We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“I love this place and I hope that I will visit...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
31 reviews
Bedroom
Beach in front of the house
View from the beach
View from the garden
Masai guard
Our logo:)
Plan
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Matemwe, Zanzibar Island, Zanzibar Archipelago

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Polish first
Any
English first
giga56
Warsaw, Poland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I love this place and I hope that I will visit Villa Tulia again !”
Reviewed 18 January 2018 for a stay in November 2017
1
person found this review helpful

If you like to be in a beautiful and quiet location, this place is ideal for you. I definitely was looking for something like that! No more than 20 meters from our residence there is a wide and beautiful white beach. I loved sitting on the terrace, contemplating a gorgeous view of the ocean. The bungalow is nicely decorated and very comfortable even for six people. The owners are very friendly and helpful. Nearby, on the beach, there is a small restaurant run by Muhammed who serves simple and delicious food. We also visited Marina, a surprisingly peaceful, beautiful resort with bungalows, swimming pools and great bars and restaurants. They have a diving and snorkeling centre and organize trips to a coral reef with instructors. They made my reef snorkeling a fantastic experience, giving me all the opportunities to admire the beauty of the reefs and feel safe at the same time. After snorkeling, it was great to have an excellent dinner and a very special passion fruit drink☺

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jan 2018
Thank you! You are most welcome anytime soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agnieshka...
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“Perfect place for a quiet and relaxing vacation”
Reviewed 22 December 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Ten days spent at Villa Tulia was like a dream: a quiet, relaxing and rejuvenating vacation on the most beautiful, clean and white, soft sand Matemwe beach.
The nicely decorated, comfortable and well equipped house is both secluded and right on the beach. The accommodations are perfect for up to 6 people. The very friendly owners next door, access to a refreshing swimming pool and a short distance to a local bar as well as to a wonderful beach-based restaurant at Mohamed's, make this a destination that we want to go back to.
Great place to relax and to observe the fishing village local beach life taking place in front of ones eyes.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gina149
Hamilton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Private Paradise on the Beach”
Reviewed 22 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

This was a last minute rental as our hotel lost our reservations the day before we left for our trip. Booking was easy, and Justyna was quick to respond to all of my e-mails. The price ended up being considerably cheaper than our original hotel, and we got so much more!

The home took our breath away. It was much more than we expected, and the pictures do not do it justice. We are the adventurous type, and had to be mindful that time spent relaxing in the hammock, staring at the ocean, easily got away from us... it is easy to literally sit there all day soaking in the scenery. The beach was quiet (Except for a wonderful Friday evening football game among the locals). The sunrise was amazing start to each day.

Being able to make our own breakfast in the morning, and dinners some evenings made the trip feel more like home. There is a green grocer and a butcher in one of the nearby villages, but you will have to get most of your groceries from Zanzibar Town. There is a fishing village nearby for fresh fish and plenty of restaurants that are just a short walk along the beach.

Matemwe is quite a trek from Stone Town... we rented a car for $180 for the week. Driving was stressful in the busy areas, but in all, it was worth it to have the freedom to be able to explore the entire island. It took between an hour and an hour and a half to get to town, depending on traffic.

We felt very safe here... having security 24-7 was an added bonus! We will definitely be staying here again!!!!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Oct 2017
Thank you so much! You are most welcome anytime soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentuckyb...
Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing place and service”
Reviewed 3 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We just spent 4 nights at Villa Tulia. Beautiful place. Directly on beach. Had Muhammad cook our breakfasts and dinner, and he did an amazing job. We liked his cooking so well we went down to his restaurant and had lunch one day. He assisted with setting up tours and they were also wonderful! Snorkeling and a Stone Town tour is a must do.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Oct 2017
Dear Guest, thank you very much for staying at Villa Tulia and for taking the time to write your review. It is greatly appreciated.
We do hope to see you again some time in, hopefully, near future.
Best wishes from Jacek, Justyna & the rest of VT team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fpastusia...
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful place to rest and experience the ocean beach of Zanzibar.”
Reviewed 27 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Located on the very coast. The ocean is sometimes 25 meters away from the house (at high tide). A tasetfully decorated and traditionally designed very conveniant home. Unlike the organized tour: you call the cards. You have the ocean and the beach at your feet. You can buy and cook food, or take advantage of local restaurants. One thing missing is the Internet - although some may find it an added value. I hope you will enjoy it!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Oct 2017
Dear Guest, Many thanks for staying at Villa Tulia and taking the time to write your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed.
Indeed, internet so far has not been offered at VT but - here is good news - we have found a solution and from now on all of our guests can enjoy the connection to the outside world free of charge and with no data transfer limit.
Best wishes from Jacek, Justyna and the rest of VT team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing