We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (177)
Filter reviews
177 results
Traveller rating
134
35
5
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
134
35
5
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the kitchen single room communal bathroom drying room great garden shared facilities hot tub town centre guest rooms felt like home place to stay outdoor area comfortable beds excellent location home away from home great stay stayed one night
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 177 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2020 via mobile

We stayed at Altamont lodge for 5 nights as part of a family show holiday. This lodge is in an excellent location for both Cardrona and Treble Cone, and is well equipped for snow sports with spa, drying room and tuning workshop. The lodge is extremely clean, well organised and the people were lovely. Value for money it is hard to beat. We will definitely be back next year.

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Cruiser537964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noeline Viney, Marketing at Altamont Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2020

Hi guys - thanks for taking the time to review the lodge. We are glad you all enjoyed your stay. Hope you will return.
Cheers Lynn and Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2020 via mobile

We found this extremely comfortable and spacious with excellent service, friendly and obliging. Good facilities for self catering. We have family living in Wanaka with very little space. The Altamont provided a very comfortable place to stay, independence and a place to host them with some home cooking.

Date of stay: June 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank stora_g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2020 via mobile

Clean, peaceful, well equipped kitchen and close to town and lake within walking distance. Great way to meet other people and hear each others travel stories. Will be back again hopefully next year. Thank you

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Margomo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoelineV8, Manager at Altamont Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2020

Hi Margo. Really glad you enjoyed your stay at the lodge....it is a peaceful atmosphere isn't. We will see you again soon.
Cheers LYNN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2020

Lots of space in lounge, kitchen, indoors and outdoor eating areas,
Quiet rooms and halls
Bonus outdoor jacuzzi
Amenable staff

We so much enjoyed our time at Wanaka and the Altamont felt like home. We cooked a dinner there and made 2 lovely breakfasts. Looking up at stars (Southern Cross) from back yard was a bonus !

Room tip: All rooms good
Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Yumi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoelineV8, Manager at Altamont Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2020

Hi guys..so glad you enjoyed your stay at the lodge....we hope you both return soon.
Cheers Lynn and Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2020 via mobile

Up until the last hour of our 3 night stay we had a truly lovely stay here. It was ruined right at the end by the first interaction we'd had with the owner. We'd checked out of our room but were sitting in the communal garden after we'd already checked out an hour earlier. We got up to go and used the communal bathroom before our long drive ahead. It was at this point thay the owner said in a rude & abrupt manor 'have you paid for another night's stay here? If not, you shouldn't be in here and should have left.' Furthermore, the bag of food we had left in the fridge had been thrown away (presumably to teach us a lesson as we'd not left premesis by 10?) We hate food waste, so was really disappointed with the owners that they couldn't even have left the contents on the 'free food' shelf for others to enjoy. I understand there are check out times, and perhaps we should have double checked that it was OK to sit on a garden chair for an hour, but everywhere else in NZ we've experienced such welcoming and lovely people, who always went above and beyond, we didn't think it would be a problem. Lesson learnt for us, but nether the less, a sour taste at the end of what could have been a perfect stay. A few other points - Rooms were very hot and fan was extremely loud, my partner struggled to sleep. The 2 times we tried to use the hot tub it didn't work. The owners are rarely in the reception, and didn't respond when we called the bell when we arrived. We didn't speak to the owner until the last hour of our 3 night stay.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Watmoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoelineV8, Guest Relations Manager at Altamont Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2020

Hi guys - we are sorry you are feeling let down by us.
Check out is 10am - our policy is of the premises....we were only to happy for you to sit in our garden until 11am and we didn't say anything - sorry it doesn't give you right to go into the bathrooms after 11am and brush your teeth. Could this have done earlier. Jeff does apoligise if he sounded rude.
Your food was not thrown away - it was transfered to another fridge so I could clean the one in the kitchen - you only had to ask me where it was and you have taken it away. It is still there if you want to come back and get it.
Sorry about the spa pool - things do break down from time to time....
We don't live in the reception area. I am sure there would have been a notice up on the office door when you arrived.
We can only apoligise and hope the rest of your trip went better.
Cheers LYNN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews