We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable, friendly”
Review of Fairway Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairway Motel
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights in the 2 bedroom apartments. The bedrooms were upstairs, very warm and spacious with excellent storage space. The 2 bathrooms were clean and warm. Showers excellent and hot. Cooking facilities were also very good. The owners Mark and Megan were fabulous, friendly, helpful and accommodating to our date changes. We would stay here again and highly recommend Fairway to anyone.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Fiona V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairwayMotelWanaka, Owner at Fairway Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

Thank you Fiona for your positive review.
We are looking at updating our bedding and furniture in the apartments this year.
and we try our hardest to be helpful to our guests.

Warm Regards

Megan and Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 13 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2017

Lovely spacious 2-bedroomed apartment for our group of 5 (adults and kids). We all enjoyed our stay here. Very clean, well-equipped, comfortable, near-enough to town to walk in within 5 minutes, warm (essential if you're a winter visitor). Friendly, helpful hosts and reliable fast wifi.

Slightest niggle was that the room wasn't quite ready when we arrived at 2.30, but we only had to wait a few minutes and it was immaculate when we got in so it didn't end up being a big deal.

Relatively good value for Wanaka too.

Room Tip: Loved our room, it's the only one I can rate as I didn't see the others - room 7, VERY spaci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairwayMotelWanaka, Owner at Fairway Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Thanks for the great review!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2017

We recently spent 9 days at this motel and loved it. We booked a king size studio with spa bath and were very happy when this turned out to be an apartment, with a small kitchen/dining room, huge bathroom with the spa bath and studio area with sofa, bed etc. etc. We also had a small balcony. This motel is located within very close and easy walking distance to the cafes, shops and lake front of Wanaka. The motel was undergoing building renovations and the owners, Meegan and Mark, were great and did all they could to minimise this. This is our second stay at Fairway and it will always be first choice for us now, whenever we wish to have time in Wanaka. Totally recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shirleypearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairwayMotelWanaka, Owner at Fairway Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2017

Thanks Shirley for your positive review and for being accommodating to the fact we are renovating some motel rooms.
You are a lovely friendly couple and we appreciate your return business.
The spa room you were in now has new flooring and a new deck and furniture.
and some updated decor is on its way.
I hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards
Megan and Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017

Stayed here for one night and was one of the least expensive places we stayed and hence probably not the most outstanding, but did the job. We stayed here as a part of a group of 14 person. The place is a bit away from the town center. We arrived at 1 PM and our rooms were still not ready. So we visited the puzzling world. Came back, lady at the reception seemed friendly and asked us where we were from and we said the most of us were from India and the few from the US. At which she seemed surprised and looked around and finding everybody with a dark complexion asked “whose American?” My cousin replied in his American drawl and then the lady asked him “are they going to let you back in?” I did not like that statement, as it seemed a bit racist and neither did my cousin, however he took it in his stride and replied “we’ll ask the big guy”.
Coming back to the motel, rooms were very basic but ok in size. Bathroom was small. Water temperature adjustment in the shower was very difficult. We were given rooms on the 1st floor, no lift so we had to drag our suitcases up. Inside basin had stains. There is a small, nice pool but the water on that was freezing cold, though it wasn’t a cloudy day.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sanjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairwayMotelWanaka, Relief Manager at Fairway Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2017

Hi Sanjoy, I am truly and sincerely sorry if you found my comment to be racist. I also have family in America and my comment was purely one of concern with the recent change in political circumstances. I have worked in Hospitality for many years and am very welcoming to all guests from all parts of the world. I do not wish for my comment to be misconstrued as it was purely political with no racism intended. Thank you for your honest review of our accommodation. The Motel owners are commencing renovations next week and will be addressing some of the issues you have highlighted. I hope you, your family and friends enjoyed your time in NZ and we would happily welcome you back to the Fairway Motel if you ever return to Wanaka.
Thank you
Michelle (Relief Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2017

A nice big room,big kitchen and a Spa bath in our room.Nice comfortable bed and pillows lots of room and nice and quiet being close to a roundabout.Enjoyed our stay a lot here and the hosts were extra nice and friendly even offering to ring my wife so she could check in early while I was away on a walk.Great value for a expensive Wanaka.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MontyNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
2.5 km away
Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
2.9 km away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#5 of 20 in Wanaka
358 reviews
1.5 km away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#12 of 20 in Wanaka
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Alpine Motel Wanaka and Apartments
0.8 km away
Bella Vista Wanaka
Bella Vista Wanaka
#11 of 20 in Wanaka
379 reviews
2.1 km away
West Meadows Motel
West Meadows Motel
#7 of 20 in Wanaka
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairway Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairway Motel

Address: 2 MacPherson Street | corner MacPherson St and State Hwy 84, Wanaka, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Price Range: $110 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fairway Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For comfortable, affordable accommodation in Wanaka, think Fairway Motel. Fairway Motel can provide a great range of studios, family units and 2 bedroom apartments that can cater for anyone from traveling couples to large groups. Fairway motel facilities include: - Large in-ground swimming pool (Dec - Apr) and BBQ area perfect for those warmer months - Guest laundry, bike & golf club storage space and a ski drying room for the winter - A big car park area to accommodate boats, trailers and tour buses - Freeview Satellite TV Fairway Motel is close to all Wanaka amenities, the pristine lake, fine restaurants and shops are just a short stroll away. Puzzling World and Mt Iron track is a short walk and we are adjacent to the spectacular Wanaka Golf Club. Wanaka can offer you a myriad of outdoor pursuits in all seasons, so let Fairway Motel be your ticket to ride! Your hosts Eve and Rob look forward to welcoming you to Wanaka. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fairway Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing