We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst meal in Wanaka”
Review of Alchemy

Alchemy
Reserve a table
Ranked #19 of 102 Restaurants in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$23
Description: Beautiful venue with the best views in Lake Wanaka, barista made coffee, local wine and beer on tap, top brunching location with tasty meals and sweet treats, fabulous tapas and mains served by our happy staff for dinner from 4pm everyday.
Restaurant details
Description: Beautiful venue with the best views in Lake Wanaka, barista made coffee, local wine and beer on tap, top brunching location with tasty meals and sweet treats, fabulous tapas and mains served by our happy staff for dinner from 4pm everyday.
Reviewed 19 July 2016

Lunch today.

Calamari and chorizo salad: salad is all oil - no flavour at all - calamari soggy - no tastes - was the colour of a dead body.

Avocado smash - no flavour

Beef Sandwich --- mediocre

Noodle Bowl -- no flavour - pork was dry

Fries - not at all crispy

Like the title says - this is the worst meal we have had in Wanaka

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Inukshukasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlHamlin, Owner at Alchemy, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2016

At Alchemy we are endeavouring to produce great local dishes and flavours and welcome constructive feedback to help us to get things right. However a review such as yours which criticises everything without having anything constructive to say, and you do this hiding behind the anonymity of Trip Advisor, is not helpful to anyone. If your meals were so bad why did you not bring this to the attention of the staff at the time? We also note that the reviews before and after your's describe the food as delicious so we can only assume that you were being intentionally malicious for whatever reason. If you are ever brave enough to discuss our food face to face with us we would be happy to address your concerns and even offer a refund if your dishes were sub-standard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (454)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

335 - 339 of 454 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2016 via mobile

We tried most places in Wanaka on our ski trip. Last meal of the trip at Alchemy. ...fantastic! !! Great setting and service...but the food was the star. Lamb tagine perfect. Oh and the only place to serve local Pinot Noir at the right temperature .....sounds like a small detail but it's actually a biggie. Bravo great and memorable dinner. Thank you

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 July 2016 via mobile

This place I went to for lunch with family and friends. The food was pretty good got lots for your money, however it just wasn't quite as good as it could be. Bonus is they had gluten free bread though. Would come here again but probably just for coffee and not a meal.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank pennybell123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 July 2016 via mobile

Went for family brunch. Great food, service and funky decor with open fire. Good nicely presented with a modern twist. We had coffee, porridge and eggs benny and all lovely. Highly recommend.

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank CassHopkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 July 2016 via mobile

Good vegetarian options, great atmosphere, live music. Staff were helpful and friendly. Would recommend :)

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank neilld2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Alchemy also viewed

Wanaka, Otago Region
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Alchemy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.