec mon époux(se) / partenaire
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Non.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bartlefer...
Borne, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: Het eten
Liked least: De locatie / lawaai van de drukke weg
Travelling group: Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;